We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undiscovered gem in heart of France's great food region”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chartreuse Le Cariol
Ranked #1 of 3 Naussannes B&B and Inns
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Undiscovered gem in heart of France's great food region”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have stayed at Le Cariol a few times so I'm confident now to share what I think are replicable experiences: in short, wonderful. This is truly a unique place. We travel extensively for both business and holiday and we keep coming back to this "petite chateau" in France's gastronomy heart...

It's a classic, authentic chateau but completely modern inside. There are fireplaces everywhere--usually roaring--and it's obvious someone took personal charge of renovating a historic place (it sits on an early cromagna man site and is just down the river from the famous caves of Lascou).

When the sun sets it lights the rock walls up. There's always champagne and wonderful music going. It's very private but somehow affords a commanding view over two farms and a small town in the distance. The owner is an eccentric artist and his wife runs the chateau. I recommend hunting down the artist's studio if he is around for a personal tour....wild.

Hit the Saturday market in town but avoid le couderc the nudist place down the road.....(we mistakingly pulled in...)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyfromSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aartselaar, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After our first stay last year, we decided this year to go back. The place is so beautiful and relaxing. Sitting by the pool with a glas of red wine..I would go back in a second. concerning the hosts: Martijn and Irene are very nice and we always got what we asked.so, if you are looking for a nice place to relax in the Perigord, visit 'Le Cariol'...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My Family had a blast during our 4nights -5 days at Le Cariol- Our children refuses to get out for a drive in the neighborhood , they just wanted to hang out at the chartreuse.... they enjoyed the sauna after a dip in the pool, played the piano and had candle light dinners- breakfast is amazing- a perfect place for relaxation. Moreover- our family discovered the love for art with Marthjin art session- we created family masterpiece.
I recommend Le Cariol" for a romantic rendezvous as well--- We are looking forward to go back---SOON:) Thank you Marthjin and Irene- We love you:)

Marjorie Renner

Room Tip: My husband and I slept in the garden room-- nice view of the pool and has a great privacy:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MforMarjorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We are longing to go back to the exquisite LeCariol!! We rented the entire chartreause for our group of 2 grandparents, 3 adults, and 7 children ages 17 to 10, for 3 nights and it just wasn't enough!! LeCariol had been highly recommended to us by American friends who had "discovered" it with their 3 children last year and told us it was a MUST DO. They couldn't have been more accurate.

The house is elegantly restored and appointed with high quality furnishings, linens and art work, as well as a baby grand piano. The rooms are very private but there is wonderful flow in the house and room to gather in small groups or all together. Marthijn had roaring fires going for us in the living room and the poolhouse and Irene had the Nespresso going bright and early! The sauna built into the ancient Knights Templar former chapel is a wonderful addition.

We booked 2 nights with dinner and wow - was that a treat!! Extremely reasonable and absolutely delicious! They offer a children's price for the menu as well. The children had a marvelous time running through the fields and playing on the trampoline.

LeCariol is very well situated for exploring the beautiful Dordogne. We are already planning our next trip back!! Merci beaucoup Marthijn and Irene!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We have just come back from a 2 night stay at Le Cariol and before we left we had already booked 2 nights again at the end of May. Le Cariol is an absolutely beautiful, peaceful and relaxing place to stay, it is excellent for couples or families. The grounds, swimming pool and the inside decor are absolutely stunning and you instantly feel at home. We would definitely recommend the downstairs double bedroom and the sauna in the basement. We were highly impressed and it is only 20 minutes away from Bergerac airport, easily accesible.

The hosts Irene and Marthyn were charming and could have not been more accommodating. We are really loking forward to returning in May and we know Le Cariol is now going to be a regular destination for future short breaks and holidays.

Sarah and Paul :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were a group of 6 adults and 5 children and we stayed at Le Cariol in July 2011. Fantastic holidays!
The place is beautifully decorated with Marthijn works and other beautiful pieces of Asian antiques. The rooms are comfortable and so are the bathrooms.
Our children had lots of fun swimming, running, playing football, volleyball, bouncing on the trampoline, ping pong...
Marthijn and Lisbeth were friendly and helped us with all our needs and questions.
Our tables d'hotes with chef Paul were delicious and a great way to relax after our whole day of sightseeing.
Great place for family reunions or for a long weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiaRioLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Just came back from a 3-days stay in Le Cariol. I have to say, I'm very impressed with the way this old chartreuse is transformed into a stylish chambre d'hôtes. Everything, from the interior design to the comfy beds and the unique wine selection, is really classy. For me, this is an inspiring place. Also because of the friendly service of the owners and the interesting display of art. And this part of the Dordogne is simply amazing!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chartreuse Le Cariol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chartreuse Le Cariol

Property: Chartreuse Le Cariol
Address: Lieu Dit le Cariol, 24440 Naussannes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Naussannes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Naussannes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our beautiful 'Chartreuse Le Cariol',on the property of artist Marthijn de GrootA classy mansion with five ‘chambres d’hôtes’, each with its own atmosphere and fitted with all modern comforts. Groups can also rent the entire Chartreuse.At Le Cariol, away from the humdrum of everyday life, you can unwind in an environment where everything is geared towards relaxation and enjoyment.You can relax because of the peace and quiet, laze around the pool in the pool house, relax in the sauna or enjoy a nice glass of wine from our wine cellar on our terrace or by the fireplace in the foyer… But you can also relax and enjoy your encounters with art, culture, nice (local) cuisine – either prepared in our own kitchen or somewhere else – and discovering the Périgord Pourpre, a little south of Bergerac. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chartreuse Le Cariol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing