We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a gem!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catlins Retreat Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I stayed here for two nights in June and loved it. Robbie and Noels have a lovely warm and welcoming home and were the most attentive hosts. Robbie had given us lots of ideas about what to see even before we arrived and gave us plenty of hints about local cafes and attractions once we settled in. Our night time chats with Robbie and Noels were a highlight of our stay as was the lovely open fire in the lounge.
On our first day my son, an avid photographer, realised he had left the plate that attaches his camera to the tripod at home. We explained our problem to Robbie who after attempting to source a replacement part in town took the camera out to his workshop and with real Kiwi ingenuity worked out a makeshift way to attach the camera to the tripod. Thanks to Robbie we were able to get some great shots the next day. Also a special thanks to Noels for the beautiful meal that she made for us one evening.This is a great place to stay but it’s Robbie and Noels that make it really special. I wouldn't have missed staying here for the world and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Catlins.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks for the great review,I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It's amazing what kiwi blokes have got in thier sheds, and I hope you got your brother back for borrowing that missing part.
Cheers Robbie and Noel's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Catlins Retreat Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed with Robbie, Noels (& Jade) for two nights & we couldn't have had a warmer welcome. The rooms are really comfortable, the guest lounge/dining room is great with a wonderful open fire. The breakfast was generous - I doubt you could leave the table hungry!
Great local knowledge and helpful with where to go to see wildlife and scenic attractions.
Ask Robbie to break out the guitar for a good old sing along!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks Nikki and R.W. Great to have you down from the Hinterland.and to be able to see a few sites while dodging winter showers. Thanks for the review and remember, All Roads leed to Owaka.
Cheers Robbie and Noels [Noeline]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We loved the Catlins Retreat. Robbie and Noles are truly welcoming, kind people and they run an excellent B and B. The rooms were comfortable, clean and well laid out, and everything is very well organized. The atmosphere is relaxed and friendly and Robbie went out of his way to suggest activities telling us tide times in advance for the cathedral caves (which were so much fun). We really highly recommend this special place.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessldv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Thanks very much for the nice review,it makes our job a lot easier with people who enjoy what we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Arrived for two nights, but stayed for four, it was so good! Robbie and Noels are two lovely people who cannot do enough to make your stay enjoyable. Our ensuite room was high-ceilinged, very spacious and beautifully clean. They joined us in the guest lounge area for a drink and a chat and to advise on what to do and where, and to loan books about the local area. Robbie has many interesting tales to tell and is a mine of information about South Island in general. Good recommendation to eat at the Lumberjack Cafe in an evening, but Noels also served up a delicious spread herself one evening. Good continental breakfast provided with a range of cereals and fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thanks for the great reveiw, This Tripadvisor site is proving a great tool for getting our B&B
out there and it helps us a lot when we have nice people stay with us and enjoy our great old house and what the Catlins has to offer.
Thanks Robbie and Noeline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our one night stay at Catlin's Retreat was lovely. Robbie and Noels are a great couple and we enjoyed a lovely dinner, chatting with them. They were very welcoming, making us feel at home, nothing too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and there is a comfortable guest lounge to sit, read or just have a cuppa..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

It makes it easy when we get to meet and enjoy good company. Thanks Robbie and Noeline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our 3 night stay was made memorable by the wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble to ensure our comfort and enjoyment of the magnificent Catlins area of Southland Nz.
The room was huge, the beds extra comfy and the ambience of the house so welcoming every time we returned from an adventure.
Robbie tells the best stories and Noel's tomatoes are legendary.
WIll we return? Most definitely
Be sure not to miss the big seal lions at Cannibal Bay, Robbie gives great local info about the wildlife and what's not to miss.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks you guys,was great to have your company should make it to the Gold Coast come Winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We were fairly late arriving in Owaka with nowhere to stay, so it was lovely to receive such a warm welcome from Robbie at Catlins Retreat. The bedroom and bathroom were spacious, warm and very clean and comfortable. Robbie's advice and help with booking a meal, and his knowledge of the area was also very welcome. I was careless enough to leave a favourite bracelet behind when we left, so emailed them when we got home, not really sure whether it was there or the place before, so was delighted when Robbie replied. It was duly posted to me in England for which I am very grateful. We shall long remember our trip to the Catlins area with pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thanks Eilleen for the nice review,and it was no trouble to forward on your bracelet that meant so much to you. Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
0.2 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
55 reviews
7.2 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
7.2 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Surat Bay Lodge
Surat Bay Lodge
#2 of 2 in Surat Bay
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Retreat Guest House

Address: 27 Main Road | Catlins, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Bed&Breakfast in the Old Doctors Residance and Practise, built in the year 1900. Your host Robbie Hodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Retreat Guest House Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing