We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catlins Retreat Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Preston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had been looking forward so much to our visit to the Catlins and to seeing the animals in their beautiful habitat, I was beginning to worry that we had set our sights too high and we would end up being so disappointed. We need not have worried our visit was fantastic. it got off to a great start when we met two wonderful people called Robbie and Noels They just give you a great big New Zealand welcome and you can only feel so at home. The house itself is an old house (very early 1900s) but so full of character. We had a very large room which had a king size double, which was oh so comfortable and a single bed yet was so spacious. It also had a large ensuite in spotless condition. There is a large guest lounge where we used to gather for our last drink of the day. We were always joined by Robbie and Noels There is nothing about the Catlins that they do not know and Robbie is a superb Raconteur and has wonderful tales of Otago and the Catlins. We were pointed in the way of excellent viewing places for seals, sea lions, yellow eyed penguins and hector dolphins. Robbie pointed us in the direction of the Lumberjack cafe which served excellent food. This was our best experience of our 10 week visit to New Zealand and was made by two wonderful people Robbie and Noels. Thanks to you both.

Room Tip: Both ensuite rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeAlpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
It makes our job easier when nice people join us in our home and mother nature turns on the vista the wildlife and the wheather.
Thanks Robbie and Noeline [Noels]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the minute we arrived we welcomed so warmly into Robbie and Noel's beautiful villa. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated with a gorgeous mix of antiques and modern. Bathroom spotless and so well equipped. Noel booked us a restaurant and we walked the short walk to village. When we returned there was a real fire biscuits lovely coffee and beer if wanted.
Both Noel and Robbie advised us where to go and the next day we saw Hector's dolphins in the waves in shallow water. We saw a sea lion on beach and yellow eyed penguins on the evening. The Catlins are amazing for wildlife. We had lost our ipad at the previous motel in Wanaka and they helped us ring police and much more they even got their sister in law to bring it for us when it was found. I cannot recommend them enough - oh yes and surprise cake for my husbands birthday. Thank you so much. Oh and best bed ever!

Room Tip: Front bay double bed so comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Great to have your company and that the saga of the missing !pad worked out fine in the end.
Cheers Robbie and Noeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in December and were thrilled at our lovely room and bathroom and all the facilities that wonderful host Robbie offered. He and Noels were so helpful and kind. This is a great home and a great place to explore the Catlins from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thanks for the nice review,so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Robbie and Noeline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Spring, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Catlins Retreat is a large historic home. The spacious rooms are beautiful with high ceilings, comfortable beds and are very clean. Every need is taken care of from heated blankets to a cozy fire in the guest lounge to a great breakfast. Host Robbie, shows his passion for this beautiful area of New Zealand by providing detailed information on the must see places. We were sorry we were only staying for one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for that.Glad you enjoyed the B&B and the area and what its got to offer.
Some times we get let down by the weather but the scenery never changes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

It's a pity that there are only 5 stars to rate our stay in Owaka. The hospitality and friendship shown by both Robbie and Nolls was superb. Everything was comforable and clean - we couldn't have wished for more.

Room Tip: Room 2 has onsuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks D & Ci for such a nice review.It's nice to know that we please our guests and wer'e heading in the right direction after re starting the B&B three years ago.Thanks also for you're interest in my Classic Cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went only for one night, but it was probably the best place we stayed at in entire New Zealand! Robbie, the host, is a very nice and helpful person full of stories and great recommendations. We would definitely come back and stay longer in this beatiful B& B

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benni_Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thanks for the great reveiw,we just try to make the stay enjoyable for all.
I'm glad you liked our home and what the Catlins has to offer.
Cheers Robbie and Noeline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The best welcome around and hosts who are truly interested in their guests, Catlins Retreat is spacious, spotless and superbly comfortable. It is a large historic house oozing colonial charm, large bedrooms with comfortable and warm beds.

No being shoved into your bedroom with no where to sit apart from the bed like many other B&B's is a real treat. Robbie and Noels invite you to share their toasty fire, tea and cake! Any questions regarding what to see/do are met with loads of enthusiastic suggestions for this interesting area of the SE coast.

There is a second sitting/dining room with extra TV, books, tea and coffee facilities lovely to curl up in the huge armchairs and relax.

We enjoyed a fabulous roast dinner with Robbie and Noels and recommend the 'eat in option' if its possible.

Quite frankly it will be very hard to beat Catlins Retreat.

Room Tip: All rooms (3) are huge but still warm and have electric blankets and heating. 2 Doubles have an ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie H, Owner at Catlins Retreat Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
thanks for your kind words about Catlins Retreat.It's always a pleasure to have nice people stay and to learn about there country and there travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
6.6 mi away
Mohua Park Cottages
Mohua Park Cottages
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
29 reviews
7.3 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
7.2 mi away
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Catlins Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Retreat Guest House

Property: Catlins Retreat Guest House
Address: 27 Main Road | Catlins, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Bed&Breakfast in the Old Doctors Residance and Practise, built in the year 1900. Your host Robbie Hodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Retreat Guest House Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing