We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Relaxing stay after High Street!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

A last minute, one night (usually unheard of at weekends!) stay after a long walk from Ambleside to Pooley Bridge, Elm House was a welcome haven for our overnight stay before we walked back the following day.
Our deluxe room was lovely and the breakfast delicious!
Mark and Anne are friendly hosts and made us most welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review, it makes all our hard work worthwhile when we know that guests have enjoyed their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 370 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for my mum and dad at the last minute. Mark called the following day to confirm an arrival time and also to say he was going to give them an upgraded room. My parents said the welcome was great even though they arrived early and that the room was beautiful with everything you needed as well as a lovely view. The only complaint was that the breakfast was too big :-) and very very tasty! Very clean, well located, easy to find and an overall lovely break. Thank you! Alan and Linda.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnlynda16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkVause, Owner at 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Hi, thanks for your great review, I'm so glad your Mum and Dad loved it, I’ll take some credit for the breakfasts as it’s me that cooks but it's also down to using the best fresh and local ingredients.

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Four of us spent four nights at Elm House. Probably the best and most welcoming BnB we've used. Clean, well-equipped rooms and wonderful breakfasts. Nothing too much trouble. Easy parking next to house. Recommend Pooley Bridge Inn, only 100 yards away, for good evening meal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SilverVoyagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just arrived back from a two night stay with a friend (second stay) and again,love the place.Anne and Mark are perfect hosts and do everything to make your stay there a pleasant one.We arrived late due to traffic hold ups and they even suggested we eat first and get there afterwards (pubs stop serving food after 9 pm in P.Bridge)
Lovely,clean rooms.Wonderful location and as everyone else says "excellent breakfast".I recomend the fresh fruit salad followed by smoked salmon & scambled eggs!
A wonderful place to stay anytime,we both can't rate it highly enough.Excellent value.

Room Tip: A very popular place,leave yourself time to book the room you want, and make use of their website to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen11754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed at Elm House when my husband decided to compete in the local triathlon. He booked it via the internet and emailed Mark the owner to find out if we could have an early breakfast on the Sunday due to the race. The email was replied to quickly and on arrival we found out that Mark was competing in the race also! An extremely secure shed was provided for the bike and Mark also made us lovely porridge on the morning of the race, at 0630!! The room was lovely, very contemporary with a boutique feel. It was clean and had everything you could want, including a mini fridge with bottled water. I had serious bed throw envy!
The morning after the race we sampled the full English, which was lovely and kept me going all day!

The village is lovely with a good tea shop and a couple of nice pubs.

All in all if you want a nice weekend away with a friendly welcome and a comfortable bed, then this is the place for you!
thank you to Mark and Anne for the welcome and extra help X

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tribird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A gem of a place. Only fault we could find is gloss paint badly needs touching up in places very chipped spoils overall look but can be easily sorted and am sure is already on the plan. Thanks really enjoyed visit.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Brilliant stay owners very friendly, beautiful location,accommodation is of a very high standard in every aspect, decor and cleanliness,, breakfast was excellent.

Jones of middlesbrough

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.9 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
427 reviews
3.8 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
7.1 mi away
Best Western Glenridding Hotel
5.6 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms

Address: High Street | Elm House, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range: $106 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1863 is more than just another guest house. Owners Anne and Mark offer their guests the quality of a boutique hotel but with the homely welcome of a traditional B&B. A relaxed, friendly atmosphere encourages visitors to take time to unwind in comfortable surroundings, enjoy locally-sourced, seasonal dishes cooked up by our skilled chef before retiring to the bar for a night cap or to bed for restful sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 1863 Bar Bistro Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elm House Hotel Pooley Bridge
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms Pooley Bridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing