We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Domaine de Moulin Madame
Ranked #2 of 4 Givry B&B and Inns
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I am rather surprised at some of the reviews here as my experience was certainly not a good one. The setting and the house were indeed very beautiful but that was not mirrored by our stay. The Green Room we stayed in was gloomy at night with inadequate lighting. The bedding of rather ancient sheets and blankets was hardly welcoming and the beds were hard and uncomfortable in fact if we had not been so tired after a very long drive we would have decided to move on and try our luck elsewhere.
Our hosts must have been having an 'off' day the next day as they were decidedly frosty and the breakfast of one croissant, some bread and jam and a few lumps of cheese was basic. Coffee and tea were served in a thermos. This was not a cheap Chambres D'Hotes and I do not think in any respect was value for money. Another thing to be aware of is that this is a 'cash only' establishment. For me this is definitely one to avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandDeb h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
32
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This old mill and its gardens have been meticulously and tastefully renovated and I understand further improvements are on the horizon. The location is perfect - just off the A6 autoroute and close to some fine wine producers. The owner/manager couple bent over backwards to give us a warm welcome and ensure we had everything we needed. As Sibford said in his review, "Breakfast was superb". We did not have dinner at the Moulin but at the Annexe restaurant in nearby Givry - rated Number 2 in Givry restaurants but we found it top rate. We've already recommended the Moulin to several friends and would not hesitate to go back there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carpentras
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights as a family of 4. Communication to book was lacking clarity but we did get it all sorted out in the end. Our room was the "green room". Lovely and spacious, although lacking storage. It was obvious to us that is had not been used in a while because, although clean, it was freezing cold and only warmed up after a few days of having the heaters all turned up to maximum.
The bath"room" was an open section of the room, rather poorly separated by a wobbly room divider. The toilet room did have a door though :-)
What made our stay truly outstanding was the service and warmth provided by our hostess, Martine. We did not eat dinner there, as it was not offered, but our breakfasts where, while repetitive, served and prepared with love. Martine truly strove to fulfill our wishes before we had a chance to voice them. Not that we could, for we speak no french and Martine no english.
The building and its accompanying service buildings on the grounds are magical to look at, inside and out. We took a peak into each room, they are unlocked while not in use, and they each where decorated differently but very charming. A lot of the old features of the building are exposed, such as massive wooden beams, traditional fireplace locations and some antique tile work.
The main room/dining room has a dining table that can easily seat 20 and is used for community family style breakfasts. We were able to light the fire in the dining room multiple nights and sat by the fire, playing one of the card games that lay out for use. We had full use of the small breakfast kitchen, being able to warm up a microwave meal on our night in and had full use of plates and silverware. We were even invited to help ourselves to anything in the refrigerator, which held the next day's breakfast things (which were likely for us anyway, since we were the only guests staying that night).
Our room was not serviced during our stay, but it didn't bother us much. We asked for new towels when we needed them.
My daughters enjoyed practicing on the hotel piano at the bottom of the stairs.
We will gladly recommend this place and if we're ever back in the area will for sure stay here.
One tip, nothing is in walking distance. You will need wheels of some kind to get to anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anjacweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A wonderful place to stay. The owner was incredibly helpful - in fact, he stayed up till midnight to welcome us as we were delayed going through the Mont Blanc tunnel. The accommodation is comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was superb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Beautiful location, lovely rooms, good food. After our biking trip we sat in the lovely garden enjoying a couple of glasses of wine from the district. A previous comment indicated that you could not get alcohol other than with meals. We had no problems, we got as much wine as we wanted. We did not ask for beer though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinNorway57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here on a cycling trip. The room was great and both the dinner and breakfast were great. Please note the dinner was a single menu, one appetizer and one entree and one desert. While the food was excellent, the appetizer was escargot and the entree beef bourginione so if these are not your thing you may have a different view.

The only complaint is that the B and B is only able to serve alcohol at meals. After a day of cycling we were all craving a beer and had to instead get a shower and then go into Givry to get a beer, not a big deal but after a day of cycling a .

We would definitely go back. Friendly staff, great rooms and great food.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingfamily287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the way down to the south of France, with our two children. The owners were incredibly helpful and friendly, and even Fedexed my engagement ring to me for free, when I left in the bathroom - how kind was that! Our bedroom was gorgeous too!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Givry
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Dracy
Hotel Le Dracy
#1 of 1 in Dracy-le-Fort
250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
Hotel Le Saint-Georges
#1 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
527 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Europe
#2 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
Ibis Styles Chalon sur Saone
#3 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
509 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
Ibis Chalon Sur Saone Nord
#4 of 17 in Chalon-sur-Saone
166 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Remy
Hotel Le Saint Remy
#1 of 2 in Saint-Remy
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Moulin Madame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Moulin Madame

Property: Domaine de Moulin Madame
Address: Moulin Madame, 71640 Givry, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Givry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Givry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moulin Madame manor... And above all: conveniently situated only 5km from motorway access! Set in 15 hectares of mature wooded grounds, only 5 km from Chalon-sur-Saone, Moulin Madame manor is also a magical place, dating back to the 15th c where you can relax in perfect peace and lovely surroundings! You can enjoy regional delicacies and the locally produced wines for which the area is renowned, all in a friendly and refined atmosphere. 5 Guest rooms with all facilities - 3 self-catering apartments - meals can be prepared for you - banqueting hall (seats 60) - wifi available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Moulin Madame reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing