We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for the weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shawgate Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Foxt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay for the weekend!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visited the B&B with a few friends for a catch earlier this month. We were instantly welcomed and and the couple running it, Nina and James, really made us feel at home. The small bar area was perfect for the evenings, and with only 5 bedrooms, we easily made friends with the other guests! The local pub was a very short walk and we were able to explore some great country walks in the area. The room was en-suite and the bathroom was very spacious. The bedroom had a flat screen TV and large windows on one side. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed following a trip to Alton Towers. NIna was welcoming and friendly. Advised us on local places to eat. Beautiful views from the house.Breakfast was delicious too. Looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked Shawgate due its central UK location - a pre-Christmas family get-together where we were all travelling from different parts of the UK. It was so much better than expected (the Shawgate website does not do it justice) and was perfect for such a gathering. There are just 5 bedrooms - all a good size and able to sleep various combinations of family/couples. We booked 4 rooms and they were all perfectly clean, spacious, well equipped and warm. The decor will not be to everyone's taste, but is fine. The owners Nina and husband could not have done anymore to make our stay enjoyable - from booking us into the local pub for a delicious meal, through to letting us use the communal bar area for family games (and use of pool table). Plus the cooked breakfast was yummy. All in all we thoroughly recommend Shawgate and we hope to go back there again for our next family gathering. Thanks.

Room Tip: There is a 4-poster room, plus various family rooms to sleep up to 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McSpoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely, small and quiet B&B - exactly what is needed after a very hectic, long day at Alton Towers (not to mention the drive from Scotland!)

Nina was a fantastic host, checked us in to our room straight away and advised us of nearby places to eat and things to do!

The room was bright, warm and comfortable and really clean and tidy!

Alton Towers was a very short 5-10 minute drive away and there was absolutely no traffic.

The local pub in Foxt was lovely, everyone was chatty and friendly and the food was very good value for money and HUGE portions!

Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: We paid an extra £10 for a four-poster room! Totally worth it! What a luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_QueenB_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here in July and it was fab great welcome and overall five star off Jill and ken. Returned on 20/10/12 and again a great welcome off the new owners James and nina. We just love the whole feel of the area and shawgate we will defo be back. Nina was great when I needed some advice and sourced the info I needed all round five stars from us family of five who love bedroom 2 thanks u 2 xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed last night at Shawgate farm with my partner after a day at Alton Towers. The drive from the park was easy and we found it easily too, it only took about 10 mins. Our greeting from Nina was warm and friendly and our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Very quiet at night which made for a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast was also very good, a well stocked dining room left us wanting for nothing and the Full English was well cooked and very tasty. The next time we visit the area we will definitely be staying here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a party of eight, found Shawcross Farm to be very welcoming, comfortable & relaxed. New owners are now in charge, nothing is too much trouble/effort, Breakfast was first class. All our party would recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milnesy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxt
4.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#1 of 2 in Froghall
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hermitage Working Farm
Hermitage Working Farm
#2 of 2 in Froghall
60 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawgate Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawgate Farm Guest House

Property: Shawgate Farm Guest House
Address: Shay Lane, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Foxt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foxt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shawgate Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawgate Farm is a rural B&B located in North Staffordshire with fantastic views overlooking the picturesque Churnet Valley. Located on the edge of the Peak District and close to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shawgate Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing