We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and welcoming”
Review of Church Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We spent just 1 night at Church Hill attending a party locally, Sue and Richard were most obliging and even enabled us to have a later breakfast when they learnt of our possible late stay out until the early hours which was most appreciated. Its comfortable, full of character and we instantly relaxed. We will return next time we are in the area without a doubt.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 77 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

We spent 1 night at church hill house as we were attending a wedding at spains hall.

Both sue and Richard are incredibly accommodating and can not do enough for you.

We stayed in the oak room - it was filled with character and we were instantly relaxed. We were lucky enough to have the one sunny day over bank holiday which meant we got to sit and drink tea in the gorgeous garden.

Our room had everything we needed and more.

As for breakfast.....this was extremely scrummy and Richard cooked the best bacon I had ever had and my partner certainly enjoyed the black pudding.

This won't be our last stay here, we plan to get away every now and again and knowing exactly what wonderful service we received here, it will certainly be here we will be coming back to.

Thank you very much sue and Richard, we will see you again soon xx vickie & lee xx

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kent_Girl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

What more can we add? We were recommended this B&B by the bride to be of the wedding we were attending at the nearby Gosforth hall. How right she was! An interesting 500 year old house, a warm friendly greeting,comfortable rooms and really excellent breakfasts.Susan & Richard have created, without doubt, the best B&B experience for miles around. We found everything of very high standard from quality bathroom toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities and personal 'fridge in the bedrooms together with a supply of filtered drinking water down to a fresh fruit salad side dish at breakfast. we even had the offer of being driven to Gosforth hall for the function we were attending. How's that for service!! Thanks so much, Susan & Richard for a truly enjoyable stay. What a pity it was for only one night ( but hopefully not the last we will spend with you!) Angie & Ron, Michelle & Terry. Wheathampstead Herts

Room Tip: If you yearn for a four poster to sleep in it's available in the Oak room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked Church Hill House to go to a wedding at Spain's Hall just a few miles away. Richard and Susan were so accommodating and even gave us a lift back from the venue. The house is so unique and intriguing and the breakfast was yummy with so much choice and included lovely locally sourced ingredients. I would highly recommend Church Hill House :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katytravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

The weather forecast tempted us out of London and into the Essex countryside at short notice. We were very lucky, due to a cancellation, to obtain a room at Church Hill House where we received an extremely warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for Susan and Richard to the extend that Susan offered to telephone her favourite local restaurant to book a table for us whilst we were offered coffee and tea in the beamed sitting room and ably entertained by Richard.
Our ensuite room, with a very comfortable four poster bed, was very clean and beautifully decorated in keeping with the age of the property as was the whole house. The bathroom was large with toiletries and bathrobes provided. A much appreciated touch was the breakfast menu in the bedroom giving a wide selection of locally sourced ingredients. So thoughtful to allow their guests time to decide instead of being faced with the choice when sitting at the table. I have no hesitation in recommending Church Hill House and myself and husband look forward to another visit in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

I won't harp on about how quaint and beautiful a house this is as that is more than adequately covered in other reviews here, but trust me - it may look a little unprepossessing from the outside, but Church Hill House is like stepping back in time (in a good way).
Richard and Susan are also consummate hosts, being friendly and welcoming but not 'in your face'.
I was extremely fortunate in that they put me in the Oak Suite even though I was travelling alone, which (apart from needing a flick of the duster) was extremely comfortable and well appointed.
Breakfast was the best I've had in many establishments for many years (pssst - just order the 'special'!).
I cannot recommend strongly enough that you book in and stay here before Richard and Susan realise how much better THEIR service is than the competition and double their room rate! ! !

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Unevenshifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My sister my niece and I stayed at Church Hill House last weekend on a trip back to visit all of our childhood haunts. From the minute we arrived Susan could not have done more for us! After a long day we arrived and were given a very welcome cup of tea in front of a beautiful log fire. Susan was very friendly and shared her great local knowledge about restaurants etc. The rooms were cosy, warm, clean, comfortable and contained everything we could possibly want. Susan even went the 'extra mile' and taxied us to and from our restaurant, very much appreciated, thank you. We had a fantastic breakfast to send us on our way - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill House

Address: Church Hill House High Street, Wethersfield CM7 4BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range: $53 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed a warm welcome at Church Hill House, a 500 year old listed house, opposite the ancient parish church and alongside the village green at the heart of an especially attractive village on the Essex-Suffolk borders. A choice of several restaurants within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing