We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and quiet” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodovis Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodovis Park
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My family and I recently enjoyed a week here. The site itself is situated away from any roads, the approach to it was lovely and gave a very good first impression. This continued around the site and in the caravan that we were staying in. The staff were very friendly. It was a lovely touch to be shown to the caravan and not given directions. The tea and coffee in the van was also a nice touch after a fairly long journey. Staff gave us ideas of places to go. The site facilities were also very clean. The swimming pool with spa and sauna was well received and my children enjoyed the mini adventure play park equipment. I would thoroughly recommend this.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a caravan, if possible ask for one away from the trees as the rain at night wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soper2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope you can make a return visit sometime too! ;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    39
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
232
145
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a lovely stay for 2 nights in a Superpod. The campsite is extremely well organised, with good showers and clean toilets and basins, and is run by extremely helpful and friendly staff. This was our first time camping with the children (aged 9 and 6), and they were more dubious about it than we were - by the end of our short stay they didn't want to come home! They loved the freedom - being able to order and collect fresh bread from the shop on their own, play with the other kids on the playing field, and enjoy the swimming pool. We were terribly unprepared, but managed to bbq dinner and breakfast, and were helped out by the other campers when we needed assistance in blowing up an airbed. There was a lovely community spirit and the place is very quiet after dark (apart from the owls), there were lots of bats, and the stars
on a clear night were very bright. The local pub was a bit of a comedy of errors but we found it funny, and all in all we would definitely stay at Woodovis again. No complaints at all very nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It's always good to hear that the children didn't want to go home! We're so pleased you got to enjoy the owls, bats and stars too. Many thanks for posting your review. ;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

We recently stayed in one of the glamping pods, which were located in a pleasant corner of the campsite, neighbouring a large field. The inside was immaculately clean, and this was reflected across the site as a whole, which was maintained to a very high standard. The general atmosphere of the site was pleasant, and it was very peaceful come the late evening. Couldn't really fault any of the facilities provided.

I believe the main reason behind Woodovis' success is down to the team of people running it. From the moment we were greeted, we knew our stay was going to be enjoyable. Staff were incredibly kind and helpful, and this really shone through in their general attitude.

During our holiday, my partner and I got engaged in Dartmoor. Upon hearing the news, the team were genuinely excited for us, and we were presented with a bottle of Prosecco and a received lovely reception from the whole team! It was such a lovely gesture!

I would like to thank everyone at Woodovis for making our holiday even more special, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the site to others looking for a place to stay in Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Wow we were really chuffed to bits to hear about your engagement! How romantic! You'll have to make a trip to Woodovis every year now...just for old times sake!! Wishing you both all the very best in the wedding plans to come! ;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Well, when I saw that dogs are allowed on site I nearly didn't book as both my children, my wife and myself don't really care for them, they always jump up on you and the owners always say oooo hes realy ok you know... However we decided to go for a short break regardless and are we glad we did. The dogs on the site didn't bother us at all, the staff are just lovely and the facilities, well I'm not sure they could be improved upon in any way, always clean and spotless, we run a business and have very high standards. Good value, unlimited hot water, electric hook up, a swimming pool and well just a lovely vibe Wewill be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return sometime! ;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I would actually give this site a 3.5 - good! It is definitely better than average, but i wouldn't necessarily say it was very good. Overall the campsite/management are very accommodating & do, for the most part, work hard to ensure all needs are met during your stay.
Before we booked, I had read a number if reviews, which were really positive, so we were pleased when the site was able to accommodate our group booking, as it was a little complicated, so we paid & were excited for our holiday. We did all, in the main, have a great time away, as there is definitely plenty to see & do in Devon & Cornwall & the site is a lovely site to stay on. However, for us, in hindsight, maybe this wasn't the right site for us.
Being seasoned campers, We did feel a little restricted, especially when it came to some of the rules, particularly rules about dogs. we have a 4 year old Collie who,is very friendly & very energetic, but who is also very well behaved & focussed on us/our group. The sad part for us was that she had to be on a lead ALL the time & on a stake in the ground, even if she was just laying down on the grass or we were playing next to our tent, on our pitch. Whilst I do understand the reasons why (we did briefly speak to the site staff about this) dogs are the owners responsibility & I do think it should be at the discretion of the site staff to determine whether every dog needs to be on a lead. When walking around the site I did see some other dogs not on leads, but as they were in other fields/further from reception maybe it was easier to do this. The other issue with this hard & fast rule was that it meant that the this was easier kids that were with us (20 months & 5 years) couldn't play all the games they wanted to/couldn't play with our dog, as they would end up, unintentionally, teasing her (especially when blowing bubbles as our dog loves jumping to catch them). It also meant that we had to go out every day, somewhere that the dog could be let off the lead (which wasn't easy to find on Dartmoor, what with all the wild animals) to ensure she could run around, as the wooded dog walking area on the site clearly says dogs must remain in their leads there too. For us, we didn't really see the point of having a dog walking area if dogs had to still remain on their leads?! I do recognise & understand that some people do not like/are terrified of dogs, but if that's the case, why go to a 'dog friendly' site? Overall, with regards to the dog issue, I would say Woodovis is more 'dog tolerant' than 'dog friendly'.
The facilities at the site are fantastic, best I think I have experienced. It is very peaceful after 10pm, which is great, but I would argue that there should be a rule about the mornings too. Whilst I understand children wake early, it isn't fair on everyone else of the site to be woken up at 6am to a screaming child (we had to put up with that from the tent behind us for quite a few mornings), especially if their own child is still asleep. I think if Woodovis are going to encourage a 'quiet after 10pm' rule (which is great), there should be a similar rule for the morning too (may be quiet until 8am?).
The shop is really good, very well stocked with essentials (including wine & beer - Woodovis even have their own!), although quite pricey. It is great that the shop do their own home made bread & pastries which can be per-ordered the night before for the morning, but again, these were expensive (£1.15 per croissant/£1.85 for a cob load). Whilst the bread & croissants were delicious, I don't think they were worth that much, especially when Morrisons is about 10mins away & is much cheaper.
The local pub is good, food there was excellent, but if you want to eat inside, it is definitely worth booking a table (found this out the hard way, so ate outside, which was lovely). Service could be a little quicker; we did feel as if we had been forgotten about because we were outside. Also, when ordering drinks at the bar, we very much got the impression that locals will always be served first, even if you've been waiting longer.
There is a very useful interactive information touch screen I the games room, along with lots of other information leaflets. The best one I found was almost like a folded up booklet about the top places to visit in Devon, which had a big map of Devon (which was really helpful) as well as lots of info. The info screen was helpful; I think a little bit more info relating to dog-friendly stuff would be good. There was a list of beaches that were considered dog friendly, but there was no other information & it would have been useful to know whether it is all year round, or certain areas, etc. Also, a lot of the places to visit were only given by postcode for sat nav, great if the sat nav goes on post code (ours doesn't, so we had to use our Internet (which was very limited & slow due to poor reception coverage) to search for the actual addresses). That said,one of the best places we visited with our dog was the Donkey Sanctuary in Sidmouth, which was free & allows dogs everywhere, even in with the donkeys in the yard.
The Hog Roast on the Wednesday was nice, although again, for what we got, we did feel it was a little overpriced, but it worth doing. One of the people in the group drove into Tavistock to get some chips to go with the roll as they weren't overly filling (the 20 month old ate a whole roll to himself, including all the pork & stuffing).
There was one issue that arose during the second week with regards to the 4th pitch that had been paid for, but not pitched on (we had some last minute dropouts). Some other people from the site had had their tent flooded & so asked to move. They were told which pitches were free & they pitched in the 4th pitch that we had paid for. Whilst the site had every right to allow someone else to pitch on that pitch (as per the T's & C's) we did feel that since we had been using the pitch for the kids to play games on, that they should have, out of curtesy, come & spoken to us, especially as the T's & C's wording can be understood in different ways. Following a conversation with a member of the site staff, & further discussion with the site manager, the issue was swiftly dealt with, & we were given two bottles of wine as a good will gesture as there was recognition that the whole situation had not been handled in the best way.
There were also a couple of instances that comments were made by staff, to other campers, but in our ear shot/whilst walking past our pitches about the fact that they don't really like group bookings (a bit hypocritical especially as there were a couple of other groups camped near to us) & don't encourage groups to sit outside their tents of an evening (which we were doing, although we were well behaved) & that the site really encourage quiet after 10pm (we were whispering after 10pm & usually in bed just after 11pm) - we did feel that this was not necessary, & it this may have been individual staff members rather than the site management as a whole.
Overall, we did have a lovely stay at Woodovis (despite the rain) & I probably would recommend the site to anyone who is new to or fairly inexperienced with camping, as it is a lovely site, with lots of amenities & has the security & support for those who don't necessarily have the knowledge or experience. However, because we are experienced campers, we felt this was a little stifling for us & in hindsight, Woodovis probably wasn't the right site for us

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank NSD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your input, we're glad you had an enjoyable holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a super place to stay so clean the staff give you a warm welcome we have a touring caravan and the pitch was in a super location my 2 children loved the park,games room and swimming pool we had such a great time we are going back there next year

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to your return next year. :O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Three families (including us) stayed here last week (August 2013) camping. On the positive side I have never stayed at such a clean site. The showers and toilets were immaculate. The loos always had loo roll and hand wash.

However the attitude of the staff was very big brother. There is a list of rules which are taken too seriously for those on holiday. No fires, no inflatables in the pool and dogs must ALWAYS be on a lead. Our friends had a dog and were told off even when the dog was walking nicely to heel or just sitting at our feet by the tent if it was not on a lead. The dog was not even allowed to run about off lead in the designated dog walking woods. They had to go out every day to let their dog run about. It was awful.

On wet days the pool was over crowded as there was nothing else to do and the pool is small and all one depth (no shallow end), It was also quite cold.

The swing park was also very small; only a climbing tower with slide, two baby swings (no big swings) a sit on tractor (that does not move) and a balance beam set. Again this was often over crowded with unsupervised children roaming about not sharing the limited equipment.

The games room is full of tables that you have to pay for. The only free thing is the table tennis which is outside on a field some way from the other facilities.

The shop sells bread to order but at £1.80 for a small French stick it was really poor value for money.

There is lots to do in devon and cornwall but everything good seems to be at least 45 mins away by car and al the travelling was exhausting and expensive.

If you were on your way somewhere and wanted to stay a night or two and move on then this would be fine but for a weeks family holiday I would not recommend this site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizEoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovispark, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Although we are pleased that you found Woodovis to be immaculate we are sad that we were not really the place for you. We agree we do have 3 main rules, no fires, dogs on leads at all times and peace and quiet after 10pm. We do have a duty of care for peoples' safety and open fires do not fit with this. Although the dog in your party was obviously well trained (not all are) some folk are terrified of dogs and therefore, for their peace of mind, this is necessary (we are planning a dog exercise area for 2014). Most of our guests enjoy the peace and quiet rule.
We realise that our Park is not for everyone and we do try up front, at the time of booking, to ensure folks expectation levels are matched. and if this was not the case, we are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
2.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
6.2 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodovis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodovis Park

Property: Woodovis Park
Address: Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodovis Park 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family run, 5 star Holiday Park. Set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Devon/Cornwall border - a tranquil haven with a wealth of activities on its doorstep. Enjoy quaint Devonshire villages, beautiful Dartmoor and National Trust properties galore or get active with hiking, biking, tree-surfing, canoeing and horse-riding, plus stunning beaches all within easy reach. Nearby Tavistock, home of the cream tea, is a charming market town, a shoppers and foodies delight! With its excellent facilities and commitment to the environment, Woodovis offers a safe, luxurious holiday destination. A friendly welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Woodovis Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodovis Park Gulworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing