We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Vivere Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vivere Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Neerim South B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I were given a voucher to stay for a night in the Studio and loved it so much we stayed a couple of weeks later in the Cottage. Both gorgeous in their own right, the Studio was comfy, neat and clean. The food provisions being: home made cakes, slices, bread, jams (which you can also purchase separately), bacon, eggs, tomatoes, yoghurt, fruit and chocolates gave our stay an extra bit of care that was greatly appreciated.

Our next stay at the Cottage was just as great, but with a wonderful loft bedroom (there is also a second downstairs bedroom). Each room has its own television and the downstairs area has a fireplace, which we will definitely make use of on our next trip. Both the Cottage and the loft have a selection of books, magazines, CD's and DVDs to help your stay even more comfortable; and the corner spa's were also brilliant.

We can't recommend this place highly enough, and a quick flick of the guestbooks will show that we weren't th only ones!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebeccaAngelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a review. We are always grateful to have them. We look forward to seeing you again and for you to enjoy the warmth of the wood heater.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 178 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in the cottage for one night while touring West Gippsland and were delighted with the experience. With wooden walls throughout, tere is a good living and kitchen area with an attic style bedroom above it. A delicious cook yourself breakfast was included and lots of other little extras such as scones and home made cake (the best carrot cake I ever tasted!).

In the evening there was a big storm and we sat happily around the log fire listening to the rain, Next day we woke up to a beautiful sunny morning and fabulous views from our upsatirs bed.

At first impressions it's a little expensive for a B&B but well worth it.for a pleasurable stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thanks for your great review. So glad you even enjoyed the storm. I hope the had some luck with your tree hunt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in The STUDIO,which has the most wonderful views of the garden,beautiful birds,lush lawn and fields ,with a verandah with a personal electric BBQ,table and chairs to relax in, or read or cook,as you please, The Neerim area is full of country delights,wineries,restaurants,historical sites,and walks,
Kathryn and Ray are the consumate hosts,Kathryn is also great cook,and leaves delightful bits and pieces around eg,chocolates,muffins,brownies etc! We have travelled around the globe,staying in many Zimmers,B& B,Pensiones,and Pear Tree Cottage has to be one of the best,we have encountered!
The cottage is fitted out with air-con,heating,lovely kitchenette,with all facilities,coffee machine, ,all different teas, Breakfast -Eggs ,bacon,Tomato,home made bread,homemade jams,juice,fruit,milk,yoghurt etc.
Bathroom,beautifully tiled,big spa,toilet,basin,all beautifully appointed,hair dryer,tissues etc
Bedroom /Lounge with bathrobes and slippers,TV,CD with CDs ,DVDs ,books,and beutifully appointed decor!

Room Tip: The studio suite is the best,excellent views,very cosy,well equipped and finished to an exceptionall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieWanderers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review, we are always pleased to receive such a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Married for 25 years and caring for 8 children we needed some us time. So I booked it and surprised my husband.We stayed in the studio and loved it so much.Home made cakes, slices, scones, jams,bread and a lovely breakfast hamper. The dvd's,magazines and cd's also a spa to relax in.The accommadation is spotless and we couldn't fault it. It felt like our second honeymoon. We'll be back to delight in Kathryn's cooking again.

Room Tip: Studio romantic for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for writing such a pleasing review. You did well to keep the surprise from your husband, so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

My partner and I visit this area every November for my work, this is our fourth visit in three years. I travel around the country every year for work and stay in some amazing places but PTC takes the cake, from the quiet surrounds to the birds chirping, lush green gardens to the stunning sunsets, this place has it all and the accommodation is even better, we have stayed in the master suite and the studio, the studio offers amazing views from the balcony and lounge room with a very light and beachy feel while the master suite has amazing views from the spa and balcony and has a very country home feel with an elevated bed area. There is absolutely nothing to fault, hosts Kathy and Ray are fantastic, every thought has gone in to every aspect from the home made cakes on arrival to the lush home made pizza.

Anyone visiting the area needs to stay here once in their lives.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mvphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

My partner and I have stayed in the Cottage twice within the last 6 weeks. We loved the peace and tranquility so much that we couldn't resist returning. Kathryn is an extraordinarily thoughtful host (not to mention a brilliant cook!). A welcoming fire greeted us on our arrival. The Cottage is self contained with a lounge room (including a wood heater and an abundant supply of wood), kitchen and bathroom (including a 2 person spa). The bedroom is on a mezzanine level which commands lovely views across the rolling green hills and look down over the lounge room. Kathryn ensured that our Cottage was supplied with a wonderful selection of breakfast ingredients along with carrot cake, muffins and slices. After spending the day exploring we were looking forward to a night in beside the fire. Kathryn has provided a selection of current magazines and DVD's to while away a lazy evening. The bed was extremely comfortable. The cottage is quaint, rustic and incredibly clean. Pear Tree Cottage will hold a special place in our hearts as our weekend away is when my partner proposed ! We look forward to returning every year to re-charge our batteries and enjoy fabulous country hospitality in a lovely, peaceful environment.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellen70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2012

Thank you Michelle for taking the time to submit a review. So glad you enjoyed your second stay as much as the first. Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We've previously stayed at two other places in Neerim South - both in a similar price bracket -and neither came close to matching the comfort and hospitality we found at Pear Tree Cottage. This B&B offers everything one could want for a special weekend - a gorgeous rural vew, wood heater (plenty of wood), spa bath, well-equipped kitchen, abundant breakfast supplies, three types of home-made cakes, plus scones and cupcakes, books, dvds, cds and games, even dressinggowns and slippers. Kathryn the hostess was friendly and very helptul. We have no hesitation in recommending this B&B to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in 'The Cottage' because it offered an extra bedroom for our son. I would, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95,097,779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathryn D, Owner at Vivere Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Hello to our guests from Red Hill

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments about our bed and breakfast in Neerim South. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you here.

Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Neerim South hotels
4.2 mi away
Neerim Country Cottages
Neerim Country Cottages
#2 of 4 in Neerim South
5 reviews
1.4 mi away
Blerick Country Retreat
Blerick Country Retreat
#3 of 4 in Neerim South
19 reviews
3.2 mi away
Gracefield Cottage
Gracefield Cottage
#1 of 4 in Neerim South
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vivere Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivere Retreat

Address: 1719 Main Neerim Rd, Neerim South, Victoria 3831, Australia (Formerly Pear Tree Cottage Bed & Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Neerim South
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Neerim South
Price Range: $138 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vivere Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Vivere Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing