We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pooley Bridge Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Another Place, The Lake(Watermillock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Howtown Hotel(Howtown)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
171
98
56
47
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
98
56
47
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubchecking outfish and chipsfood was lovelynew ownerslarge portionsfour poster bedlasagnacan't faultlovely placeboth nightssteamersbalconymenudogvillagerobinsons
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
392 - 397 of 418 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed as an extended group for a birthday celebration and to do some walking.

The staff were friendly and (apart from breakfast) generally very efficient.

Rooms were nice - although ours was spoiled by the double-glazing units being full of condensation, which spoiled the view. A comfortable queen-sized bed.

Food is good pub fare, though breakfast was a bit of a disappointment.

Very dog-friendly - dogs allowed in 3 of the 8 bedrooms, plus the bar and eating area.

Be aware that there is a large passing trade of walkers and people from nearby campsites, so it tends to get very busy (particularly if it's raining and outside seats can't be used). Overall, if you want peace and quiet you'd be better staying somewhere else than Pooley Bridge anyway, the whole place gets very busy at times.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2009

arrived to an indifferent reception from the staff - had to queue as if going to the bar for a drink to gat anyones attention.
We were shown to a room which does not exist on the booklet at the top of the inn in the attic. The room was split into 2 sections one half had a norma ceiling and the other had a sloped roof. The 1st thing that i noticed that there was no blind on the velux window over the single bed where our son was to sleep - when i asked the girl who had shown us to the room where the blind was she could not answer us. Ah well we thought - its only for one night !!!!
We booked in for an evening meal - the service through out was appaling. I put this down the the fact that not one member of staff appeared to be over 20 and basically could not care less what we thought. Food quality was poor and i suspect the majority was microwaved. We had to ask on several occasions for knives, forks and spoons in order to eat.
After waiting 25 minutes for a coffee and not getting it despite asking twice we cancelled this and went to the room.
We decided that my son could not sleep in the single bed as he would wake up as soon as daylight broke so i drew the short straw and after banging my head several times i managed to locate the bed. There was no bedside table and there was no bulb in the ceiling light !!! -
Although the bedding was basically clean the throws, cushions and curtains in the main area were not clean and had a terrible smell. The curtain in the main room had to be seen to be believed. It came around the bed like a curtain on a hospital ward - not long enough to tuck behind the headboard but just the right length to waft in your face annoyingly, thus making the bedside lights which were screwed to the wall pointless.
There was also no soap provided and only 2 hand towels and 2 large towels between the three of us.
I could go on for hours about the room and the quality of the other guests and the smoking going on in the non smoking rooms and the fact that i could hear what people were doing in the rooms next to ours.

To cap my review off I would say that at this "hotel" I felt ignored. I was not greeted at any stage by owners, managers and had no idea who they were. We were looked at blankly when asking for basics such as toilet rolls and a cup of coffee- the management need to have more of a presence and actually look interested in you as you are parting with your hard earned cash to spend in their establishment.

I feel completely let down and would never entertain staying there again.

I have had some bad experiences in hotels and inns but this is the 1st time i have ever felt the need to tell others about it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandreiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

The rooms are either still in time warp or done up in the best of Dunelm ie cheap prints and see through curtains. Please either do up your bedrooms properly or not at all.

Breakfast was off putting - presliced bread and anaemic eggs.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryrock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Basic rooms lacking in finesse, taste, relaxed no-frills welcome.and bill for 2 for a one night stay of £47....did they get it wrong ?? Very noisy pub ..nothing like the pictures on the website and on a saturday night the population of 4 nearby campsites comes to the pub to get wasted.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyvernWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Some (slightly hungover) friends and I dropped in for lunch at the Pooley Bridge Inn and found it absolutely fantastic!

The food was delicious, and the service was second to none. (A load of guys on their way back from a stag do can't be an exciting prospect, but nothing was too much trouble for the staff.) They were extremely friendly and accomodating throughout - going the extra mile in a number of ways.

The inside of the pub was clean and enticing and there was a good mix of people in there - families with children, locals, walkers and so on. However each "group" was treated equally hospitably.

I can't recommend this pub enough - whilst I confess I don't stay, if they treat their guests as well as they treat their customers you'll be in for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews