We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude”
Review of Catlins Area Motel

Catlins Area Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Catlins Area Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very rude”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Having prebooked we arrived at 2pm when the office was supposed to be open. We had to get changed for a wedding and leave by 2:40. When the motelier arrived 25 minutes late she couldn't care less and was very rude to us.
While waiting we talked to other guests who had a similar experience.
We have never been treated like this at a motel and will never go back or recomend to anyone else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Although in a quiet location, was within easy walking distance of the town's facilities. The accommodation was clean, spacious, value for money with helpful staff. We recommend trying the Lumberjack Hotel in town for a meal, well furnished, massive log fire and lovely food.

Room Tip: Difficult to find, but worth the search.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was very pleased with the "Catlins Area Motel". The rooms are very clean, bright and roomy, with cable tv, ample parking, etc. The only thing missing was internet access, but it is located in a very remote area. Lastly, it was priced well in comparison to similar places I've been staying at.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daved G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This is a great motel - clean, well appointed and an excellent design. The service was friendly, most helpful, and efficient.
I would happily stay there again, and am very happy to recommend it.
Adrienne, Auckland, NZ

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 24Adrienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

A small but very clean and modern complex, very warm and comfortable in a good location off the main street, with next to no traffic noise whatsoever. A great nights sleep, and the radiator heating makes it toasty warm.

An undercover carport was definitely a bonus which was greatly appreciated.

Also we enjoyed a great meal at the Lumberjack Restaurant which the lovely owner/operator recommended to us.

Would definitely stay again, everything was just great.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellovin5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Looks like a pretty standard place although we didn't actually end up staying here as we had a date mix up and the person we delt with (presumably owner / operator) was so unneccessarily rude we didn't bother going back for our prepaid night.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mightymighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
7.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
2.9 mi away
Catlins Newhaven Holiday Park
7.3 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
12.4 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
0.1 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Area Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Area Motel

Property: Catlins Area Motel
Address: 35 Ryley Street, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Catlins Area Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catlins Area Motel Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing