We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing B&B”
Review of Church Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wethersfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Hill House
Ranked #1 of 2 Wethersfield B&B and Inns
Great Britain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What an amazing B&B”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We spent a night here to attend a musical tribute in shalford for my beloved brother. Susan and Richard were so friendly and helped enormously with our last minute booking.

Nothing was too much trouble for them and they welcomed us into their beautiful home like long lost friends.

We adored the room we stayed in and learning about the history of their beautiful home. We stayed in the Oak Suite. we fell in love with the room and the fresh milk for tea and coffee was such a special touch. The bed was beautiful and the room so quiet. We adored Chester the cat and fel very honoured when he visited us on arrival in our room.

Once settled in susan and Richard privided us with refreshments in the lounge and we chatted for ages, really felt like my dream of a home from home.

Not having to worry about parking was a bonus, reserved outside the house. Wonderful.

We wish we could have spent longer with them but our one night went so quickly. Best sleep I have had in a very long time.

Breakfast was huge and absolutely delicious. Very relaxed. We could have stayed at the breakfast table all day.

Sadly, we had to leave. We will certainly be returning in the future and look forward to doing so.

beautiful and well worth a visit if in the area.

Room Tip: Both suites look beautiful and have individual character, on the website. Very hard to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CACGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
39
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My partner and I spent an unforgettable 2 nights at Church Hill House. We attended a wedding at Spain's Hall on 18 November and arrived the night before. Everything was perfect from start to finish, right down to the weather.

The owners, Susan and Richard, as many reviewers have noted, were more like old family friends than hosts. We arrived very late (around 11pm) and were welcomed with warm smiles and cold beers.

Breakfast the following morning was delicious and the Green & Blacks hot chocolate was to die for. We were warned about the church bells, but they too were delightful and simply enhanced our village experience.

We stayed in the Tudor suite and couldn't stop talking about how lovely everything was. It's the little touches that made it all so magical: the wooden beams, sloping floors, log fire in the lounge and of course the secret mini fridge hidden behind a picture on the wall.

Our only regret was not having enough time to explore the local area. To be truthful, we could've gone out, but we couldn't drag ourselves out of our warm, cosy room! Hey hum, I guess we'll just have to re-visit. And d'you know what? I can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 2-night break in the enchanting Church Hill House. Richard and Sue were an absolute delight and breakfast was exceptional. You couldn’t find a better place to stay for a weekend in this idyllic part of England. Jon, Jenny, Helen & Tim

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I took my family to stay overnight here, to attend a christening. The house was amazing and the service we received was second to none! We were made very welcome from the word go and the owners went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The owners entertained our children by asking them to see how many animals could be found around the house on paintings etc. the breakfast was also very good. I will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leestringer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We visited the Church Hill House again in Sep 12 and had great expectations, following a lovely stay the previous year.

Well, the B&B and its wonderful hosts, Richard and Susan, did not disappoint! Au contraire! We felt so welcome it was like being in our home. Richard and Susan treated us like old friends; they offered us tea and cake on arrival, told us stories and delighted us with lots of kind gestures!

The house itself is the stuff of dreams: full of history, beautifully furnished and kept immaculately clean. We had lovely books at our disposal and much enjoyed all the antique features the house displays so proudly.

Best in class and Bravo! to the owners. Will be back next year.

Room Tip: The Oak Room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Groom-Bride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

A warm welcome when we arrived from Susan.Large comfortable room .Comfortable bed.Spotless bathroom,with Moulton Brown toiletries.Parts of house are 500yrs old, so lots of exposed beams.Sloping creaky floors as would be expected.Free wifi in room. Fresh milk in mini fridge, and fresh flowers in room. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, muesli and cereals, full cooked breakfast, toast etc,all very nicely presented and cooked. Richard and Susan are excellent hosts, who go out of their way to make there guests stay enjoyable. Wethersfield is surrounded by attractive villages, and the pub in the adjacent village (Finchingfield) serves good evening meals.We will definitely return

Room Tip: Only two rooms.We stayed in Oak, which is the larger.It is at the back, so no road noise.The only th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddyk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Spa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at Church Hill House during the Olympics. The house is lovely, full of history and character, with great attention to detail. Susan and Richard were superb hosts - a warm welcome, and it was very generous of Richard to take us to the train station so early in the morning. It was less than an hour's commute on the train to the Olympic Stadium, and returning to Church Hill House was an oasis of calm after the high-energy day. You could conceivably commute to the center of London from here for a day out. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend without reservation. Great value, too!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David and Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wethersfield
6.3 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
401 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
145 reviews
5.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#1 of 1 in Great Yeldham
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Suites at Pannells Ash
The Suites at Pannells Ash
#1 of 1 in Castle Hedingham
127 reviews
6.3 mi away
Blatches Farm
Blatches Farm
#5 of 8 in Great Dunmow
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill House

Property: Church Hill House
Address: Church Hill House High Street, Wethersfield CM7 4BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Wethersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wethersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are guaranteed a warm welcome at Church Hill House, a 500 year old listed house, opposite the ancient parish church and alongside the village green at the heart of an especially attractive village on the Essex-Suffolk borders. A choice of several restaurants within a 5 minute drive. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing