We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly and fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shawgate Farm Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Foxt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic, friendly and fun!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A lovely, small and quiet B&B - exactly what is needed after a very hectic, long day at Alton Towers (not to mention the drive from Scotland!)

Nina was a fantastic host, checked us in to our room straight away and advised us of nearby places to eat and things to do!

The room was bright, warm and comfortable and really clean and tidy!

Alton Towers was a very short 5-10 minute drive away and there was absolutely no traffic.

The local pub in Foxt was lovely, everyone was chatty and friendly and the food was very good value for money and HUGE portions!

Would recommend to anyone and will definitely be returning in the future!

Room Tip: We paid an extra £10 for a four-poster room! Totally worth it! What a luxury!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_QueenB_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here in July and it was fab great welcome and overall five star off Jill and ken. Returned on 20/10/12 and again a great welcome off the new owners James and nina. We just love the whole feel of the area and shawgate we will defo be back. Nina was great when I needed some advice and sourced the info I needed all round five stars from us family of five who love bedroom 2 thanks u 2 xx

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meggy2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed last night at Shawgate farm with my partner after a day at Alton Towers. The drive from the park was easy and we found it easily too, it only took about 10 mins. Our greeting from Nina was warm and friendly and our room was very comfortable, especially the bed. Very quiet at night which made for a very good nights sleep.

The breakfast was also very good, a well stocked dining room left us wanting for nothing and the Full English was well cooked and very tasty. The next time we visit the area we will definitely be staying here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annaandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night in a party of eight, found Shawcross Farm to be very welcoming, comfortable & relaxed. New owners are now in charge, nothing is too much trouble/effort, Breakfast was first class. All our party would recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milnesy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Finding rooms big enough to take our large family can be a challenge and at Shawgate all 6 of us were able to have a proper bed in the 1 room! RESULT! Very happy and friendly hosts and an excellent stay all round. Very happy :) Would definitely stay again (and this time would not be so worried we had taken a wrong turn down a narrow lane). Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I and my son and daughter-in-law stayed overnight during a 2 day trip to Alton Towers. Ken and Gill were friendly and informative. The rooms were spotless and the four poster bed was very comfy. My Sirloin Steak was cooked to perfection as was the Cottage Pie. Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ferdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for one night recently, a fantastic experience. The guesthouse itself is in a rural, idyllic and peaceful location, perfect for nearby tourist attractions such as Alton Towers. Everything was excellent, from the friendly and welcoming staff, the impeccibly clean, spacious and comfortable rooms, to the quality of the food. Nothing whatsoever to fault. We will certainly be returning, and I would have no hesitation whatsoever recommending Shawgate Farm Guest House to anyone else. Thank you Ken and Gill for a lovely stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_Mad_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foxt
4.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery & Friends Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Alton Towers Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Railway Inn
The Railway Inn
#1 of 2 in Froghall
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Malthouse B&B
The Malthouse B&B
#3 of 10 in Alton
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hermitage Working Farm
Hermitage Working Farm
#2 of 2 in Froghall
60 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Warren B&B
The Warren B&B
#1 of 10 in Alton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shawgate Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shawgate Farm Guest House

Property: Shawgate Farm Guest House
Address: Shay Lane, Foxt ST10 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Foxt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Foxt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shawgate Farm Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shawgate Farm is a rural B&B located in North Staffordshire with fantastic views overlooking the picturesque Churnet Valley. Located on the edge of the Peak District and close to Alton Towers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shawgate Farm Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing