We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just plain down-to-earth excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granny Dowbekin's

Granny Dowbekin's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Granny Dowbekin's is a traditional English tearoom and tea garden at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. In the summer we are open every day from 9am and take last orders for food at 7pm. Breakfast, main meals and homemade cakes and scones are served all day. We always offer a selection of vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free options as part of the menu as well as smaller portions for children and those with smaller appetites. For our full menu and prices please have a look at our website. We welcome walkers, cyclists and well behaved dogs. Bookings for groups of up to 40 persons are welcome. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed to serve alcohol from 12pm when accompanied by food. Free wifi is available.
North West England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just plain down-to-earth excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We called at Pooley Bridge for lunch when touring around the Ullswater area. All choices looked good but Granny Dowbekin's had character and individuality. A good meal but above all really pleasant and helpful staff. I bought one of their pictures and thought I had lost it. Wrote to them to ask if it was possible to replace and had a really helpful reply within minutes. Not that that reflects the meal (which was good anyway) but it's indicative of the pleasant and relaxed atmosphere, despite it being (justifiably) busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Flergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your good time with us, really pleased that you had a relaxing experience despite it being a busy day. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    145
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went in for tea/coffee and cakes and were very glad we did. We were shown out to the large and very smart garden terrace by the river. It was very relaxing, with tables well spread out. My wife's scone was perfect - obviously baked that day. I had a cafitiere of great coffee and a really tasty ginger biscuit I chose having had a free sample. The staff were very nice and the new toilets were impressive. I have to say I am totally mystified by the recent negative reviews.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Renfrewshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing for your good time with us. We have invested £100,000 this winter in upgrading the facilities throughout the business, so I appreciate that you enjoyed them. We also were bemused by the recent reviews also so thanks for pointing that out.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welshie in yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Tea, lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Had lunch here yesterday, we had a lovely fresh salad, tea and a hot chocolate, staff were lovely and the lunch was perfect, lovely and fresh and the tea came with an additional pot of hot water, perfect. Afternoon tea looked fantastic, we were tempted but too full after our lunch but will return to sample the cakes one day. Thanks.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share about your good time with us.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds ,UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Large garden terrace.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

New toilets, nice outdoor space. Usual tea room fare. It was poor weather so not many people about. Could be very busy in summer and very different!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Regdor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thanks for noticing the new toilets, we have 2 new ones including a wheelchair access one. We have had a total makeover and upgrade this winter including the inside of the tearoom also. Disappointed we only had 3 stars from you as "the usual tea room fare", seems like a criticism. We make all of the cakes and scones and our unique Pooley Gingerbridge on the premises, all of our meats are cooked and prepared here, we use local butchers and offer table service inside and out. Thanks for your visit, hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not that great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stopped here for tea having read all the great reviews so our expectations were high. What we found was nothing out of the ordinary. Yes they serve tea and scones and cakes. The tea was on the weak side and on commenting on that I was told that was how other people liked it, I didn't make my usual retort of I'm not other people I'm me. The scones crumbled on cutting and the cake was rather dry. Having had the response we did about the weak tea we decided not to comment further and left.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Really disappointed we didn't live up to our recent ratings for you, when we receive a bad review I study it to try to learn how we can improve. Thank you so much for pointing out the tea was too weak, the only explanation is that you were given a pot that was too big, or that it wasn't given the 3 or 4 minutes to brew. The response from my waiting staff was not acceptable, can you describe the person please so I can point this out to them, you can reply via our website (I am not allowed to type its address on this reply). I have briefed my team to be vigilant about using the correct size pots. As for the scone we bake them every day fresh, so apologies for it being crumbly. Many thanks for your visit and for taking out your time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing