We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“SUPERB!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Foxt, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ste696977
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“SUPERB!”
Reviewed December 2, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Had a long weekend just to test the water with our 4month old Border Terrier Bert.
We have a small motorhome but thought we would try the pup out in surroundings that he would be more comfortable with for his first holiday..ie 4 walls,living room kitchen ect..
Sadly(?) the motorhome will need to stay in storage for a while longer..
Startin with our hosts Maurice and Shirley, you will never meet any couple better than these two i swear! Fantastic couple who would move mountain and high water to make sure you have a good stay.
The Cottage.. so warm and cosy its untrue and it was literally freezing outside! Everything you need utility wise and the bed is beyond comfy!
The farm has 3 massive(secure) fields that your dog can run wild.. perfect.
For the humans its about a 10min walk down the road to the Fox n Goose which is dog friendly and the food is fantastic .. the locals are really welcoming..
Cant wait for New Year Eve.. (yep weve rebooked!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmac25
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Stunning ”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stayed here for a long weekend. The location is beautiful, the weather was fantastic. Shirley & Maurice were so lovely, polite and friendly. I wish I could have stayed longer. The garden is stunning.
My Labrador loved it!
Definitely going back for another long weekend in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibert65
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful just beautiful”
Reviewed April 30, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked this cottage with sykes cottages, couldn't have been easier if I'm honest.....This was really atrip to find out how our puppy would get on and well...we were made to feel right at home from the start. Both Shirley and Maurice were outstanding hosts and we were made to feel like life long friends immediately, I would highly recommend this gem of a place it really is lovely.

As I say booked through sykes and had a call from Shirley, the owner, a couple of days before we arrived which was really pleasing and reassuring.

Travelled to foxt stopping off at Leek about 10 miles away for provisions en route. Arrived quite late - shirley had put out water for our dog and was there to reet us. A well appointed cottage with everything you'd need Kitchen diner and living area very cosy and well decorated cooking utensils, dining ware, pots and pans etc all available TV, Wifi and radio available. Upstairs double bed room and bathroom accessed by quite a tight staicase to be fair but again very welkl decorated and bed very comfortable.

bathroom has a shower over the bath and I found it quite tight in terms of head room but ok for our week. Cottage very warm with temperature adjustment via thermostat.

this cottage is on a shetland pony stud farm, and to be fair our dog who is very well mannered had the run of the place thanks to the owners.

10 minute walk to the pub - Fox and Goose.

great walks locally - canal walk to Black Lion really nice from Frogshall Wharf (2 miles away).

I cannot recommend this place enough - It is about 13 / 14 miles from the Roaches and about 40 minutes drive to Castleton, Edale etc. Really well located to be fair.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy feel, well located and made to feel like family
Liked least: Sofa's a bit upright and shower tight.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heidi_m_k...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First trip to the peak district!”
Reviewed April 25, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was my fiance and my first trip to the region with our 9 month old puppy 'Loki' - our welcome by Shirley was wonderful a delightful lady who spent time with us and assured us of every aspect of this exceptionally quaint retreat. Maurice we met the very next morning or rather Loki did and they struck up a terrific relationship immediately. The cottage adequately accomodated the three of us with a single double bed upstairs and adjoining bathroom - the shower height posed some issues for my partner and i found the sofas a lottle upright but these were minor issues to be honest. The cottage has a kitchen/diner and lounge space with flat screen and wifi. All cooking and eating utensils were provided as we're bed linen and towels. Shirley had put out water for Loki and offered a dog bed. ever so thoughtful and a pleasure to have met them both, would highly recommend this cottage with a pub and fod just 10 minutes walk away! day and he too was

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Peter N
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little peaceful cottage”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed in this idyllic cottage in the peaks,with warm friend holy we.clone from the owners. Clean and well appointed, lovely views, short walk to the local pub with good food when we wanted it, it was great. Would very highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southam
Reviewed March 27, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing