We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catlins Cafe

Catlins Cafe
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Owaka
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: European, Cafe, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm and friendly dining experience. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner using the freshest ingredients, home style cooking and generous servings. For those wanting a quick option we also offer traditional NZ Takeaways including Fish, Chips and Burgers
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

After a lot of travel we decided to enjoy dinner here. What a treat. Really delightul young girl with a great career in customer service coming her way. Very helpful young people, sblings we thought. All so very bright and cheerful, great meal all served with a big heart and a big smile.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mandy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for your comments Mandy. I'm pleased to hear we were friendly and the food was good! I have passed on your comments to everyone thank you.

Cheers,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    53
    21
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch after a lovely drive through the Catlins. The food was prompt and very tasty. The service could have been better in the way of friendliness. A lot of visitors travel through this scenic route and I would like to think that they receive a warmer welcome. It doesn't take much to put a smile on your face when greeting your customer. Would visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Gidday, I'm sorry to hear we weren't on our best form for your visit but glad to hear you enjoyed your meals. Thanks for the feedback.

Cheers,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish in Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best food in the Catlins!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

I didn't have high hopes of finding a gem like this in the Catlins but WOW!!! My meal was one if the best if not the best of our entire South Island trip - all local ingredients organic, perfectly combined, freshly cooked with love & care. They apologized my chicken would take longer than expected as the chef wasn't happy with how it turned out, a lesser establishment would have served it. If we were staying in the area this is the only place we would have eaten - thank you.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AoifeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I have also passed on your comments to the chef as well! Glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Cheers,

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch on our way to Dunedin and were fed to bursting. Simple food plenty of it and very reasonably priced. We liked it that much we went back the next day for breakfast and had lovely French toast with bacon and the best iced mocha ever.
Great value and very friendly.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Withnail_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Glad to hear we looked after you. Southern hospitality means leaving satisfied!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Owaka isn't exactly on top of the "favorite places to stay" list, but when done with amazing views of the The Catlins and heading north to Otago or east to Dunedin, The Catlins Cafe is definitely worth visiting. Coffee is very good, ladies behind the counter - super friendly, full breakfast - generous. The interior is nice, with simple tables and comfortable sofas. They also have live music once in a while. Additionally, when ordering for over 10$, you get the Internet connection for free. There is a supermarket on the other side of the street (with ATM accepting local cards only), so you may want to use the opportunity and resupply.

Helpful?
Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Again thank you. We are very proud of the folk who work with us to make everyone's visit a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catlins Cafe also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Owaka, Otago Region
Southland Region, South Island
 

Been to Catlins Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing