We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull location”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

When we first set step inside it was realy breath taking! Beautifull pool, garden and off course the sea! The bar looked nice and prices are resonable.
The food could be better and the hotel looked like it was 10 years older than it realy is. Neverless it was worth every cent of it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lautjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmazul, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for your review! The sea salt that comes with the wind does damage structures and equipments quicker than usual and even though we do daily maintenance it is hard to keep up with the nature...that is of course the price of being in such a wonderful location so close to the sea.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit us again and be worth those 5 stars! ;)

Regards,
Jessica Meza
PALMAZUL ARTISAN DESIGNED HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    43
    12
    14
    2
See reviews for
75
37
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

What a nice relaxing time in this boutique hotel where the staff are attentive the food terrific and the ocean breezes helps u to totally relax on the spa beds strategically. Placed all around the pool. Someone forgot to tell me how hot the sun is.! Didn't even notice. I was relaxing so much. It's an hour from Manta n the drive isn't great but we'll worth it once you arrive

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DRLISACB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmazul, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
What a wonderful review! Hope you can come to visit us again it was a honour to have you as our guest.

Best Regards,
Jessica Meza
Palmazul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is a very laid back and beautiful resort in a very quiet beach area. If you want a beach with lots of sun bathers and hawkers, san clemente is not for you - here the beach is not very large, but its beautiful, almost empty, and the water is warm. The resort itself is also gorgeous and service is excellent. We stayed here for 4 nights, as part of a 5-day spanish learning program through the Simon Bolivar school based in Quito. The program included breakfast and dinner every day, and food was always good. The staff are extremely friendly and professional - they knew we were there to learn spanish, so pretty much every one there would speak to us in spanish and correct us gently with a smile when we messed up:) So we felt like we had a lot of teachers to ourselves, not just the one from Simon Bolivar school! The rooms are also very nice - and both of ours had stunning views of the pool and the sea. The shampoo and conditioners from L'occitane in the bathroom were also a great luxurious touch.

We took a cab from Manta airport's taxi stand - it was $20 one way and about a 50 minute ride. We walked over to the pueblo 5 minutes away - i.e. center of san clemente, which is barely 2-3 blocks long and has a number of restaurants and stores. Our favorite restaurant for lunch was Costa del Sol in the pueblo, highly recommended by Marcello at the front desk - food there was incredibly delicious.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purplefeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We are very grateful for your review! glad to hear you had a good experience with us! hope you tell your friends and family about this little corner of the world and maybe also that you consider to come back.
Hugs
Jessica Meza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Nice place, makes you feel welcome, Marcello works very hard to make everyone happy. The lady who runs the hospitality division and restaurant is the nicest person, always with a smile and great service.
Regards
Jeffrey

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
Jeffrey,
Great to know that you enjoyed your stay! hope you come back again soon!
Jessica Meza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I just loved the ocean view from our room, the service was great and i had a great time with my 2 kids. Experience beyond expectations no doubt. I strongly suggest Palmazul on weekdays if you're travelling with kids (it gets busier on weekends with couples and youngs).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexvillamarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope you consider us for your next holidays!
Best Regards,
Jessica Meza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Disclosure: I own the Penthouse in the hotel. This was our 4th visit to the hotel in the past two years and the first after completing the purchase of the Penthouse. There are two privately owned units on the 3rd floor and my Penthouse is one of them. Working with the owners, Jessica and her husband Kjetl has been a pleasure. The hotel has stepped up everything a couple of notches since Jessica's parents, Ines and Julio, assumed supervision of the hotel one year ago. We loved our visit this time. The food at the Cocomar Restaurant was outstanding and a very good value. The service is excellent everywhere whether you are swinging in a hammock on the beach, lounging on one of the pool beds or at the Tiki bar. For a fun time offsite walk up the road or the beach to Meier's Sabor de Bamboo restaurant owned by a German who has been in the area for years. Breakfast is a great deal and Bloody Marys are always available.

Room Tip: Upper floors have better views of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Y546LDtimothys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Tim,
Thanks for your review, I am happy to know that you see improvements at the Hotel from the last time you visited us, we will keep doing it and hope you will continue visiting us.

Best Regards,
Jessica Meza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 wonderful days at PalmAzul as part of a wedding party. The hotel is wonderful, great rooms all with an ocean view (showers could do with being updated though) and all the staff are friendly and courteous.
The hotel is in a very quiet area, not much going on but the restaurant was great for lunch and dinner with a great variety of well prepared food (Shrimp in Coconut sauce was excellent).
The outside areas are well maintained and the pool is satisfyingly deep. The beach is all set with hammocks and deckchairs under palm lead shades and the sea is just a couple of steps away at high tide. We've been up and down the coast, and the beach here is far better than just a little further north.
We'll definitely be back with the kids - 30 min flight from Quito and then a 40 min ride in the hotel van takes all the pain out of the usual 6-7 hour road trip.
Good job PalmAzul and staff, I'll never go anywhere else for my beach getaways.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonDRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Jon,
Thank you for your review! we will work out the showers soon :) we hope in your next visit you can see how your comments and those of all our guests help us improve every day!

Best Regards
Jessica Meza
PALMAZUL ARTISAN DESIGNED HOTEL & SPA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
10.4 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
107 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
10.5 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
359 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#7 of 12 in Manta
66 reviews
20.0 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmazul Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Property: Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Address: Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmazul Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, a sun-kissed shoreline awaits right outside your window. Enjoy service that seems to read your mind, and indulge yourself in our superb Cocomar Restaurant and Arena Spa. Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa welcomes you with beautiful gardens and a mix of distinct architecture that blends seamlessly with nature. The rooms are decorated not only with products made by Ecuadorian Artisans; but also with a sumptuous view of the sea; as well as having a mini-bar, balcony, elegant faucets, and amenities from L´Occitane. The hotel also boasts a semi-Olympic pool, bar, hammocks, tennis court, and exit directly to our private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmazul Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing