We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catlins River Ridge Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
County Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me and my family stayed here just after Christmas 2012 and we all had a very enjoyable stay. We only had the one night but I would definately stay here again in a heartbeat if I venture back to the Catlins. Adele and Gary went above and beyond and they are such lovely people. It is so tranquil and peaceful and a great place to go to get away from it all. Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in the self contained Queen studio which had the most comfortable bed - an absolute luxury after travelling. The room was really warm and inviting and I loved that I could have make a cup of coffee in my room in the mornings. River Ridge is a great place to unwind and take in the Catlins scenery. Also Adele and Gary are great people that will do anything to make you feel welcome. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a great place hidden in the middle of the Catlins - just a beautifully peaceful spot with views out onto the landscape from your room - lie in bed and watch nature at it's best. Cosy warm rooms, big open showers so great if you're in a wheelchair - everything is easy access. Big very very comfy bed and tv, kitchen in your room and free tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for the ones facing woodstock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have recently spent six enjoyable days at River Ridge Retreat. Prior to going there I had sore hips, which had persisted for two years. Where I stayed in one of the wheelchair accessible units
After two days of my six day stay the pain in my hips disappeared. My bed was so comfortable and the tranquillity of River Ridge Retreat was so therapeutic to for my body and my general well-being, that I can personally recommend it..
Adele and Gary, the hosts at River Ridge Retreat are so warm and welcoming that I felt ‘at home’ as soon as I met them.
There are so many short sight-seeing places to visit whilst I was there also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiverRidgeRetreat, Owner at Catlins River Ridge Retreat, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much Peter, it was our pleasure having you come and stay with us, and show you around. We look forward to you coming back next year. Adele & Gary Dawkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
4.9 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
13.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
5.0 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
1.7 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park & Catlins Scenic & Wildlife Tours
5.1 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins River Ridge Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins River Ridge Retreat

Property: Catlins River Ridge Retreat
Address: 348 Catlins Valley Road, Owaka 9586, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A top quality facility in a spacious natural setting in the Catlins. Located on beautifully groomed grounds beside the Catlins River, the RiverRidge Retreat resonates peace and tranquility. An ideal setting for your wedding, conference, festival, retreat, social event, or simply a great base to stay and explore the beautiful Catlins area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Catlins River Ridge Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catlins River Ridge Retreat Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing