We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect ending for a fantastic vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 weeks in Ecuador and were fortunate enough to end up at the Palmazul just by chance. We saw the lobby and pool and knew it was the place that we wanted to kick back for the last few days of our vacation.

The air-conditioned room had a king bed and sliding doors out onto a balcony. Outstanding view out to the ocean and beach. Large bathroom with tub and shower. Small in room fridge, flat screen TV.

We were given a great breakfast every morning. It was nice that it varied from day to day with different breads or typical styled baked goods along with fresh fruit and eggs or omelettes.

We ate most of our suppers at the hotels restaurant and had some of the best meals that we enjoyed in Ecuador there. Try the sesame tuna and the coconut langostinos.

We enjoyed the staff and received excellent service from everyone from the manager to the bus boy. The front desk was very helpful in assisting us with transport and airline tickets when we decided to change our travel plans.

We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you! we would be honoured to have you as our guest again!
Best Regards
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Palmazul Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 198 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Last month I have been invited to palmazul hotel to celebrate friends anniversary party,
The hotel have big pool,private beach and tropical bar surrounded by palm trees.
This place is just magical!The charm of the people that work there make you feel welcome from the first moment.
The ocean water is warm and beach is with clean white sand.
The Manabi food they make there is delicious,
Decoration of the wedding was superb and the show of the brazilian dancers was exciting.
Me and my friends had great time there,it was the 3ed time I stayed there and I want to recommend the place to anyone that come to eEcuador stay over and for couple that look some where to make their wedding,this is definitely the place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tierracontact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your review! we hope to see you soon at Palmazul again!
Best Regards,
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Palmazul is surely the classiest place in San Clemente, with lovely views of the ocean and a great pool. Staff bend over backwards to be helpful and usually succeed, if one wants to adjust a dish in the restaurant or needs something special, like an extra bed in the room. We four stayed more than a week and our nine-year-old was very happy here. Over-the-top honest, kind and cheerful staff.
There's a bit of a playground and swings as well as the pool. The poolside bartender is excellent. The menu is mostly seafood and it's all good, although quality varies from day to day. The beach at low tide goes on forever--we'd walk it for two hours every morning and there's always something interesting going on.
Didn't try the spa because the prices scared me off after the wonderful deals at Vilcabamba, but in the real world the prices are more than okay..
You can rent a bike to tool around the three settlements, San Clemente, San Alejo and San Jacinto. However, the bikes need some work to improve safety and comfort.
Palmazul is not cheap. You sign your food to the room number and our bills, when we got them, were out of sync with the menu prices and what we actually signed for. Be sure to sign every chit so that it's easy for the staff and for you to come to agreement. And they will. Just point out any discrepancies and they will be fixed.
I missed the hullabaloo of the New Year's weekend except for one night, which was pretty awful. There's nowhere to hide from a fiesta on the deck below as all the rooms open onto it, and the sliding doors don't shut out the racket. Noise went on for three nights, as late as 4 a.m., with a wedding, a birthday, and New Year's Eve.

Room Tip: Ask about events that will happen during your stay if you are concerned about night noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

We appreciate your review! you are welcome to Palmazul always!
Regards
Jessica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked in for three days but stayed for six! We would have stayed longer but our flight back home left the next day.
Our room overlooked the beach and the ocean and we left the balcony doors open at night to listen to the sea - then when we woke up we swam in the beautiful pool or dashed down the beach into the waves. Magical!
San Clemente is a fishing village and it is fascinating to watch the fishermen pulling in the nets in the morning and the frigate birds and pelicans and the odd dog sharing the catch! The people are so genuinely friendly and I felt safe to walk on the beach early on my own.
I am surprised at the previous couple of reviews. The hotel was perfectly clean, the beds very comfortable and there are lovely loungers all around the pool. There are deck chairs and hammocks on the beach. The hotel does keep the beach clean between the ocean and the hotel but they cannot be responsible for the whole beach and the odd plastic bottles etc do wash up. The hotel is not brand new but everyting works and is well maintained.
It was a quiet time of year that we were there but when we went to the poolside bar a member of staff appeared almost immediately and mixed excellent cocktails.
The company who owns this hotel, Columbus Travel, are great to deal with and we also had a fabulous four days in their excellent Amazon Jungle Lodge, La Selva.
The food was delicious, the staff and service were very good and we are planning to return - soon I hope!

Room Tip: We had room number 15 but I think they are all good so long as they are on the ocean side of the bui...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SND1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We want to spend a little bit Holiday in Palmazul after a long journey, but we can't believe our eyes. A hotel, from the first view really nice, but the second view for example on the rooms were, that the Design is old, stagnant and it seemed to be grubby. On the beach there aren't any loungers, 20m on the left side finishes the Beach and there are houses. Also the Beach seemed to be Dirty. The staff were friendly, but the result was nonetheless: we changed to another hotel: Casa ceibo, that was great!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Me, Jessica Meza, owner of Palmazul personally received the beautiful couple Haessler Muller from Germany, as the day before we had a wedding at the hotel, and the guests were just doing their check out, so our receptionist was busy at the moment they arrived.

Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch aber Ich kann es noch nicht richtig schreiben und Ich war sehr froh Ich konnte ein bissche mit diese besucher ueben! so I explained them that the room assigned for them was not ready yet (because of the wedding) and I assigned them another one that was ready, our staff took their luggage to the room and about 5 minutes later they came to my office to say they don’t like the room or the place and that they wanted to leave.

I helped them to find another place, organized them to pick them up and offer them free drinks.

The full name of our hotel is Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa as our hotel is decorated with the work from Ecuadorian artisans, I understand it doesn’t look like a Hilton it’s because it has its own and unique character and of course not everybody will like our style.

In our profile I am attaching 3 pictures of the ocean in different times of the day, some are taken by our clients so these are not the best quality but they can show to our future visitors that in our beach as in every beach in the world the tide changes every 6 to 8 hours, and in our beach the water once a year can come up to the swimming pool! it is nature and there is nothing we can do about it.

Houses around the hotel, yes of course, no comments about that.

It is sad that the hour this lovely couple spent with us, waiting for their pick up, was not enough for us to show them all we have to offer and that Palmazul is not all about the style of the room but the charm of the people and the beauty of it’s landscape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The only positive rating for this hotel is the location, on the beach.. pool bar and restaurant was rarely open , drinks and food (if available) was over-priced, bartender didn't know how to make mixed drinks..rooms were okay but security was non-existant. Spa ?? saw no spa unless its the massage room with a massage table. Plus it was rainy season with millions of mosquitoes and the tennis courts were either flooded or covered in mud

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The manager was the best and it is right on the beach, I played my gutiar in the bar and we had such a nice time, I recommend it for sure!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for sure!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costaricacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
10.5 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
92 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
416 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
597 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
108 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#6 of 12 in Manta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmazul Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Address: Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: $195 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmazul Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, a sun-kissed shoreline awaits right outside your window. Enjoy service that seems to read your mind, and indulge yourself in our superb Cocomar Restaurant and Arena Spa. Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa welcomes you with beautiful gardens and a mix of distinct architecture that blends seamlessly with nature. The rooms are decorated not only with products made by Ecuadorian Artisans; but also with a sumptuous view of the sea; as well as having a mini-bar, balcony, elegant faucets, and amenities from L´Occitane. The hotel also boasts a semi-Olympic pool, bar, hammocks, tennis court, and exit directly to our private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmazul Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing