We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a gem of a place”

Pounawea Motor Camp
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pounawea Motor Camp
Gemenos, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a gem of a place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I absolutely loved this place. In fact I ended up staying three nights instead of one because I was so comfortable and happy here. This is a surprising location as it sits right by an estuary and has waterfront cabins (I stayed in one of these) which makes you think: mosquitoes and sandflies heaven! And surprisingly it has none! I stayed in a cabin which had a comfortable doubled bed, a table with kettle and toaster and a fridge and my own personal view of the estuary. Beautiful! The place was very clean and the shared areas were kept clean too. As expected shared showers/toilets and kitchen/dining area with a lounge area too. The park is quiet and is like a natural bird reserve: I have never seen and heard so many different varieties of birds! There are bush and estuary walks straight off the camp as it is located in the Pounawea scenic reserve and these walks are really nice too. Lots of wild flowers too...It's also a perfect spot to explore the Catlins so all in all a brilliant experience and one I will do again if I ever come back to NZ. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireaGemenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    16
    7
    2
    5
See reviews for
12
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

we had a great stay, up to our last night, when people arrived with dogs (we love dogs we have two of our own) that werent on leashes and running around lifting their legs close by, not a thing i like to smell. The toilet an shower blocks could do with more hooks around basins to hang towels instead of putting them on floor or on wet bench

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Darlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Hello guys we have a stict dog policy re dogs no barking and on a lesh and only aproved breeds.I only give one warning and it has to be removed from the camp.i am sorry this happened to you please tell a camp owner if you are not happy so they can do somthing about it and you can enjoy you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just 5km from the Catlins scenic highway, this camp is right on the estuary that drains the Calin's lake.

Good, clean facilities, friendly staff.

A bush walk in original Catlins forest starts right at the edge of the campground.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We used this place to set up tent while traveling through Catlins. There were many nice, grass and flat spots to choose from. There's waterfront next to camp and interesting bush walk. Facilities are spacious and there was everything we needed - well equipped kitchen, leisure room with fireplace (great thing in the evening, in March), clean showers and bathrooms, laundry room (coins). There's massive amount of birds flying around and they are quite noisy. For bivouacking we highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PiotrNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

What a wee gem of a genuine Kiwi camp. Right on the waterfront, magnificent birdsong to awaken us. It is cold in May but the showers/toilets are heated which took the edge off, and there is a small wall heater in the cabin which does the same. An excellent old open fire at one end of the kitchen was continually being replenished with dry wood the night we were there, and we enjoyed sitting around the fire getting to know our fellow travellers. No problems with any of the facilities at all. The only thing we could have done with was a cheese grater and a couple more tea-towels in the kitchen - minor details! Our dog - who slept in the car - was welcome in the camp. What a lovely place and good value. We look forward to returning soon. Thank you.

PS. Pet owners, please have the courtesy to pick up your dogs' poos so we responsible people who like to take our dog on road trips can continue to enjoy being welcomed around our country.
PPS. Good vege omelettes at the Lumberjack Cafe in nearby Owaka too, and an excellent wee museum. Teapot Land fun as well!

Room Tip: Loved the waterfront cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Yhank guys i have only had to pick some up twice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stop number two on our road trip. We had booked 10 weeks in advance as thought it would be busy with easter and it was. Our booking had been stuffed up but thankfully we had the presence of mind to call and ask if we could come a day early after a shocker of a stay elsewhere. What a lovely and accommodating man who quickly rectified their booking error and popped us out the back with an extension lead as we had booked for power. We had a couple of problems with power surges but nothing like some the dodgy wiriing we were to find in Tekapo later in our trip. At least the leads here were properly isolated. Back to these guys, a very busy camp, few issues with water in the showers but what impressed us was that the Managers did their best to quickly try and fix matters as they arose. Our site was large, green and so relaxing with constant birdsong. Great to see kids having a blast in the wide open spaces. Only aggravating noise was outside camp with a ripping party at an adjoining property on the last night. We really enjoyed our stay with the beach, estuary and walks so close. A real wee gem in the Catlins. If you like being amongst nature this is a great place to unwind. If you go at holiday periods then expect it to be busy.

Room Tip: If you go at holiday periods then expect it to be busy and jam-packed..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenn M, Manager at Pounawea Motor Camp, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hello guys glad you enjoyed your stay i heard the noise as well and followed the sound unbeliveably it was 20km away catlins music festival the sound traveled down the valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
137 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked the refurbished 100 year old "old school house" which is actually the size of a smaller standard cabin (small bedroom with double bed and two bunks joined with a small kitchen and eating area and verandah). Don't be fooled by the size. It's OK for a couple of adults and two kids, but not more. There are numerous excellent camping sites.The best thing about the motor camp is it's superb setting backing on to a sandy tidal estuary on one side and a superb enclave of Catlins rainforest on the other (with an excellent walk starting directly at the camp). The owners seem friendly enough. Showers are in the main facilities block, however there could be a long wait if the camp is busy. The school house has its own kitchenette and linen is provided and towels can be hired for a few dollars. Mobile coverage is limited - no Vodafone and 2 bars on Telecom. The motor camp also has wireless internet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
2.4 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
2.3 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
7.4 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
1.0 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pounawea Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounawea Motor Camp

Property: Pounawea Motor Camp
Address: Park Lane, Owaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Owaka
Also Known As:
Pounawea Motor Camp Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing