We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little gite...”
Review of Le Mas Richard

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Mas Richard
Ranked #1 of 2 Generac B&B and Inns
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great little gite...”
Reviewed October 15, 2011

A really nice place to stay and brilliantly located for touring the area. You need a car to get round some of the more interesting villages and vineyards (though there is a cave in the village) but trains and buses (Generac served by both) are best for visiting Nimes, Aigues Mortes and the coast - and the fare is only 1 euro! Gites (we were in the smaller one) are well equipped and clean with good on site facilities. Pool was welcome even at the end of September and we enjoyed sitting out in the warm peaceful evenings watching the bats. Very friendly and helpful owners who provide lots of local information.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Henderhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here in July. Excellent rooms, very accommodating and friendly hosts. Nice grounds to relax in. Thanks also for being so dog friendly!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cathy2generac, Manager at Le Mas Richard, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied.
We thank you for highlighting our DOG WELCOME. We hope to welcoming you back in the near future.Best regards,
Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Can't believe we were lucky enough to fine this place and our memories of it have kept us going through the cold British winter. Mike and Cathy's friendliness and helpful tips made us make the most of everything - so much to do in the area and very easy to drive around. The horse riding was incredibly good value and we enjoyed visiting the odd vineyard for a chat and purchase - even from a family who have harvested for 300 years. Gite and pool exemplary and friendly village bars and grocers and plenty of boulangeries. This is our favourite area of France and is without the Provencal prices

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank faragher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2011

If heaven on earth exists, this must be it. What a nice place to stay. Our daughter enjoyed the swimming pool, large garden and the dogs (and so did we). Beautiful cottage, more than enough room for all of us and so happy to have the airconditioning with June being so hot. Lots of tips from Mike, Cathy and Elia what to see, do and taste (!) in the surrounding areas. Here, we truely lived like gods in France.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aube1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We loved our time at the Mas Richard! The village is authentic and pretty. We enjoyed visiting Nimes and the Camargue from there too. Cathy and Mike were outstanding hosts, the gites were perfect, well appointed and comfortable, the kids loved the pool and how yummy are those homemade jams!!!! We will definitely be back soon! Thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leszenglois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

What a perfect holiday! Myself, my wife and my daugher stayed at le mas richard in late August / early September 2009 and I have to say it was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Cathy & Mike have a beautiful family, lovely home, 3 gorgeous labradors and adorable gardens (where they make their own jam, herbs and even their own grapes) and they made us feel very welcome throughout our stay. The room was excellent, the barbeque was well used by us and the pool and gardens were beautiful and tranquil. Overall, with the house, the gardens, facilities and the whole laid back environment; we really felt like we had escaped from life for a week which was the whole idea.

Not only were the rates very reasonable - for what we got I would have happily paid double - Cathy and Mike were really helpful in helping us make the most of our time there. From recommending places to go through to helping with directions and through to helping us with anything we needed to just relax outside with a bottle of local wine and a BBQ - we couldn't have asked for more. I thoroughly recommend the place, we've been all over the world, stayed in a thousand different places and I have to say le mas richard is right up there in terms of standards and friendliness.

The local village of Generac is great - you really feel like you have escaped popular tourism and there is plenty to do in the local area. We went horse riding locally (inexpensive and highly recommended), visited Nimes, travelled the short distance to the beach at Le Grand Motte a couple of times, went to a great local vineyard called Guiot who make fabulous wine, saw the huge aqueduct at Du Gard and enjoyed beautiful countryside, quaint towns and villages throughout our stay.

Le mas richard is very child friendly, has ample secure parking, is 15 mins drive from the local airport and is the ideal jumping off point for several towns and cities in the area.

We will visit there again for sure and we intend to bring more friends and families with us to enjoy what is a superb choice of accommodation in a fantasic place. Thanks once again to Cathy and Richard, our daughter cried her eyes out on the way back to the airport as she didn't want to leave!

Seriously, if you're looking for somewhere really different and relaxing in the South West of France you will be hard pushed to find a better place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DylanPemberton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I found out about Mas Richard by coincidence and I am really glad we did. The room was newly refurbished clean in a quite location. The House is beautiful, big garden and has got a big swimming pool as well. The owners are really friendly and after a glass of wine we discovered that they grow their own vegetables and make their own jams! They have lovely dogs. Highly recomended. Not far from Nimes, Montpellier or la Grande motte

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxingLoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Mas Richard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Mas Richard

Property: Le Mas Richard
Address: 10 impasse Beau Soleil, 30510 Generac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Generac
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Generac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 bedrooms Stone House "Le Mas Richard" is an authentic provence farmhouse, a winegrower’s home from the 17 century. It’s filled with light of the Provence and the fragrances of the South. Between Nîmes (14km) and Arles (27 km ), the Mas Richard is the ideal place to discover all the beauty that the area can offer. Whether you want to drench yourself in sunshine along the swimming-pool or get to grips with some of the world's most gorgeous landscapes, you'll most definitely experience the 'douceur de vivre' – or 'good life' here. So inject some glamour into your holiday this year and come and fall head over heels for 'la belle' property of Cathy & Mike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Mas Richard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing