We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast. Very Comfortable and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights in room 2. I must admit my initial reaction to both the bedroom and public areas was disappointment as I thought it a bit dated. But so much attention to detail had been paid both in the bedroom and at breakfast that I could overlook any shortcomings in decor. The breakfast was simply excellent - full of healthy fresh produce, well cooked, plenty of choice and good coffee. We even had our flask filled free of charge on both mornings! The bedroom was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable king size bed and good quality linens. The ensuite bathroom was small but adequate. The hospitality tray was excellent and included a corkscrew and wine glasses. Loved the chocolate mint on the pillow. Ann and Mark were friendly and attentive hosts and all in all we had a very enjoyable stay. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginny0150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write your review. We acknowledge your comments about the public areas and whilst we have a more contemporary style in the bedrooms we chose to keep to a more traditional style in the public areas as we feel this is more in keeping with the age of the house. We're really glad that you had a lovely stay and that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast and hospitality, hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2012

Difficult one this. A lovely place, great location, quirky comfortable room with some lovely touches, friendly owners and great breakfast. The only area I feel uncertain about was the price which was high for mid week in comparison to other guest houses of similar quality we have stayed at in the Lakes and sadly this would probably put us off staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roughguideLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your review. We would just like to assure yourself and other readers that we regularly check and manage to keep our prices in line with other local B&B's even though we are the only B&B in this area to have achieved a 4* Silver Award. Prices do vary greatly within the Lakes due to location and are generally slightly more when staying in the National Park. We pride ourselves on the quality and choice of our breakfast and the attention to detail in all our rooms. From time to time we do have some fantastic special offers which are posted either on the website or in our new Guest Newsletter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Elm House for one night as part of a short break in the Lakes, having spent the day in Keswick. We had the family suite which is a double room, twin room and bathroom, with its own "front door" at the side of the house. Mark and Ann were kind enough to charge us slightly less than the advertised rate as there were three of us. Our 7 year old son was very impressed with having a room to himself!
The rooms were clean and very comfy as were the facilities as a whole. Mark and Ann were very welcoming and friendly and provided us with a wonderful breakfast before we checked out and headed off for a walk around Pooley Bridge and along the side of the lake.
A lovely visit, shame it was for just one night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie_collins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. Having travelled quite a bit ourselves with a child we designed the family suite to have the security of knowing your all in the same area but with the luxury of have separate rooms. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A last minute, one night (usually unheard of at weekends!) stay after a long walk from Ambleside to Pooley Bridge, Elm House was a welcome haven for our overnight stay before we walked back the following day.
Our deluxe room was lovely and the breakfast delicious!
Mark and Anne are friendly hosts and made us most welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it makes all our hard work worthwhile when we know that guests have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my mum and dad at the last minute. Mark called the following day to confirm an arrival time and also to say he was going to give them an upgraded room. My parents said the welcome was great even though they arrived early and that the room was beautiful with everything you needed as well as a lovely view. The only complaint was that the breakfast was too big :-) and very very tasty! Very clean, well located, easy to find and an overall lovely break. Thank you! Alan and Linda.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnlynda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi, thanks for your great review, I'm so glad your Mum and Dad loved it, I’ll take some credit for the breakfasts as it’s me that cooks but it's also down to using the best fresh and local ingredients.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Four of us spent four nights at Elm House. Probably the best and most welcoming BnB we've used. Clean, well-equipped rooms and wonderful breakfasts. Nothing too much trouble. Easy parking next to house. Recommend Pooley Bridge Inn, only 100 yards away, for good evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just arrived back from a two night stay with a friend (second stay) and again,love the place.Anne and Mark are perfect hosts and do everything to make your stay there a pleasant one.We arrived late due to traffic hold ups and they even suggested we eat first and get there afterwards (pubs stop serving food after 9 pm in P.Bridge)
Lovely,clean rooms.Wonderful location and as everyone else says "excellent breakfast".I recomend the fresh fruit salad followed by smoked salmon & scambled eggs!
A wonderful place to stay anytime,we both can't rate it highly enough.Excellent value.

Room Tip: A very popular place,leave yourself time to book the room you want, and make use of their website to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen11754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
434 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#4 of 11 in Penrith
935 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Glenridding Hotel
The Glenridding Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenridding
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Inn Pooley Bridge - A Thwaites Inn of Character
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: $111 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing