We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house in stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wooden Cabbage House
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in stunning location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We recently returned from a very relaxing and pampered stay at the gorgeous Wooden Cabbage House in the beautiful hamlet of East Chelborough (near to Dorchester and Crewkerne). Our room was just perfect, with the scent of freshly picked roses from the garden, crisp white linen and fluffy towels! Superlative views all around, but opt for the back twin or side double both en suite, for stunning views. Martyn and Susie were fabulous hosts, from the minute we arrived to the minute we left and susie's cooked breakfast is a must, as is her home made muesli - totally yummy. We dined at the Acorn pub on our first night, but arrived late, so Susie kindly called the Acorn who held our table for us, no problem at all. We dined in the main restaurant, had a fabulous bottle of wine, super main course, but ran out of room for dessert! We dined in at Wooden Cabbage on our second night and what a total delight it was. The food and wine truly delicious and highly recommend you book at least one night to dine in. In terms of cost, we thought Wooden Cabbage was good value for money for a 1st class establishment such as this. We are delighted to have found Wooden Cabbage and it will most definitely be our no.1 retreat in Dorset. Thank you again Martyn and Susie for a wonderful stay and we look forward to visiting again in the not too very distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHyde503838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
66
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We are just back from two days at Wooden Cabbage 

This B&B is well located for visiting both the Dorset coast and countryside, it's also well located as an end of day base with fine views and excellent local pubs/food.

The food served is first class and the garden room you'll be eating has a lovely feel, and views.

We highly recommend Wooden Cabbage, you'll have great hosts, good food and feel that you've spent time in a very special place.

A perfect B&B for those few but much needed days away... 

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wreford miles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Well located close to Dorchester and with the most welcoming hosts imaginable, the cottage was a very pleasant stay for our group. We enjoyed breakfast in the conservatory and recommend that all guests follow Martin's trip advice (especially for places to eat!).
Thank you Susie and Martin for a wonderful long weekend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cat_and_Kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The third visit to our favourite guest house. Stunning location, house, rooms and food. But what really makes this place special are the hosts, Martin and Susie. Look forward to many more visits.

Adam and Catherine

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had the pleasure of spending 6 nights at Wooden Cabbage in April. From the moment we arrived to the minute we left Martyn & Susie were the perfect hosts. A friendly welcome was followed by a wonderful dinner on our 1st night. Our double en suite room had stunning views of open fields & valleys, totally tranquil. Wooden Cabbage is a beautiful country house B & B, tastefully decorated with antique furniture and paintings.
Nothing is too much trouble for the charming hosts. Breakfast is a tour de force - Suzie's home made muesli, jams & marmalade; Martyn's artistically arranged plate of freshly prepared fruits including melon, strawberry, grapes, banana, kiwi, pear, pineapple - followed by full English & toast. We never had to eat lunch!
We were asked what kind of things we liked to do on holiday and Martyn came up with interesting itineraries & suggestions of where to eat out. Martyn & Susie make you feel like very welcome house guests, but they are never obtrusive and we felt genuinely sad to leave at the end of our stay. We cannot recommend Wooden Cabbage highly enough and we shall definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jude0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Wooden Cabbage to celebrate my Mother in Laws birthday while we spent a weekend in Dorset. Martin and Susie are very welcoming. Their home is stunning. Our rooms were very comfortable and very clean.
Breakfasts were amazing. Loved their dog.Rayburn. Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wooden Cabbage House for three nights in mid April. The standard of accommodation was wonderful and the house itself is completely charming. I don’t know which we enjoyed more, the meal provided by Susie on our first night which was worth every penny and was better than many very good places that we have eaten in or the breakfasts in the breakfast room with a great view out over the Dorset country side with Martyn and Susie making you feel completely at home. Breakfast here is fabulous. We felt far better after our stay here than we have after longer stays in many other places. Most of the things you want to see in Dorset are within reasonable reach and there are plenty of places to eat nearby and a bit further. The surroundings to the house are quiet and Martyn and Susie have the knack of giving you very personal attention without ever being obtrusive. I shouldn’t be writing this review because I’d like to keep this gem all to ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Chelborough
0.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.0 mi away
Limestone Hotel
Limestone Hotel
#1 of 2 in West Lulworth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#17 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munden House
Munden House
#1 of 1 in Alweston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Cabbage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Cabbage House

Property: Wooden Cabbage House
Address: East Chelborough | Dorchester (City), East Chelborough DT2 0QA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > East Chelborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Chelborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wooden Cabbage House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully decorated house, peaceful and set in the most tranquil and unspoiled part of Dorset, west of Dorchester and south of Sherborne. A spacious stylish home with stunning views, comfortable bedrooms with good beds and white linen, good water pressure and lovely toiletries in the bathrooms. The downstairs rooms include a flower filled garden room and sofas in the sitting room area with a log fire. Gourmet breakfasts are served in the garden room, with fresh orange juice, homemade muesli (loved by everyone!), garden fruit compot and Greek yoghurt, a full English Breakfast using locally sourced ingredients, toast and homemade jams. Excellent pubs closeby - some serving restaurant food and some serving more relaxed good pub grub . Martyn and Susie look forward to extending a warm welcome to you at Wooden Cabbage. Only 25 minutes' drive to the Jurassic Coast. Lovely walks closeby and wonderful gardens to visit, as well as NT houses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wooden Cabbage House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing