We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth stopping by!”
Review of Catlins Cafe

Catlins Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Owaka
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A warm and friendly dining experience. We offer breakfast, lunch and dinner using the freshest ingredients, home style cooking and generous servings. For those wanting a quick option we also offer traditional NZ Takeaways including Fish, Chips and Burgers
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Owaka isn't exactly on top of the "favorite places to stay" list, but when done with amazing views of the The Catlins and heading north to Otago or east to Dunedin, The Catlins Cafe is definitely worth visiting. Coffee is very good, ladies behind the counter - super friendly, full breakfast - generous. The interior is nice, with simple tables and comfortable sofas. They also have live music once in a while. Additionally, when ordering for over 10$, you get the Internet connection for free. There is a supermarket on the other side of the street (with ATM accepting local cards only), so you may want to use the opportunity and resupply.

Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Again thank you. We are very proud of the folk who work with us to make everyone's visit a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Catlins Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 137 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast and were not disappointed. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was very good. The staff were very helpful on giving hints on the best things to do in the area and the various walks available. Free internet was available for anyone spending more than NZ $10. Stop in here and experience real Catlin hospitality.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SVPromise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you, you are very kind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the Café's 2 bedroom apartment, which is a well-kept secret as you have no idea from the front, that there is such a spacious and nice apartment at the back. After our drive to Nugget Point, nearly running out of petrol, we came back just before closing time at 20.45. as we had no energy to cook in the well-appointed kitchen, we ordered hamburgers and chips (fries). The young, enthusiastic chef made these for us and brought them over to the apartment, so we could relax! Great service and a place we can recommend. Wished we could have stayed a week!

Thank Virginie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thank you for your comments. It is a wee home away from home in the unit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was our second time visiting Owaka in two years and we hoped the food had improved - sadly it hasn't. I had a very ordinary lasagne reheated in the microwave and served with what tasted like microwave chips. My wife had a quiche that she described as giving quiche a bad name. On the plus side the cafe is friendly and comfortable.

Thank OMM0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Hello Folks,
Thank you for your feedback and I do apologise for your dining experience with us. Please allow me to offer you a complimentary dinner and a nights accommodation with us as part of our apology. We do pride ourselves on producing good quality food at The Catlins Cafe but it would appear we have fallen short on this occasion which concerns me. If you could contact me through our website should you wish to take up my offer.
Again sincere apologies.
Steve Clarke
Catlins Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was the only place open when we were looking for a place to eat dinner. We were very pleasantly suprised by the quality of the food. The service was some of the best that we experienced in New Zealand and prices were good. Very friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwakaSteve, Owner at Catlins Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments and glad we could be of service!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Catlins Cafe also viewed

Owaka, Otago Region
Kaka Point, Otago Region
 
Owaka, Otago Region
Southland Region, South Island
 

Been to Catlins Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing