We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Refurb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Granny Dowbekin's

Granny Dowbekin's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Granny Dowbekin's is a traditional English tearoom and tea garden at the Northern tip of Ullswater and by the River Eamont. In the summer we are open every day from 9am and take last orders for food at 7pm. Breakfast, main meals and homemade cakes and scones are served all day. We always offer a selection of vegetarian, gluten free and dairy free options as part of the menu as well as smaller portions for children and those with smaller appetites. For our full menu and prices please have a look at our website. We welcome walkers, cyclists and well behaved dogs. Bookings for groups of up to 40 persons are welcome. Granny Dowbekin's is licensed to serve alcohol from 12pm when accompanied by food. Free wifi is available.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“New Refurb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The new refurb for Granny's is looking good and the special afternoon tea excellent value. See you soon Granny

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janey026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for sharing your good time with us. The refurb is complete inside and the new toilets outside will be finished mid April. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    145
    26
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming... Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited in early January whilst on a walking holiday. I had never been however my girlfriend had been a few years ago on numerous visits to the lakes. It came highly recommended and lived up to its reputation. If you are In the area it's a must visit. The pooley gingerbridges are also genius. We had a massive prawn jacket potato and a Ham and cheese panini with gorgeous ham followed by chocolate cake and mars bars Rice Krispie cake. All was lovely. We had two dogs with us who were equally welcomed and even given some scraps of ham to eat. Highly delightful little cafe.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomtom93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for sharing your good time with us, very pleased we lived up to your expectations, phew!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Number 1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Coffee served in industrial sized proper mugs not the thimble measure you get in other establishments.Great location,great staff,try the cream scones lush!Have tried other tea rooms nothing beats this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 418Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks so much, real glad you enjoyed your proper sized coffee!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just what a Tea Room should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Called in here on our way home from a two day break in the Lakes. The menu was varied, homely and simple. It was lunchtime but I really fancied the "Afternoon Cream Tea". No problem. It was lovely, in fact I'd go so far as to say it was the nicest meal I'd had all weekend. The fruit scone was to die for. The other customers were couples like ourselves, families, walkers & cyclists. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming and had a bit of a retro 1960's feel to it. We liked it very much and will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to write, really pleased you enjoyed it. We have modernised a bit since you came with a makeover, so look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely place for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stopped off here on a rainy Saturday morning hoping to find some hot food for a late breakfast. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the two dining rooms were cosy, with only a few tables in each. I would imagine this place can get very busy in summer, but as this was a mid morning in November I found it easy to get a table.
The breakfast menu is quite large and covers a wide range of choices from simple toast, to full cooked breakfasts, with vegetarian options on offer too.
I had poached eggs on toast and they were served piping hot, on delicious granary bread. I have to say they were probably the nicest and best cooked poached eggs I've ever had.
Pot of tea was served in the traditional way, i.e. with two pots - one for your tea, and an extra pot of hot water to top up the tea pot.
This lovely little place is let down only by the lack of an inside toilet. You have to go out of the restaurant, down the street a little bit then into the back garden area (outside seating here for nice weather), where you will find what basically amounts to an old fashioned outside loo! It was very clean and well equipped, but still....an outside loo. However, having said that, they are shortly to undergo a refurbishment according to the staff/owner and this will include inside toilets.
Even including the toilet being outside, I would still go back here as the food and welcome was so good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenMR30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColinHindle, Owner at Granny Dowbekin's, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Thanks so much, really pleased you had a good time. With regard to the toilets, we wanted to build an inside one but the space was too small for building regulations so we couldn't, we are building two new ones outside which will be ready Spring 2014, one of which will be wheelchair friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granny Dowbekin's also viewed

Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
Penrith, Eden District
Pooley Bridge, Penrith
 
 

Been to Granny Dowbekin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing