We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Needed a base for a freind,s wedding and we booked this place . Just want to say how nice it was! Room very nice , a good night sleep and the next morning had a great breakfast. So thanks to the peple who run this place , very freindly always there to help and thankyou!. Great location we left are car at the hotel of the wedding so it was a half hour walk at 7:30 in the morning and must say its up there with one of the best walks we have had ! Lovely place lovely b&b and will return for longer !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DANNYANDSTACEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 358 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

I've stayed in Elm House on two separate occasions, in 2 different rooms. This place is amazing. Mark and Anne are such an amazing welcoming couple, you feel you have just stepped into a home, away from home. And what an exquisite taste! Each room with its own individual style, combines elegance and taste with practicality , comfort and convenience, a really difficult balance to reach. The rooms are sound proof , beds sooooo comfortable , with a fridge and coffee making facilities, spotless clean and fresh.......what else does anyone need?! And the little things that count........chochlates on the pillow, the cuddly toy dog in the room (brilliant idea), the excellent choice of teas and coffees in the room, the selection of DVDs to borrow.....and the list can go on and on and on! Their breakfast is also great! A large choice of cold and hot breakfasts, all made to order and very fresh. I got lots of tips from Mark and Anne, and they were all wonderful tips....little scenic roads, nice places to eat etc. They are an extremely caring , helpful couple and being around them was an absolute pleasure! Definetely going back again!

Room Tip: Whichever room you pick......just enjoy! They each have a special taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rabulmagd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed in room 2, the beds had been made in to one king size bed as we'd requested. Room is at the front of the house with view down the street, not much traffic noise so had good, peaceful sleep. Room has everything you need including reading lights to tea/coffee tray, little fridge, plenty of coat hangers for our 2 night stay. En suite was fine, everything you needed neatly fitted in. Room and en suite had nice touches that showed the owners have really taken their time to make you feel at home.
Breakfast was superb! We chose the full cumbrian breakfast with black pudding, it was well presented and really hot, clearly just cooked ready for you. The cards to choose your breakfast the night before was a great idea. The coffee was good, nice fresh filter coffee.
A great guest house with everything you need, and a great base to explore the lakes. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in room 4 at this excellent B & B. I can not really think of anything negative to say about our room and the breakfast we received. When you arrive in your room and think if I was to run a B & B it could look like this you know you will be happy stopping there. From a lovely décor , an amazing bathroom, mini fridge, a good range of tea/coffee & biscuits , a DAB radio ( for a Husband who is a mega Planet Rock fan this is worth 5 * alone ) and then to open up the wardrobe and find a fan. We knew that the Owners have been considerate enough to think of almost everything. The breakfast was really good a good choice of fruit , muffins . cereals and juices and the hot breakfast was excellent ( and thank you for taking the time and trouble to offer vegetarian sausages - we have been to many hotels who do not go to this trouble). Also the Owner of the B & B came into the breakfast room to see how we all were and if we had enjoyed our breakfast he was very friendly, We will definitely return on our next visit to Ullswater and would happily recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pee783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

we stayed at the elm house while visiting relatives and can honestly say what a lovely place it is . mark and anne are very welcoming and lovely hosts . the room we stayed in was excellent . the bed was so comfortable that i slept a full 9 hours every night .the breakfast is the best we have had anywhere . loads to choose from and i tried a different one everyday . 1st class . ive read a few bad reviews on here and i must have stayed at the wrong place .lovely location too . my only bad point is that mark and anne refused to sell me their guest house and i cant blame them for that . keep up the good work we will defiantly be coming back . well done ... terry and christine

Room Tip: room 5 is lovely 4 was great too didnt see the others but im sure they are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telthecabromford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a vey enjoyable stay at Elm House thanks to Anne and Mark's gentle welcome. They have made their guesthouse very cosy and their attention to details is much appreciated (DVDs available). Breakfast is excellent with fresh products. We wished the surrounding pubs would serve the same quality of food as Elm House. Anyway really nice stay in this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Read all the other reviews, Amazing how some of the rooms look
We stayed one night in an ensuite room at the front, so nice view, nice people, nice breakfast.
Its ensuite so long as you recognise that if you turn over too close to the side of the bed in the night you could be in the wash hand basin.!
Thats OK if you are thirsty, but not our idea of ensuite.

Room 3 was small for a double. tiles in the shower needed replacing.

Maybe for £80 , thats what Pooley Bridge has to offer

Room Tip: Dont go for Room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colin085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
418 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,701 reviews
16.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: $127 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing