We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect accommodation in Pooley Bridge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ullswater Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pooley Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ullswater Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation in Pooley Bridge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We recently stayed for a night at Ullswater House on our way back from a trip to the Highlands. We hadn’t pre-booked but called on the off chance there was a room available having read some previous Trip Advisor reviews first. We were not disappointed. Ullswater House is right in the centre of Pooley Bridge which is a very pretty village indeed. Angela was there to greet us upon our arrival and showed us up to our room. We had room one which was nicely decorated, (quite recently by the looks of it), with an en-suite shower and toilet. A nice view too from the window over the main High Street. The bed was very comfortable and there is a complimentary selection of teas, coffee and drinking chocolate along with a kettle and some biscuits. There is a TV a good wifi connection and breakfast is included. One thing to also mention are the lovely shower gels and shampoos in the bathroom. They are hand made locally by a company called Lakeland and they smell gorgeous. They are not available on the internet, but if you want to buy some Angela sells them in the foyer. Pricey but worth it.

As for breakfast if you want black pudding or sausage with your breakfast Angela likes to know the night before as these take longer to cook, but other than that make your request in the morning and she will oblige and cook you up a delicious breakfast. There is also a good range of cereals available and fruit salad etc. I settled for porridge and poached eggs which were cooked to perfection. Breakfast is served between 8 & 9.00am.

There are three pubs in the village, all close by and all serving food, so you won’t go hungry in the evenings. There is also a lovely tea house right next to the bridge which is almost next door. Ulswater is a minutes walk away, so if you are looking for a clean, comfortable base to stay at in Pooley Bridge, you can’t go wrong here as Angela and Dave will make you very welcome. We would happily stay here again when we next take a trip to the Lakes.

Clive & John

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Utopia223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Very comprehensive, thanks very much for taking the time to write the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
83
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed for a night on our walking trip in the Lake District. The rooms are newly renovated, light and bright and very clean. There is a good selection of books, maps and magazines to kill with along with local sweet treats. The host and hostess were very friendly and cook up a very good full english breakfast.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlethaandOle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Glad you liked it. Thank you for the review, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

On arrival we were offered tea in the garden and this was the first indication that nothing is too much troulbe for Angela and David when it comes to their guests. Everything anyone could need had already been anticipated and things like and iron and board, corkscrew and wine glasses were all readily to hand on the landing. A pint of ice was produced graciously when some was requested. Breakfast was delicious and the rooms had a boutique feel. Will certailnly stay here when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have taken the trouble to review us on trip advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Exellent we stop here every year and its got even better over the last two years. Angela and David cannot do enough for you.
Superb BB surrounded by pubs serving good food and drink in a very nice location what more can you ask for.

Room Tip: Any, we travel with friends and we all love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LouisT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Many Thanks for writing the review. Its always a pleasure to have you stay with us,Looking forward to next year already.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a very pleasant guest house located a couple of minutes walk from Lake Ullswater. Clean rooms, and the beds are really comfy,so you get a good night's sleep. Almost anything you could ask for on holiday in the English countryside. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay and our guest house met your needs. Thank you for the review and hope to see you again in the furure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Angela and David are very welcoming. The rooms are very, comfortable clean, bright and modern. Breakfast was very filling - even for a big eater like me. The Guest House is very close to the pubs and eateries. I would certainly stay here again and Pooley Bridge is a lovely place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Many Thanks, anyone who writes a review for us is welcome back - Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ullswater House looks quite a modern building.....the evening was hot but the room was cool. Bed very comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever had !

The Guesthouse is situated right next door to a pub selling great food - there is no noise from the pub.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichCotswoldChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your generous feedback, I will pass your comments on to the pub next door. We will be glad to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
4.0 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Guest House

Property: Ullswater Guest House
Address: Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ullswater Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, 4 Star Gold Bed and Breakfast in Pooley Bridge which sits at the head of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District. Fabulous breakfasts are served using the best local fresh ingredients available, all our rooms are individually decorated and all are ensuite with views, we also have a ground floor room. There is ample private off road parking (Including Free EV Charge Point), secure lock up for equipment and wet room.Access to the fells and Lake are minutes away, fishing, golf, horse riding and sailing are all close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullswater Guest House Pooley Bridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing