We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ullswater Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Ullswater House over the weekend of the 17th November and we can't rate this place highly enough!! We stayed for 2 nights and it was the perfect launch pad into the lakes. We stayed in room 4 which was a fantastic size, super king size bed and incredibly clean. The bathroom was great and the breakfast was great! There are 3 nearby pubs and the 2 we visited were a delight. Overall, this was a perfect little get away for the two of us and the only place to stay if you're looking around the area. We look forward to heading back there again!!

Room Tip: We managed to look at all the rooms and they were all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMoore84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. Looking forward to meeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
90
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We were a family party of six from New Zealand and stayed three nights mid October 2012. Angela and David are fantastic hosts and gave us great service from the booking to our departure.

Ullswater House is brilliantly located for a visit to the Lakes, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Angela and David have done an excellent job in renovating with quality furnishings.

Breakfast at Ullswater House could not have been better and the extra touches and help made this a highlight of our trip to the UK.

Many thanks A&D we hope to return in the not too distant future

Mark and girls

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Glad to be of service and glad you enjoyed it. Many thanks for providing the review feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I travelled to England (from Switzerland) for a 5 day walking holiday in the Lake district. Ever since we stayed at the Ullswater B&B with we have been looking forward to posting this review because we were so delighted with our stay and every little piece of detail and effort that Angela and David did to make our 1 night stay truly memorable.

Firstly, we would like to say that Pooley Bridge, at the top of Ullswater, pleasantly surprised us. It is a small but pretty Cumbrian village and well worth a visit. We arrived from Howetown on the ferry - how perfect!

Having just had afternoon tea at one of several teashops in the village (not to mention 3 pubs within 50 yards of each other) we had to decline Angela's offer of freshly baked scones and a cup of tea. However, it was lovely to have received this offer as part of our welcome.

Angela is very personable, friendly and warm person and she immediately made us feel at home. She took us to our well furnished bedroom which contained a super king sized bed with luxurious bed linen, little extras and a great ensuite with lovely toiletries. All this loveliness and it was the least expensive place we stay. She should be charging more!

Breakfast was equally impressive, tasty and well very presented. When it came time to leave, Angela saw us to the door and sent us on our way with a cheerful smile. It doesn't get much better than this and we would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for the super king sized room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8Br10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you very much for providing such a comprehensive review for us. We are delighted by the feed back and look forward to your possible next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for one night in September with a group of friends attending a 50th birthday party in Glenridding and occupied 4 out of the 5 rooms and it was fantastic! We all felt so at home as Angela and David were so welcoming and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble to them and it was so relaxing! The rooms were all fabulous and being the first to arrive, we got to choose ours and found it difficult to make up our minds! The room we settled on was gorgeous (can't remember the number, but they were all lovely!) with a king size bed, fab decor, lovely shower room and super spotlessly clean! The breakfast next morning was lovely and very well cooked. We were all made to feel so welcome and will definately be back when in the area! I can't praise Angela and David or Ullswater House enough! Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonandDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write the review, these are always appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for only 1 night (wish it had been more) on our way down South. Angela and David that own it are a lovely welcoming couple. The room was fantastic, very very clean and really nicely furnished with fab handmade toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was absolutely excellent! Would highly recommend this B&B to everyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poodsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review, We enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnetby le Wold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Used Ullswater house as a base for my national sailing event on the lake and stayed the week mid August. Excellent accommodation and food. Angela and David are the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble to help make our stay enjoyable. Thoroughly recommended and well worth the 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Owner at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you very much, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we would be pleased to see you again next time you sail on Ullswater.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have just spent two nights at Ullswater house after arriving at Pooley Bridge with no where to stay. We found the B & B in the middle of the village (which was not difficult). We were made very welcome immediately and had tea and scones in the garden before unpacking. The room was very clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was excellent. Angela and David were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely return to Ullswater House when we next visit the Lake District.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank suerWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ullswaterhouse, Manager at Ullswater Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Once again we can only express our gratitude for the excellent feedback we keep getting - Thank you very much and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pooley Bridge
1.8 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
Macdonald Leeming House, Ullswater
3.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
6.9 mi away
Inn on the Lake
Inn on the Lake
#1 of 2 in Glenridding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
0.1 mi away
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
1863 Bar Bistro Rooms
#1 of 7 in Pooley Bridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ullswater Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ullswater Guest House

Property: Ullswater Guest House
Address: Pooley Bridge, Pooley Bridge, Penrith CA10 2NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Pooley Bridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Pooley Bridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ullswater Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, 4 Star Gold Bed and Breakfast in Pooley Bridge which sits at the head of Lake Ullswater in the Lake District. Fabulous breakfasts are served using the best local fresh ingredients available, all our rooms are individually decorated and all are ensuite with views, we also have a ground floor room. There is ample private off road parking (Including Free EV Charge Point), secure lock up for equipment and wet room.Access to the fells and Lake are minutes away, fishing, golf, horse riding and sailing are all close by. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ullswater Guest House Pooley Bridge, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing