We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch with a view!”
Review of Granny Dowbekin's

Granny Dowbekin's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Granny Dowbekin's is a traditional English tearoom and tea garden at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. Breakfast, main meals and homemade cakes and scones are served all day. We always offer a selection of vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free options as part of the menu as well as smaller portions for children and those with smaller appetites. For our full menu and prices please have a look at our website. We welcome walkers, cyclists and well behaved dogs. Bookings for groups of up to 40 persons are welcome. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed to serve alcohol from 12pm when accompanied by food. Free wifi is available.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely lunch, jacket potatoes with coleslaw was great and because the place is licensed you can enjoy a beer or wine with your meal. The place was spotless, the staff attentive and polite, the menu is good and the setting is amazing. What's not to like! I would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrs_Orangetree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 25 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely dog friendly tea room with very pleasant staff. Very clean and welcoming with a large seating area outside. The hot chocolate and mochas were very delicious. Would certainly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Dalmation_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here earlier for lunch and it was great. Perfect location with plenty of seating outside to enjoy the sun and view over the river. The food was so tasty, everyone of our party really enjoyed their food. Loads of homemade cakes and other dishes to choose from. The fresh ice cream milkshake was also great. Big thumbs up.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 809ClareE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We have been visiting the Lake District for a short 4 night holiday. We had seen the reviews of Granny Dowbekin’s prior to visiting so it was on the list already.
We were in the Pooley Bridge area and we stopped for lunch one afternoon. We picked a table to sit at, and we were promptly served with a smile and a nice welcome. The wait for food was good and the drinks were served shortly after we ordered them.

The food is delicious, so much so that we returned the following day for breakfast - it was a quite quiet inside so we got a nice window seat and watched the world go by. Breakfast was served, it was hot, tasty and plenty of it. We both had tea, which came with an extra pot of hot water so we could have had 3-4 pots of tea each!!

Great value for money, friendly service with one lady in particular being REALLY helpful providing us tips on where to go as we were not quite sure. Told us to go via a mountain pass route down to Windermere, which was a really fun and beautiful drive - Thanks!!

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank SimonJH88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located in Pooley Bridge right on the corner before the bridge itself, it's in a great location with lots of tables inside and outside. The sun was out so sitting outside in the warmth was lovely. Just done a walk from Howtown so we were very hungry and ordered the club sandwich and it really really is the best ever sandwich. The missus ordered tuna sandwich and we had a bottle of prosecco to help wash it down. Best thick cut bacon, thickest cut gammon ham and fresh chicken breast. See attached photo. Was stuffed after eating the sandwich and could hardly move, the old eyes bigger than belly got the better of me.
This is a great place with great food and very reasonably priced.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank Fraser66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's also viewed

Pooley Bridge, Penrith
Penrith, Eden District
 
Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Eden District
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing