We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Felt like home after a day or two!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alloway Retreat

Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Welcome to Alloway Retreat
Master Bedroom
Family Bathroom
Twin Room
Second Bedroom
Kitchen
Alfresco Entertaining
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gammie200...
Montrose, U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Felt like home after a day or two!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This was an ideal base for our (annual) golfing trip. Super-relaxing to come back to after a hard day on the links - so much better than a hotel. A bathroom for each couple - barbie - spacious kitchen with everything you could need - TV lounge + "quiet" lounge - quiet, appealing neighbourhood close to everything - owners Shirley and Paul on hand next door to answer any questions, but very much the best kind of hosts who let you get on with things. Are there any others who welcome you with a loaf of warm home-made bread??

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property, Shirley, the location....
Liked least: It's not mine!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this very kind review. I had great pleasure in having you all as guests at Alloway Retreat. I hope that the West of Scotland's Golf Courses were up to your expectations and that you'll return from France to try them again. You and your party are more than welcome back to Alloway Retreat at any time!!!
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review. I'm glad that Alloway Retreat accomodated all your needs for this special occasion.It was a pleasure having your group stay at Alloway Retreat and I would welcome you all back anytime. Thanks again for choosing Alloway Retreat. Take care.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avril C
worthing
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday home”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This is by far the nicest holiday property we have ever stayed in.We were warmly greeted by Shirley and given a tour of the house by her...it looks exactly like the pictures on line.
She had provided us with a home made loaf, a bottle of wine,and some other bits and pieces in the kitchen which was a lovely touch.
The location of the house was great and as the weather was nice we were able to have drinks in the secluded back garden with family who joined us for a birthday celebration.The house worked perfectly for our family group and everything supplied was of a really high standard
We really enjoyed our stay ....in fact we have already rebooked the house for Christmas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: property quality well above other property rentals in Ayr
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on Alloway Retreat. Im glad that you all enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you, and I'm looking forward to welcoming you back for Christmas!!
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having your party stay with us. I'd gladly welcome you back in the future.
Thank you for choosing Alloway Retreat.
Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kevin G
Gainesville, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“What a lovely property and setting!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

You will not find a better, more attractive, more lovely place to holiday than Alloway. The property is exquisite, finely decorated, and very warm and comfortable! If you are staying in Ayr, you must experience Alloway Retreat! It just could not have been better! Thank you, Shirley, for your kind, accommodating interactions with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and high quality of the property.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2013
You are very welcome and thank you for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed you're stay at Alloway Retreat. It was a pleasure having you and your family. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and had a safe journey home to Texas. Hope you will return to Scotland (Alloway) soon and thank you for choosing Alloway Retreat for your stay.

Kindest regards
Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Johnston, United Kingdom
1 review
“You really could not find better accommodation than this lovely bungalow”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We recently had a family weekend at Alloway Retreat and we were all delighted with the quality of every aspect of this lovely house.The house is ideally situated in a quiet residential location but close to the Alloway seafront and the Burns attractions which are nearby.
Shirley Brown,the owner,ensured that we had everything we needed and,all in all, it was a great weekend.
A stay here is luxurious living!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quality of the house
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you all had a wonderful time. It was a pleasure having you and your family enjoying the house and hope to see you all again sometime in the future.Take care.

Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jent3664
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best self catering house we have rented - just excellent!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We rented this house for the weekend for our friend's wedding - they got married at Alloway church / Brig a doon which is just around the corner from this house. The owner Shirley was brilliant - she let us come round to view the house before the wedding and looked after us so well while we were there. Shirley accommodated an early arrival on the Friday and also brought us home made bread - amazing!

The house is totally kitted out with robes, slippers, towels, all kitchen appliances, soap, shampoo ect - it's just like a private 5 star hotel! There is also a great garden area and a BBQ, we hosted a post-wedding BBQ on the Saturday - the wedding party loved it, it's a great house for a social gathering! There are also kids toys at the house which went down well with our friends who had children.

Everyone loved the house and we are definitely going to go back. I would highly recommend renting this house, it's great value for money and would win over any hotel hands down!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The amazing kitchen space and the free wifi
Liked least: No negatives
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2013
I'm so glad that you all had a wonderful stay. You were all a great bunch and full of fun. Thank you for the great review and I look forward to seeing you again in the future. It was a pleasure.

Kindest regards
Shirley
Alloway Retreat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing