We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and comfortable B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Owaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Catlins Retreat Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Owaka B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and comfortable B&B”
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Very nice and comfortable old fashion B&B. The rooms are large and very comfortable and the hospitality of the couple who runs this place was without limits.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zafririt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
74
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We had just one night in the Catlins, a very beautiful and quieter region.
Robbi,the fantastic host ,took care a lot. He provided us with a lot of insider tips,where to go and what to see...very helpful. We had a great time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
various
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

Other reviews say it all - large airy, well appointed rooms. Every facility, friendly well-informed host, good restaurant up the road, very handy for all the sights, beaches, penguins, seal lions, rugged coast line. Would be the only place I would stay in Owaka.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vailskiier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2010

The rather modest appearance of this 100 year old house is misleading. Inside, it has been lovingly restored with great thought for the convenience of guests. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed and most comfortable. We luxuriated in the comfort of the sitting/breakfast room with its open wood-fire lit for us on chilly evenings. The host Robbie is a great character and the friendly atmosphere and our conversations with him made a major contribution to the pleasure of our stay. This proved to be an excellent centre for a few days exploring the lovely Catlins.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank wflbigwood_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinto
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this guesthouse during the last week of November. It was one of the main surprises of our 1 month holidays in New Zealand. Owaka is a small town, but located very conveniently in the center-east part of The Catlins, very close to places like the Kaka Point, the Nugget Point, etc... where it is very easy to find wild life: penguins, sea lions, etc.. The house is very nice, and the owner, Robbie, was very charming and helpful. We enjoyed very much in this house, a pity we only booked one night. Robbie helped us with all the staff, recommendations in the zone, places to get dinner, etc.. And the breakfast was great !! About the house, this is the "old" Owaka doctor's house, and it looks like you go back to many years ago. In general is very nice and very comfortable. Real value for money. There are no many accomodations in The Catlins, and I think this could be a good recommendation for anyone travelling there in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMPPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Owaka
0.2 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thomas's Catlins Lodge And Camp Ground
7.2 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Catlins River Ridge Retreat
7.3 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
6.6 mi away
Catlins Mohua Park
Catlins Mohua Park
#1 of 1 in Tawanui
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catlins Retreat Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catlins Retreat Guest House

Property: Catlins Retreat Guest House
Address: 27 Main Road | Catlins, Owaka 9535, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Owaka
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Owaka
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Bed&Breakfast in the Old Doctors Residance and Practise, built in the year 1900. Your host Robbie Hodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Catlins Retreat Guest House Southland Region/Owaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing