We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were shocked”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palmazul Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We want to spend a little bit Holiday in Palmazul after a long journey, but we can't believe our eyes. A hotel, from the first view really nice, but the second view for example on the rooms were, that the Design is old, stagnant and it seemed to be grubby. On the beach there aren't any loungers, 20m on the left side finishes the Beach and there are houses. Also the Beach seemed to be Dirty. The staff were friendly, but the result was nonetheless: we changed to another hotel: Casa ceibo, that was great!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heikemaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmazulHotel, Owner at Palmazul Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Me, Jessica Meza, owner of Palmazul personally received the beautiful couple Haessler Muller from Germany, as the day before we had a wedding at the hotel, and the guests were just doing their check out, so our receptionist was busy at the moment they arrived.

Ich spreche ein bisschen Deutsch aber Ich kann es noch nicht richtig schreiben und Ich war sehr froh Ich konnte ein bissche mit diese besucher ueben! so I explained them that the room assigned for them was not ready yet (because of the wedding) and I assigned them another one that was ready, our staff took their luggage to the room and about 5 minutes later they came to my office to say they don’t like the room or the place and that they wanted to leave.

I helped them to find another place, organized them to pick them up and offer them free drinks.

The full name of our hotel is Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa as our hotel is decorated with the work from Ecuadorian artisans, I understand it doesn’t look like a Hilton it’s because it has its own and unique character and of course not everybody will like our style.

In our profile I am attaching 3 pictures of the ocean in different times of the day, some are taken by our clients so these are not the best quality but they can show to our future visitors that in our beach as in every beach in the world the tide changes every 6 to 8 hours, and in our beach the water once a year can come up to the swimming pool! it is nature and there is nothing we can do about it.

Houses around the hotel, yes of course, no comments about that.

It is sad that the hour this lovely couple spent with us, waiting for their pick up, was not enough for us to show them all we have to offer and that Palmazul is not all about the style of the room but the charm of the people and the beauty of it’s landscape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Palmazul Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 198 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2012

The only positive rating for this hotel is the location, on the beach.. pool bar and restaurant was rarely open , drinks and food (if available) was over-priced, bartender didn't know how to make mixed drinks..rooms were okay but security was non-existant. Spa ?? saw no spa unless its the massage room with a massage table. Plus it was rainy season with millions of mosquitoes and the tennis courts were either flooded or covered in mud

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The manager was the best and it is right on the beach, I played my gutiar in the bar and we had such a nice time, I recommend it for sure!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an ocean view for sure!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank costaricacowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

My husband and I spent a week at Palmazul and loved it! The room was very comfortable, great linens, roomy, and an ocean view off our balcony that was to die for. All the public areas are open to the outdoors, as the weather here is perfect all the time, and no bugs, just a gentle breeze. The pool, the bar, the restaurant with an accommodating chef, the beach, were all you could want, we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AmyDBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Just returned from a two-week stint in Ecuador. We stayed three nights at Palmazul and could not be happier.

Our room (15) was small, but very clean nicely appointed, and it had a great view from the third-floor balcony.

The pool was terrific. The poolside beds were a great place to relax, and the beach was beautiful and clean.

What really shines at Palmazul is their staff. They catered to our every need, and even prepared a special dinner for two that was a completely unexpected surprise.

Thanks, Palmazul!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smithboyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

From the moment we arrived at Palmazul, we were treated like royalty by the attentive staff. We were greeted with a fresh juice and a cool cloth to clean off the dust from the scenic 50 minute ride to San Clemente from Manta.

The view from our room was spectacular. The bed was comfortable and the sound of the waves breaking just behind the hotel was too wonderful to close the balcony doors, however, leaving the doors open made for a warm night's sleep!

The swimming pool was clean and refreshing any time of the day or night.

The food? Well, there is just one word for it...YUMMY!! Every dish we tried was very delicious (and we tried nearly every one!). In particular, we enjoyed the Ceviche Camaron and Pescalo al Limon and Atun and...oh my, we liked it ALL! It was obvious that the chefs have been trained in the culinary arts because the presentation of each dish was very appealing.

Lourdes, the director, was very helpful (she speaks fluent English!) and the staff was very patient assisting us with our Spanish. I recommend taking an English-Spanish dictionary.

The beach, to the north, was beautiful and the people of San Clemente were very welcoming. At low tide, one can walk for a couple of miles to the north and there are no crowds, in fact, you will run into very few people at all, except for the young men playing soccer on the sand.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laplayas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This was my eight or ninth time I spent a long weekend in Palmazul and as always I enjoyed it a lot! Besides having renovated and relocated the spa and built and installed the flashiest/nicest bar in Ecuador, we really appreciated their new French chef exquisite menus, a class above the standard coastal food found on the coast.

The reason why we have chosen Palmazul so often is the combination of long empty beaches, a great pool often filled with children which is super for a families, great sleeping in their very comfortable beds listening to the waves of the ocean and a friendly service which makes you feel part of a family. Personnally I enjoy the long runs/bike ride on the beach and an occasional climb to the mountain located 1km inland from the hotel which is some great excercise.

It is not a party animal scene - it is familyoriented or romantic get away.
San Clemente is a nice and safe coastal village with surprisingly many foreigners.

it is almost impossible to find something of this standard in Ecuador today so I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank QuitoOla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Clemente
10.5 mi away
Saiananda
Saiananda
#2 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
92 reviews
21.1 mi away
Mantahost Hotel
Mantahost Hotel
#2 of 12 in Manta
416 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Oro Verde Manta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Balandra Hotel
Balandra Hotel
#1 of 12 in Manta
597 reviews
10.4 mi away
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casa Ceibo Boutique Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bahia de Caraquez
108 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#6 of 12 in Manta
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmazul Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmazul Hotel & Spa

Address: Av Quito s/n | a 500 metros al norte de calle principal via punta Bikini, San Clemente, Ecuador
Phone Number:
Location: Ecuador > Manabi Province > San Clemente
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Clemente
Price Range: $195 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmazul Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa, a sun-kissed shoreline awaits right outside your window. Enjoy service that seems to read your mind, and indulge yourself in our superb Cocomar Restaurant and Arena Spa. Palmazul Artisan Designed Hotel & Spa welcomes you with beautiful gardens and a mix of distinct architecture that blends seamlessly with nature. The rooms are decorated not only with products made by Ecuadorian Artisans; but also with a sumptuous view of the sea; as well as having a mini-bar, balcony, elegant faucets, and amenities from L´Occitane. The hotel also boasts a semi-Olympic pool, bar, hammocks, tennis court, and exit directly to our private beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Palmazul Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing