We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the Real Chiang Mai”
Review of Mai Siam Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mai Siam Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mae On
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

My wife, myself and our 12 and 13 year old daughters stayed for 4 nights in early April at Mai Siam Homestay. We were very impressed at how our lovely hosts and staff looked after us during our stay and nothing was too much trouble! Eric was waiting for us at the airport on our arrival at Chiang Mai for our transfer to their property and Pranee did a fantastic job helping us organize our sight-seeing activities during our stay. Uncle chauffeured us to the places we wanted to see and patiently waited for us one night while we explored the night markets. The meals that Pranee prepared for us during our stay (and there was a few) were nothing short of excellent. Breakfast was plentiful in the mornings and we all enjoyed having a chat with Pranee and the girls before setting off for the day. A tremendous amount of effort and hard work has gone into establishing this family run business from nothing on this property and my recommendation for people wanting to have the "complete" Chiang Mai experience, spend some time here with Eric, Pranee and extended family and you wont be disappointed! Thank-you Pranee, Eric and family.

Footnote: Mai Siam is situated at Mae.On. A small rural village 30 minutes drive to the east of Chiang Mai.
Hosts Eric and Pranee are aware that potential guests could see this as a possible disadvantage in preference to staying in the city, so they kindly offer their own transport service for guests for sightseeing and transfers at minimal prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyCoastSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (256)
There are newer reviews for Mai Siam Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

After 7 weeks of travelling through Burma and Thailand we were in real need of a rest. We couldn't have hoped for better. The rooms at Mai Siam Resort are excellent, the garden is delightful and Eric and Pranee can't do enough to make your stay one of the best. Apart from reading and relaxing in the garden, we walked to the lake and also to the village temple and I took a cycle ride to the tree village and it's temple about 5 kilometres away. Be warned - it's a big hill you have to go up to get there but a nice ride back. We felt fully refreshed by the time we left and ready for a last couple of nights in Bangkok before our long flight home to the UK. Very highly recommended. Thank you so much, Eric and Pranee.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesilvertops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed with Eric and Pranee over Christmas( taken us a while to write this up!) and had a fantastic stay. It is like staying with people you have known for years- they are so friendly and welcoming right from the start. They sort you out with everything basically- where to go, how to get there, what to take. So much more than accomodation- more like a homestay experience with a driver and tour guide! My husband had an allergic reaction to shrimp paste while we were out there and Pranee helped narrow it down so that we knew what the problem food was. We were so lucky to be here when this happened and not in a big hotel where they wouldn't have cared about our problem. She even wrote down in Thai what he was allergic to so that we could show it to all the restaurants we went to for the rest of our trip. A godsend! Beautiful grounds and wonderful people. Couldn't recommend it more!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockingrascals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

After spending time in Bangkok and Koh Samui ( and loved both ) we wanted to experience country Thailand. This is like staying with family, Eric, Pranee, Mem, Uncle & Marine all welcomed us and gave their time freely. Eric's suggestion of a bike ride to the lake was great advice, not just for the lake but this is where we met the friendliest people of our trip. Language might have been a problem but nothing a smile and hello couldn't fix. Had a great night in the kitchen with Pranee ( still think my chilli sauce is best. Hahaha ) will send recipe as promised. This is advertised as a home stay and this is what it is, if you want real people, barnyard animals close by,hospitable hosts and not that far from anywhere we can highly recommend Mai Siam.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We stayed in Chalet #2 (only 3 chalets on the property). Everything about our stay was like staying with good friends. Eric picked us up at the airport holding a sign with our names written on it. Something I've always wanted to experience. One of our friends had lost her luggage somewhere between Toronto and Bangkok and he patiently waited while she figured things out with the airline. He even went to retrieve the luggage the next day from the airport. Eric and Pranee were very hospitable and didn't hesitate to offer feedback/advice about places to visit. Pranee also arranged for our visits to the Tiger Kingdom and cooking class since we don't speak Thai and all. The room and bathroom were spacious and immaculate. They greeted us with a platter of exotic fruit adorned with plumeria blossoms and "welcome drinks" - the most delectable orange and passion fruit juice (if I deciphered the ingredients correctly). The complimentary breakfast was delicious - I had a croissant slathered in nutella every morning along with Pranee's Thai breakfast porridge. I'm one of those people that have to down a pot of coffee every morning to get going, but one morning the coffee was lukewarm and I'm pretty sure it was instant. But beggars can't be choosers I guess. Very green and picturesque property. A family trying to earn an honest living by providing the best of warm hospitality and clean and attractive accommodations - I'll take that any day to a multimillion dollar resort with canned and sterile service. We headed to a Westin property in Phuket after our two-night stay here and that's when I truly realized it's the service/people that make a stay a winner. Be forewarned that there is a barn directly behind the property. Could have done without the cow mooing and rooster shrieking at dawn, but that's my only complaint. Should my soul ever descend upon Chiang Mai in the future I will be staying here again no questions asked.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Family of four -- stayed for three nights. We wanted to leave after the first night. We had great difficulty finding the place. Here is an insider's tip for Eric and Pranee: put a sign in front of the gate so we know we're at the right place! Or put lat-lon coordinates on the website, so we can put into our gps. When we did finally find the place, there was great confusion between our family and another party they had booked but canceled at the last minute. Pranee spent a long time hanging around in our room while we were trying to settle in -- give us some privacy, please! She tried to mother our children, who openly indicated that they did not want her attention.

Bathroom towels were rough and dirty. No lock on the door to the "chalet," by the way, which was left open during the day for anyone, including mosquitos and flies, to come and go as they please. A large planter full of water near the door provided an excellent mosquito nursery.

What more can I say: cold shower, cold coffee at a freezing outdoor breakfast, while essence of manure drifts by on the breeze. Reminded me a lot of boy scout camp, except the cots were more comfortable in the scouts!

More could be said, but we're getting upset just thinking about it. Don't stay here.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PacificFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Enjoyed cycling and the food.
Few problems....
The resort gates were locked at 5pm one afternoon so I had to climb the gate to get back in post my bike ride.

Our clothes and camera equipment where backed away into cupboards and drawers, which was so frustrating because we couldn't find our things.

Pranee didn't listen to what we said regarding when we would b having breakfast and rudely woke us up at 6:30am, by banging our window. Pranee was quite overbearing and treated us like children.

Pranee looked after us re tourist stuff, I asked about going to the white temple, she said too far. However 3 days later Eric drove a couple there. My advise speak to Eric re tourist activities etc.

You eat dinner, when Pranee serves it, which can be quite late.

You receive a bill on the last morning for everything ( accommodation, food, transport etc), so make sure u have plenty of cash.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WendyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mae On
3.3 mi away
Getaway Chiang Mai Resort & Spa
15.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
10.8 mi away
Secret Garden Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Baan Chai Thung
Baan Chai Thung
#3 of 6 in Doi Saket
72 reviews
11.6 mi away
Lanna Saithong Resort
Lanna Saithong Resort
#2 of 7 in San Sai
56 reviews
17.6 mi away
All in 1 Guesthouse
All in 1 Guesthouse
#9 of 775 in Chiang Mai
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Siam Resort

Address: 46 Moo 2 Baan Nong Hoi | On Nuea Subdistrict, Mae On 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Mae On
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mae On
Price Range: $47 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mai Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Siam Resort Chiang Mai Province/Mae On, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing