We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come inside - the food's superb!”
Review of Lumber Jack

Lumber Jack
Ranked #1 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Owaka
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Come inside - the food's superb!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The outside of the restaurant doesn't sell itself. The menu outside doesn't have prices, but if you step inside you'll be pleasantly surprised. Excellent food, well prepared and presented at reasonable prices. After ordering, the waiting time was what you would expect for freshly prepared food. We couldn't understand why it was so quiet on both the evenings we ate there. Definitely our favourite eating place in Owaka.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    42
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't eat here if you want to eat your meal at the same time as the rest of the people on your table”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for lunch after exploring the Catlins and decided this was the place because unlike the other Café in town you didn't have to remove your footwear before entering. The restaurant was busy but most people had already eaten so we went ahead and ordered. Another couple arrived after us and ordered about 10 mins after us. My husband's meal came out, but mine didn't and mine didn't arrive until after the other couple's did and my husband had finished eating. The young waitress gave no explanation and didn't seem to care.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marg173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A good Catlins Restaurant”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The lumberjack is a very homely place and is spotlessly clean The service was excellent and the food was hot , well prepared and very tasty. Both meals we had there were of excellent quality. It is a restaurant I have no hesitation in recommending.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My Family and I arrived late in Owaka and struggled to find somewhere to eat. We eventually settled on this little cafe/restaurant and we were all pleasently surprised. It doesnt look much from the ouside but inside is quite cosy and the food was gorgeous. My father had the salmon and he said it was the best salmon he had throughtout our entire trip (which included New Zealand and Oz) The service wasn't the best but not awful either. Definately worth a trip to!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good heart food but young staff not attentive enough”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great place to eat if you get to Owaka late and want good food - fast service and friendly but the younger staff looked a little flustered with only a handful of people in the restaurant - maybe just a little bit of training needed - overall a great meal and well priced too.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rap28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumber Jack also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Owaka, Otago Region
Southland Region, South Island
 

Been to Lumber Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing