We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Accommodation and cafe a great find!”
Review of Catlins Cafe

Catlins Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Owaka
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm and friendly dining experience. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner using the freshest ingredients, home style cooking and generous servings. For those wanting a quick option we also offer traditional NZ Takeaways including Fish, Chips and Burgers
Cleveland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Accommodation and cafe a great find!”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Interestingly we had booked a batch not far away (travelling with parents) this turned out to be unsuitable and thankfully this place was available. It's a 2 bed apartment at the rear of the cafe/restaurant. Very newly modernised and well kitted out. We were greeted warmly and nothing was too much trouble. The soundproof between the rooms / kitchen etc was not the best but the property provided a great stay for 2 nights, extremely clean and comfortable and plenty of parking which was great as we had 2 cars. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you very much for the review, very glad we could add some value to your holiday, enjoy your time in our lovely country!
Cheers,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    55
    21
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly Folk and Great Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

After ordering we sat near the fireplace (no fire as it was January) and were promptly engaged in conversation with the locals. Our food arrived very quickly and was beautifully presented, fresh, hot and above all tasty. Lovely staff; pity we were just passing through.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Those are very kind comments thank you. The couches and fireplace are popular in the winter!
Cheers,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanneroo, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“On a rainy day......”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Whoop de do! What a friendly place! The guy behind the counter greeted us as if we were old friends such was his tone and emphasis. We have alwatys said Southland is the friendliest province in New Zealand. This place has a massive menu catering for all tastes and allergies. The informality of the seating and tables give the place an atmosphere that is so refreshing - only in a country cafe. The wood burner was a popular hang out place where locals and visitors alike mixed around the fireplace.
The food was very good and the speed it was prepared and served was breathtakingly fast. The presentation of the food on the plate was most attractive and added to the eating experience here. Once partaken of their food customers appeared reluctant to leave the warmth of the fireplace and the vibe of the place. Many, who were there when we arrived, were still there after we had eaten and vacated to continue our journey to Invercargill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rakiura1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Wow, thank you for your very kind words. Yes the fireplace and couches are a popular spot on the odd rainy day we have!
Cheers,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good gluten free options”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great coffee, yummy gluten free options, friendly staff and internet...Its all good! A nicer seating area outdoors would be great.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, yes we do like to offer GF and V options and we do change them regularly. You must have been sitting at the tables at the front of the cafe, Agree a little dated, however we do have a big outdoor garden area down the side of the cafe that you may have missed. Perhaps next time?
Cheers,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Peninsula, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We called in here twice in our time in the Catlins, relaxing on the vintage sofas and chairs in front of the cosy wood burner. This is a good place to hang out when it's raining. They've got good wi fi (Owaka's the last chance for reception before you reach Fortrose). The staff are friendly and my salads and chips were great.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Yes we do make a good place to escape the rain, it's a shame we had to have the fire on in summer though...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catlins Cafe also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Southland Region, South Island

Been to Catlins Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing