We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views”
Review of Castel Pergine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pergine Valsugana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Pergine
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed here for one night on the way down to Mugello.
Having just ridden over the alps, the Castel Pergine was a welcome sight, towering over the beautiful Pergine.
We made our way up the track, under the portcullis and into the large parking area.
The entrance hall is very impressive with its high, vaulted ceiling and stone spiral stairs that lead upto reception.
The grounds are lovely and after a fantastic meal in the restaurant I climbed the steps onto the castle walls and watched a thunder storm over Bologna.
The rooms are very basic but retain the rustic charm of the castle.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank un-pc-big-d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 120 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

From the moment we arrived Castel Pergine enchanted us. The castle grounds are lovely and open for exploring, and the trails on the surrounding hill are also very beautiful. The staff was wonderful and we found the service to be excellent. I really recommend doing the half-board option as dinner was fantastic-delicious, incorporating local foods and done with beautiful presentation. The rooms are clean and blend well with the decor of the rest of the castle. Great Experience!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dmarie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Impressive castle crowning a hill approx. 15 min. east of Trento,Italy. Easily accessible by car and well maked with signs. Very peaceful in the courtyard and surrounding bastions. Room was basic and comfortable. Unfortunately not a great deal of the Castle is open to discover. The Restaurant was excellent and very affordable. Overall I would say an excellent excursion off the beaten path. Be careful breakfast and checkout do not start till 8.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorkon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Verena, Theo and their staff are the perfect hosts to this charming Castle which dates back to the 13th Century.
The official rating of this hotel is one star, and if you want to stay somewhere with air conditioning; lifts; swimming pool and a gym then don't come here.
However this castle is the real deal. The many photos speak for themselves.
Our rooms were in a building which seems to house most of the bedrooms. my view was over the inner courtyard while the other room looked out over Pergine and the mountains beyond. This building has had some modernisation presumably to comply with fire regulations, but the decor and furnishings are simple and in keeping with a building of its age. Not all rooms have toilet and shower en suite, so you will need to specify this when booking. My room wasn't, but did have a mirror, sink and hair dryer. The shared toilet and showers were on the same floor, and proved to be more than adequate. Signs of a good hotel for me are the comfort of the beds, the quality of the shower, and the food- the beds were firm, and the shower powerful and hot, I will talk about food in a minute, but this is a good hotel!
I have read some adverse comments about the food, but let me set them straight.............
There is an ethos at the castle of using quality produce which is sourced and produced locally where possible. The menu gives details of suppliers and producers, and I am sure that if asked the full provenance of most of the produce could be obtained. This area and its produce have real authenticity, and some of the processes and recipes used are handed down from generation to generation. To me this says a lot.
On first appearance the breakfast seems a bit sparse, however, quality and simplicity are better ways of describing it. There are breads,cake, jams, honey, cheese, ham, cereal, fresh and dried fruit, nuts, fruit juices, water, coffee and tea. All of which is fresh as can be, and in abundance.
Having initially thought that the castle's menu was fixed and multiple courses, we had saved ourselves for an evening meal at the end of our 5 night stay. This isn't the case and you can select individual 'plates' from the menus, or go the whole hog and have all courses with accompanying wine per course. Even then you can mix and match 'plates' from the different menus. All I will say is that there were clean plates all round and big smiles. The food is fantastic, and I have eaten in some quality establishments!

There are occasionally artistic renditions, in addition to the sculptures which adorn the grounds. We were treated to an adaptation of Otello (in Italian of course).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We spend one night in Castel Pergine with my family of 5 ,it was our second time stay ,the Castle is amazing and very enchanting ,the services is verx good ,the restaurant original and traditional italian cuisine at the same time ,breakfast buffet is nice ,excellent muesli and honey .The managers of the hotels very charming and welcoming ,Boldo the dog ,I love him .And what it is very original is always all around the Castle ,garden etc there is each year a modren art exposition of sculpture that seems to integrate so good ,we would go back anytime we are around Pergine ,the view from the rooms are amazing !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renatacagliani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We picked this accommodation for several reasons. It was out of the way, unique and well reviewed. It did not disappoint!! I've never stayed in a castle, this seems as authentic as can be. I loved everything about. The location was easy to reach, well marked. There was ample parking..but you'll need wheels to get there, and the dining was superb.

I'm not a gourmet eater as a rule but Varena puts out a great meal with very attentive service in amazing surroundings.

We spent the afternoon lazing in the grassy courtyard watching kids play knights and damsels. An occasional stroll to take in the stunning views of the surrounding countryside and back the courtyard for a cold beer. I would definitely stay here again. Make sure to go half board and have the dinner!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrolia-Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The castel is very imposing. It is huge and can be seen for miles. You will require a vehicle to get here as it is very far from the nearest town. We took half board so we wouldn`t have to drive back here at night. The meals were excellent and the price was good.
The rooms we had were large and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were very small (there were no bathrooms in castles). We found you had to be very careful when using the sink not to slip into the tiny shower stall as it was just a dip in the floor with a curtain around it.
We had to carry our own bags up to the entry and then up the stairs to our room. This is a great place to stay as long as you are able to do the stairs. There are also more stairs leading up to the restaurant.
The views from our windows were breathtaking. You can see the town below and the mountains in the distance.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with 2 windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamperSt_Albert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pergine Valsugana hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Al Ponte
Hotel Al Ponte
#1 of 5 in Pergine Valsugana
140 reviews
2.6 mi away
B&B Alba Sul Lago
B&B Alba Sul Lago
#4 of 17 in Pergine Valsugana
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Miralago
Residence Hotel Miralago
#1 of 17 in Pergine Valsugana
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Agritur Bortolotti
Agritur Bortolotti
#2 of 17 in Pergine Valsugana
74 reviews
0.5 mi away
B&B Al Castel Charme
B&B Al Castel Charme
#5 of 17 in Pergine Valsugana
6 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Rotonda
La Rotonda
#2 of 5 in Pergine Valsugana
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Pergine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Pergine

Address: Via Al Castello 10, 38057 Pergine Valsugana, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Pergine Valsugana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pergine Valsugana
Price Range: $92 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castel Pergine is unique: It comprises a small hotel with 40 beds, a dining room with castle atmosphere, a bar with soggiorno in the 500-year-old throne room and a wonderful garden for relaxation within the inner wall circle. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Pergine Hotel Pergine Valsugana
Castel Pergine Trento
Castel Pergine Hotel Trento
Castel Pergine Italy/Pergine Valsugana, Province Of Trento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing