We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country house hotel”
Review of Horn of Plenty

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horn of Plenty
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I stayed at the Horn of Plenty with a friend for a couple of nights while we explored the surrounding area and did some walking. The hotel is well located just outside Tavistock with a wonderful position overlooking the valley. Inside the hotel is beautifully decorated in modern country house style - very luxurious and comfortable. We had a superior room and it was very nicely furnished and a large size. The staff were very friendly and helpful although occasionally a little forgetful in their service. We rang ahead to request twin beds but when we arrived found that they were made up individually but not separated, and we had to wait until the second night for that to be done. The hotel is known for it's gastronomy but we didn't eat there in the end as the set dinner menu was £50 and there was no cheaper alternative on the nights we were there, so we just went into Tavistock instead. It would be fine if you're there for a special 1 night celebration as many couples probably were but it would have been nice to have some other cheaper alternatives. The other minor gripe was that we couldn't connect to the wifi at all, and as another guest was having the same problem I don't think it was just me. Probably this wouldn't bother most guests as it's not the kind of hotel where you'd go on business, but it was an inconvenience for me. Overall we thought it was a lovely hotel and probably best for a romantic break or special celebration.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor of the main hotel, the alternative seemed to be in a separate ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heatheronhertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 670 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2011

The Horn of Plenty is set in a beautiful corner of Devon; the welcome was professional and friendly: we were really made to feel at home. Our room was well appointed, with a terrace offering superb views and the luxurious bathroom was a treat.

The menu was interesting and all the dishes we tried were well prepared and presented by efficient friendly staff. The dining room, with its extensive views, was delightful.

In short, we would recommend the Horn of Plenty to anyone looking for a relaxing and pampering break in superb surroundings.

Room Tip: We booked a "garden room" but on arrival were upgraded to a room in the main house, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidatblas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We booked room number 6 which was a good size bedroom overlooking the garden
Modern bathroom with large shower and separate free standing bath
Beautiful, quiet location
Food exceeded our expectations
All staff very friendly, professional and offered an excellent service
Have already started recommending to friends. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

A beautiful setting for this very comfortable traditional Country House hotel.

The location puts the whole of Devon and Cornwall within easy reach.

The menu was comprehensive and the food was very well prepared and presented and a reasonable selection of wines offered to suit all tastes.

However the most notable aspect was the superb staff.

Without exception they were cheerful, intelligent and very obviously enjoyed their various tasks. Good enough was definitely not good enough for the staff at the Horn of Plenty.

If we had to find a 'negative' (and very hard to so do), it would be that the proprietors did not make themselves known to guests... which in our experience is the norm for this type of hotel... for they missed, we are sure, many warm comments.


We will most certainly re visit !

Room Tip: We had a delux double at front with beautiful views. No noise and all creature comforts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Stayed for 6 nights in a garden room with balcony during a week’s canoeing/kayaking. Room very comfortable, spotless, efficiently serviced (including complementary fresh milk each day) and well appointed with superb view into the walled garden and over it into the Tamar Valley. Good selection of TV channels (although a bit temperamental). Given the length of our stay we would have appreciated some additional drawer space.

The main building is equally well appointed, clean and comfortable with wifi. There were always a significant number of staff on duty and service was personal – for example staff were briefed on your name and sought to remember personal preferences. Dinner was of exceptional standard and extremely imaginative. We did eat out twice to remind ourselves what ‘normal’ food was like; on our last night the Chef prepared us a special bespoke dinner ‘to ensure that we had sufficient variety during our stay’ at no extra cost. Clearly the staff believed that food is to be savoured and not hurried and the experience was heightened by the views over the grounds and the Tamar valley.

The outside areas are generally well maintained with a terrace and various nooks and crannies with seats overlooking the Tamar Valley – ideal for tea or a pre-prandial drink. It lacks a fitness centre, but there are plenty of opportunities for physical activity in the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have best views but lack the wifi of rooms in main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

lovely one night stay, got a room upgrade as it was our Silver Wedding.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjg1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We spent one night here as a family treat before our teenaged children returned to school and university. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food at dinner was absolutely exquisite, BUT it came in tiny quantities for anyone physically active! We were able to fill up the next morning on the more substantial and really delicious full English breakfast. Sitting with a drink in the gardens before dinner was magical. All in all, a memorable experience. We would certainly love to return.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Garden Building were wonderful: well equipped, full of light and spacious, with dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
8.0 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
400 reviews
17.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,128 reviews
19.3 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
339 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
515 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horn of Plenty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horn of Plenty

Address: Gulworthy | Nr Tavistock, Devon, Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gulworthy
Price Range: $151 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Horn of Plenty 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded "National Small Hotel of the Year - Silver" in Visit England's 2015 Awards for Excellence, The Horn of Plenty has been thrilling guests for 50 almost years with some of the South West's very best food, drink and accommodation. This independently owned small Country House Hotel and Restaurant has 4 AA stars and 2 AA rosettes for fine dining The hotel stands high on a hill, overlooking 5 acres of beautiful gardens and wild orchards, and beyond that, the breathtaking scenery of the Tamar Valley. 16 stylishly furnished en-suite bedrooms offer outstanding comfort and luxury. Most have balconies overlooking the valley. Food is high on the agenda here, with 90% of produce sourced locally. Service is everything you'd hope for: warm, welcoming, friendly and helpful, without a hint of stuffiness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Horn of Plenty reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Gulworthy
Horn Of Plenty Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Hotel Tavistock
Horn Of Plenty Gulworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing