We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean affordable but basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Owaka Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Owaka Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owaka
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Clean affordable but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

welcoming staff, basic accommodation on street frontage. Clean comfortable bed but not a lot else in the area so hunker down and enjoy the Sky TV.
Welcome muffin and flowers a nice touch. Well done. Road frontage didn't provide any privacy but parking wasn't a problem.

Room Tip: Think twice at staying in Owaka unless you aim to explore the catlins in great detail. Especially gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcc115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while touring the Catlins and the unit was very comfortable and the owner was very hospitable and helpful. Great to come back to after a day watching penguins, seals and sea lions.
Great little motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellignton
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

One of my favorite little places in New Zealand, owned by a great host, Gaynor, that will help you in every possible manner: from feeding you delicious muffins to land you binoculars to see the penguins (even in not so touristic places that she knows of..). She knows everything about the beautiful Catlins and is very helpful! The rooms are cosy and self contained, with tv and a comfortable bed, and the wifi is free and quite fast too!
Definitely recommended to everybody: cheap, cute and very homely!

Room Tip: only four rooms, some are bigger or newer, but you'll be fine with any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elipuccioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ahd a surprise stay in Owaka as our Van broke down. It was after dark and cold freezing cold and we couldn't have broken down outside a better motel. Gaynor wisked us in to the warmth and saved the day. The room is spotless and has everything you need. The Rhubarab muffins were the icing on the cake and were amazing. Gaynor took us out to see the sights the next day and for a walk as we had no van. So helpful and friendly, great place to stay cannnot recommend it enough. Thanks for a great stay Gaynor :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinaleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Robbie, the owner of Owaka Resort couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. We had the front room of this old historic home, fully renovated with sweet bathroom and great space. We were on our way to Dunedin and needed just a night. Breakfast was perfect. Quiet and very clean. You won't go wrong here, Robbie has done a great job of creating such a friendly atmosphere that we even had dinner with he, his wife, and their visiting friends. He also helped us with plans for when we drove away.

Room Tip: Loved our front room on the left, great space and very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleG149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stopped here for a night during a motorcycle road trip. Owaka isn't the most exciting location but our motel room was comfy, clean and well equipped. Gaynor does a great job in providing a warm welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed at the Owaka Motor Lodge in February 2013 as part of a nine week trip round NZ. The motel is in a quiet location and the room was cosy and clean. Good supermarket nearby. Very helpful and welcoming owner. Enjoyed the excellent rhubarb muffins. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
7.3 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
0.2 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
0.2 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
4.9 mi away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
3.1 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Owaka Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Owaka Lodge Motel

Property: Owaka Lodge Motel
Address: 12 Ryley Street, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four light and airy units set in a country garden setting. These motels are situated 50 metres from the local supermarket, three restaurants, an Inn, and across the road from Owaka's famous museum and information centre.This is the perfect place to base yourself while exploring the natural wonders of the Catlins...from the sealions and penguins on the beaches, to the superb waterfalls and the bush walks and birdlife to delight any travelling photographer.Breakfast is available to be served in your room and Gaynor is the only staff member so personal service is the order of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Owaka Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Owaka Lodge Motel Southland Region, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing