We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty from the outside, but...”
Review of Pooley Bridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pooley Bridge Inn
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The food was rather lacking. Serving steak - especially undercooked, quite tough (and tasteless) steak - but not bothering to supply steak knives was very poor. It was a real shame as it was our anniversary dinner and we just wanted somewhere quiet and romantic for a nice meal. This wasn't it.

Drinks were fine but not the food or atmosphere. As one other reviewer said: is it a restaurant or a pub. Who knows...

Room Tip: Didn't rent a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FandJRocket3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 401 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

We came here for a meal during a few days holiday in Pooley Bridge and this was one of a few places that we ate at in the evening. I have eaten here a number of years ago and remember it being nice pub grub. However I wouldn't bother coming back here again after our most recent visit.

We entered the pub, found a table and attempted to order some food at the bar. We were told to sit down and that we would be served at the table, which was fine. When we sat back down, a member of staff came to us (who I now know to be the manager) and made a big flap about the fact that we should have waited to be seated which made us feel uncomfortable and unwelcome (there was no sign). This was not a good start, however I as remember the food being good (and other people's food looked good!) I was still hopeful. When our food arrived it was not great. I ordered a bacon and avacado burger and the avocado was so raw and unripe it was inedible. My partner had a steak and ale pie which had hardly any meat in it and was mainly gravy. For main courses at £12-£15 each it was pretty rubbish. Anyway we ate our food and didn't stick around for a drink. Then they got our bill wrong - they overcharged us and we had to point this out, then it was a hassle to rectify (although the staff member behind the bar was clearly trying to be helpful and was very nice).

I think the manager sets the tone of a pub restaurant and this is clearly not a restaurant which is being well managed. I wouldn't return. The Sun Inn, on the other hand (on the same road) was really nice, we ate there three times and it was well worth a visit. Go there!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Just sitting in the bar finishing our so called lunch and decided to use their free wi fi ( only good point! ) came to have a quick lunch with friends as we were visiting the area and really wish we hadn't! We sat at our table and boys went to bar to order drinks we were them advised only sarnie's or quiche available, we ordered 3 sarnies, 4 chips and 2 gravy boats... £39! When placing order I asked what the roast was and the stroppy bar lady sapped I've said only sandwiches... Yes but there is a hot roast! Our lunches come and were ok Deffo not worth £39! As we were eating a workman came in and began drilling the wall... Surly it would have been good service to warn us before we ordered they were going to be having work done! Crappy food, crappy service and will not be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I'm sad to say that I would never go to the Pooley Bridge Inn again while these people are running it. On the first visit (just after the hotel changed hands) we were overcharged for our meals. When we approached a member of staff he tried to say that we had confused him! On the second visit the food wasn't very good and the coffee was terrible. They were having trouble with the coffee machine - no-one thought of making coffee by hand. We sent the coffee back, but the second lot wasn't much better. We gave up in the end. On the third visit a group of French tourists walked out in disgust without ordering. On our fourth and last visit the woman who called herself the manager (although she wasn't very smart in appearance and didn't look like a person suitable enough to be a manager) was rude and was determined to have her say (what happened to "the customer is always right"?) She really does need to be trained to be courteous to potential customers. Some of the staff were very helpful but she is dreadful.

The people who previously ran the Pooley Bridge Inn gave a service ten times better than what people are getting at present. The present managers really do need to get their act together because soon they will have no customers. We live locally and it seems such a shame that a place like that can spoil what should have been a really lovely holiday for tourists. We are proud to live in the Lake District, but sadly staff like this can spoil our name for friendly hospitality.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after climbing Helvellyn, having been regular drinkers and diners in here over the Easter week (see my very positive previous review). So, first off, booking. We booked on the phone and luckily I called up to check we were actually booked in (having received no confirmation). They had no record of our booking so we rebooked. If only they’d have been full!

On arrival it was clear the bar staff were struggling with a busy Saturday in August, with the queues for drinks stretching out the door. However, it was on trying to get some food that the problems started. The seating for meals was an absolute shambles. We had booked a table for 8, but someone was on our table at 7.30. No problems, we sat at another table and had some drinks. But then we were moved off that table to make way for some “regulars” who had booked it. Again fine, we were promised our table would be ready. 8 o clock arrived and the couple on our table had only just got their main courses..... during this time a number of people with bookings arrived at the bar, only to be told that their bookings had been lost. Now these things do happen, but the atmosphere was getting worse. The bar and waiting staff were trying their best but there was absolutely no leadership from the manager, who was just being rude the customers. My wife complained at 8.30 that we still didn’t have a table - his response was an aggressive “what do you want me to do”.

In the end the poor couple on our table were turfed off the moment they had finished desert, leaving us feeling bad as well as hungry.

Over the course of the night it was averaging 30 minutes just to get served at the bar. I’ve never known anything like it. It got to the stage where all the customers had a kind of Blitz spirit about it.

So we eventually had something to eat, went to bed, got up......to no hot water!! Someone had switched the boiler off. Great. Then we went downstairs and the bar hadn’t been cleaned from the night before.

To be fair, the breakfast was really good and the chef apologised profusely for the problems. At the end of the day it shouldn’t be up to him - that’s why the pub has has a manager.

Loved this place last time, under the new manager I wouldn’t stop here again if the company offered me a free stay. Go for the Sun Inn instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolframwolfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I went to the Pooley Bridge Inn for lunch on Sunday 11th August. When we went into the pub we saw the pub seemed to have large numbers of people sitting around tables void of food and generally looking a bit fed up. We should have really taken that as our cue to leave but we had already looked somewhere else for lunch in Pooley Bridge that only had an outside toilet and grubby looking tables and flies coming out of the kitchen so it didn't take a lot for somewhere else to look more appealing.

At the bar there was a man complaining that his family had been waiting over 1/2 hour for food. We asked how long we would wait for quiche and the member of staff said no longer than 20 minutes. We soon found out why. The quiche that arrived was freezing cold and resembled exactly quiche you buy from the supermarket that then requires cooking at home. We complained but the staff member said the quiche had been freshly cooked that morning. If this was the case it looked to have done no more than had a flash in the oven and was no where near being cooked. The pastry was also soggy and sallow and nearly raw. My husband had used the men's loos and found there wasnt any hand wash, he mentioned this and before we left some 1/2 hour later went back to the loo and still no hand wash. Pooley Bridge is a place surrounded by campsites aka limited hand wash facilities. Personally I have strong feelings about people not being able to wash their hands after going to the loo then going on to touch glasses and cutlery that then gets picked up by members of staff who then serve people drinks and food without washing their hands. Its an infection control risk.

My advce is firstly avoid the Pooley Bridge Inn and secondly avoid Pooley Bridge, there are far nicer places to go to in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

having just spent the night in a very old castle in Northumberland we thought we would travel towards ambleside ,seeing sights , we stopped at pooley bridge to look around the village
we were hungry so we stopped for food we waited to get served and to honest not many people there,, but people had been in there by the state of the tables with plates and glasses everywhere
it took time to get served and when our food arrived , not filling nor appetising,, we mentioned it but nothing ever happened ,, looks like we were over looked as a paying customer
never mind just take the money , but lack of service will make people like us not return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ginagee b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
420 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
7.1 mi away
The Patterdale Hotel
The Patterdale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Patterdale
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
1,704 reviews
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#5 of 11 in Penrith
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pooley Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooley Bridge Inn

Address: Main street, Pooley Bridge, Penrith, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Lakeland Inn in the Heart of Pooley Bridge, open fires, outdoor courtyard, home-cooked food and 11 en-suite rooms ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pooley Bridge Hotel Pooley Bridge
Pooley Bridge b&b
Pooley Bridge Inn England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing