We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful bliss!”
Review of Woodovis Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gulworthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodovis Park
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful bliss!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful location for both Devon and Cornwall days out. Friendly staff who were really helpful and chatty, lots of information to hand. Showers/toilets clean and well maintained with complimentary body wash which was a bonus. Enjoyed being able to order our bread and pastries for breakfast!! We stayed in the basic camping pod which we loved. Very cosy even during very lively rain and thunder on our second night! Will definitely return with the children. A lovely, quiet site with all the required facilities. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachpops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Wow! That really was quite a thunderstorm. Bet it was really cosy in the pod! So pleased you enjoyed your stay...and yes, do come back again sometime and share it with the children too!;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    42
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
244
160
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasbury-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I were given a 2 night camping pod gift from red letter days as a Christmas present. We booked up and chose to go on a Tuesday/Wednesday. All we knew about these were that you had to take everything you would expect to take camping except the tent!

Arriving at the site there is a mile long track down to the reception and pitches which is well kept. At reception were greeted warmly and given the key and a brief introduction as to where the toilets were etc.

We were then led to our Pod by another member of staff, we were very pleased when we pulled upto the pod. This lovely looking garden shed type building with a double windows/door in the front and a porch and decking. Inside the pod it is carpeted and there is a small window at the back which you can open for air, There is a shelf with a bedside light and two plugs. (also an oil filled heater for the colder months). We blew up our double bed which covered about half of the pod. Outside on the Porch there is a table and chairs and also 2 Bricks to put your BBQ on.

After we unloaded the car we thought we would go for a swim, the pool was a decent size and very clean, there are changing rooms and showers in the building. Also in the pool block there is a Jacuzzi and a Sauna which we tried all 3 and found them all to work well.

After this we opted for a bbq as the weather was nice with local produce from Tavistock Pannier market. We then had a play on the outdoor table tennis before settling in for a night of cards and a couple of beers.

Sleeping in the pod was fine and very comfortable temperature, the black out blind also means that unlike a tent you can sleep passed sunrise!!

The next morning we had freshly main pain au chocolate from the reception which were ordered the night before! these were still warm and very tasty.

The second night we went out for a meal as it was raining and didn't fancy cooking in the rain, on returning there was a hog roast going on which if we had noticed the signs for we would of probably stayed at the site!

Overall the Pods were a great experience and the site was friendly and clean with everything you need for camping, caravanning, touring or Podding!

Highly Recommend and im sure we will be back!

Room Tip: if you going for the pods I don't think there is a need for the super pod as all you have a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Extremetoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
It sounds like you had a really lovely relaxing and restful stay! What a great Christmas present, we're so pleased it went down so well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked up a last minute holidat after finding woodovis on google. We took a punt and we were more than pleased. The whole site is immaculately clean, staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

We stayed in a super finches caravan (2bed) well equipped and they were happy to provide us with a cot & high chair for our 10 month old. Great heated indoor swimming pool, small kids park, pool room and good facilities.

Will definately look at coming back when we next come to Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteTheMeat30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
So pleased that you found us. Still lots to explore in Devon so do come back soon!;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Thanks for a great stay, what a great place. Not to busy and with options for tents and campers as well as statics and 3 pod in the far field.
The toilets and showers are outstanding and so clean, with a great shower that has power and not just a drip !
Pool very clean and the whole site was...

will be back and would highly recomend

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andygb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for posting your review! We are delighted that even when we're at full pelt you still are experiencing Woodovis as we would wish you to. We do hope you return soon! ;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is our second visit to Woodovis - first time was 12 years ago and we loved it then. The site has built on its excellence, facilities are superb, pitches are perfect and shower/ toilet facilities are impeccable!! Make sure you enjoy archery and hog roast on Wednesday nights. Thanks Woodovis - we'll be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Wow Joanne, thank you for such a succint review! 12 years ago! How lovely that you've come back and that you all enjoyed the archery and hog roast. Please do come back again soon....don't leave it another 12 years for sure!! Thank you for your review!;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Enjoyed five nights last week at Woodovis in our touring van, a little oasis on the edge of the moors. Wonderful site, so peaceful, glorious pool, everything spotless, but above all, THE WARDENS a superb team. always smiles on their faces, nothing too much trouble, delightful sense of humour, what a joy, THANK YOU The Team at Woodovis, we will be back soon. Alan and Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you so much Alan and Jackie....what a quote..."a little oasis"! We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the whole team look forward to seeing you back lots!;O)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

first time camping for me and my family and a fab choice we made on the camping pods. we had the basic pod at first which was ok it was just very basic, we then upgraded to a super pod as it came vacant and WOW!!!...you gotta have a super pod we loved it. the table that converts to a double bed or large single was great the tv a god send for my little girl, the park itself was so self contained with everything you needed it is very hard to find fault.....there basically isnt any.....team was brill they would do anything for you, the pool area was always clean and well kept as so was all the grass and camping areas...we had a fab time wish we was still there...looking forward to going back next year possibly in a caravan or may go for the cottage....

Room Tip: super pod all the way....the table converts to a bed makes life a little easier and you have interna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taza71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodovis, Owner at Woodovis Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
How great to hear that we have camping converts! Do keep in touch and we shall look foward to you returning again next year. There are plenty of options for you to try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulworthy
1.0 mi away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,054 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lewtrenchard Manor
Lewtrenchard Manor
#1 of 1 in Lewdown
378 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodovis Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodovis Park

Property: Woodovis Park
Address: Gulworthy, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 8NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock > Gulworthy
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Gulworthy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Woodovis Park 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning, family run, 5 star Holiday Park. Set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Devon/Cornwall border - a tranquil haven with a wealth of activities on its doorstep. Enjoy quaint Devonshire villages, beautiful Dartmoor and National Trust properties galore or get active with hiking, biking, tree-surfing, canoeing and horse-riding, plus stunning beaches all within easy reach. Nearby Tavistock, home of the cream tea, is a charming market town, a shoppers and foodies delight! With its excellent facilities and commitment to the environment, Woodovis offers a safe, luxurious holiday destination. A friendly welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Woodovis Park Gulworthy, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing