We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pub Food”
Review of Sun Inn

Sun Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $18
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Inn was converted from a row of cottages in the 1700s by the original proprietor Edward Richardson. Since then the Inn has changed hands several times, and was taken over in May 2010 by John & Jane McGuire. The Sun is a family run establishment. Sunny by name and by nature, this is one of the most friendly and cheery hostelries in the region. It is a sizeable whitewashed building with grey framed windows, which in summer are draped with vibrantly coloured hanging baskets. Inside, the decor is simple and warm with low beamed ceilings, wooden tables and chairs and wood paneled walls and bar. It has a spacious beer garden and a grassy area at the rear with a fantastic wooden childrens play fort. It also has its own car park, which is strictly for patrons. The Sun Inn is renowned for its Real Ales and has been awarded the Cask Marque and features in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide. We offer a wide range of local ales and a constantly changing guest ale and for the non ale drinker there are lagers and stouts.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Proper Pub Food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely tummy filling meal ordered through a friendly, helpful bartender and served by a smiley waitress. Just what the doctor ordered!

Helpful?
Thank Yorfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    187
    60
    19
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jarnac, France
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Tasty and filling”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is a popular pub with two bars and a restaurant, plus a nice garden. We had dinner here on a Saturday in September and it was fortunate that I had booked a table as the place was heaving at 7:30. The reataurant is really just a dining overspill area, as you have to go to order your food and drink from the bar. However, the staff are friendly and helpful and our food came reasonably quickly. I had the soup of the day which was chicken and sweetcorn and it was a meal in itself, with large chunks of chicken This was followed by the fish and chips which was enormous and very tasty. My wife was equally happy with her meal and the dogs got leftovers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chalky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Isle of Axholme
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“'Whale & Chips! Good Food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Ate at the Sun Inn twice this week, First time trying the Salmon and a stuffed chicken dish, both excellent and overheard two or three people on other tables raving, in a good way ;-) about their Fish & Chips. We went back a couple of days later and gave them a try.

Pretty damn good!

We thought the Sun Inn good for food and beer, good value too. Definitely worth a try if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stukno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We ate here a couple of times during our stay in Pooley Bridge. Both times the food was very nice. The place had a good atmosphere and plenty of beers to have a go at!! The food was maybe a touch on the dear side.

Well worth a visit if you are in the area

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More Than Meets The Eye!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Sun Inn is a homely, dog friendly pub with reasonable prices and great food! The décor is basic and dated but members of staff are attentive and very polite, even when it was very busy they still made you feel welcome and made sure you were served in a timely manner. It looks as though it could do with a little upkeep on the outside, as our first impression was of a boarded up window, but considering the amount of people, dogs and muddy boots traipsing through, it was still spotlessly clean on the inside.

From my general impressions of the place I wasn't expecting much of the food, just the usual pub grub but I was very wrong! The food was delicious and excellently cooked and we visited several times over the week we were there and I know if we are ever back in the area we will definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Inn also viewed

 
Penrith, Eden District
 

Been to Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing