We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catlins Retreat Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed with Robbie at The Catlins Retreat Guest House when visiting Owaka for a 50th birthday party during Canterbury Anniversary weekend. The room was bright, clean and spacious and had a clean functional ensuite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and our host, Robbie was charming and helpful. We have no hesitation recommending travelers to The Catlins to stay with Robbie and when we return we will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thanks Brent, It's nice to meet nice people, and also your friends down here are a couple of neat people to. All the best.
Robbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

We travelled down to Owaka for a friends 50th and stayed in Robbie's B&B "Catlins Retreat Guesthouse". The accommodation was chosen for us so we didn't know what to expect but we were very pleasantly surprised. Robbie was friendly and welcoming and our room was spacious, scrupulously clean and nicely presented.
We walked to the Community Hall that night, but not before Robbie noted that it was starting to look a bit bleak outside and gave us his business card to ring him if it was raining later and we needed a ride home! What fantastic service.
When we come to visit next time, we'd happily stay with Robbie again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fleur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thanks Fleur, Sorry about the delay in responding as I've had trouble conecting to the site but all go now. It was great to have you stay and the music at the party was so good I could hear it from here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Robbie is an exceptional host who goes out of his way to make you feel at home. Robbie made reservations at the local restaurant for us, checked the tide timings for our visit to the cathedral caves the next morning, and even had a nice warm fire lit for us in the lounge upon our return from dinner. We spent a lovely evening having a good yarn with Robbie and some old friends over a few cuppas.

This restored historic home is very homely and immaculately clean. The beds are extremely comfy and the rooms and bathrooms spacious. We cannot recommend this place more as the best place to stay if you are in the area and looking for a good night's rest. We slept soundly and enjoyed the morning's spread of continental breakfast that included juice, coffee, fruits, yoghurt, cereal, bread and a range of spreads.

Thanks Robbie for being such a wonderful host and for making us feel so at home. We certainly hope to visit again!







  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilingt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Thanks you guys, it was great to have you and I'm glad you enjoyed our area.
Thanks Robbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Robbie and Noels are fantastic hosts and bent over backwards to accommodate the needs of our crew - we were there to shoot a documentary. When we had early starts Robbie was up with a cup of tea ready and organised breakfast and lunch for us to match our dietary needs. As we were there in the off season he also organised one of the local cafes to stay open for us as we returned to Owaka from location after it normally closed. Both Robbie and Noels have extensive local knowledge and helped us with selecting locations and what the best times to go to them were.

All in all it was a great stay and I plan to go back with my family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nardo-Refried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks very much for staying with us and for the whole crew while filming in the Catlins.It was great to have you all and to see and hear all the ancient Maori instruments and there sounds to make up your doco on Richard and his dedication to preserveing these sounds and arts.
I hope the rest of your filming went well after you left us and can't wait to see the finished item.
You're welcome anytime and remember,All roads lead to Owaka and the Catlins.
Cheers Robbie and Noel's [Noeline]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I stayed here for two nights in June and loved it. Robbie and Noels have a lovely warm and welcoming home and were the most attentive hosts. Robbie had given us lots of ideas about what to see even before we arrived and gave us plenty of hints about local cafes and attractions once we settled in. Our night time chats with Robbie and Noels were a highlight of our stay as was the lovely open fire in the lounge.
On our first day my son, an avid photographer, realised he had left the plate that attaches his camera to the tripod at home. We explained our problem to Robbie who after attempting to source a replacement part in town took the camera out to his workshop and with real Kiwi ingenuity worked out a makeshift way to attach the camera to the tripod. Thanks to Robbie we were able to get some great shots the next day. Also a special thanks to Noels for the beautiful meal that she made for us one evening.This is a great place to stay but it’s Robbie and Noels that make it really special. I wouldn't have missed staying here for the world and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Catlins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for the great review,I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's amazing what kiwi blokes have got in thier sheds, and I hope you got your brother back for borrowing that missing part.
Cheers Robbie and Noel's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed with Robbie, Noels (& Jade) for two nights & we couldn't have had a warmer welcome. The rooms are really comfortable, the guest lounge/dining room is great with a wonderful open fire. The breakfast was generous - I doubt you could leave the table hungry!
Great local knowledge and helpful with where to go to see wildlife and scenic attractions.
Ask Robbie to break out the guitar for a good old sing along!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks Nikki and R.W. Great to have you down from the Hinterland.and to be able to see a few sites while dodging winter showers. Thanks for the review and remember, All Roads leed to Owaka.
Cheers Robbie and Noels [Noeline]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We loved the Catlins Retreat. Robbie and Noles are truly welcoming, kind people and they run an excellent B and B. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well laid out, and everything is very well organized. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and Robbie went out of his way to suggest activities telling us tide times in advance for the cathedral caves (which were so much fun). We really highly recommend this special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks very much for the nice review,it makes our job a lot easier with people who enjoy what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
0.2 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
0.1 mi away
Catlins Area Motel
Catlins Area Motel
#2 of 6 in Owaka
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Cardno's Accommodation
Cardno's Accommodation
#1 of 6 in Kaka Point
79 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
7.3 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Retreat Guest House

Address: 27 Main Road | Catlins, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Bed&Breakfast in the Old Doctors Residance and Practise, built in the year 1900. Your host Robbie Hodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Retreat Guest House Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing