We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FOOD EXCELLENT- Atmosphere needs improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pomodori

Pomodori
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Rothesay
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A favourite in the area, Pomodori serves Neapolitan-style pizza in a copper-domed wood oven, artisan gelato and Illy coffees with a focus on natural ingredients.
Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FOOD EXCELLENT- Atmosphere needs improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Pomodori's pizza is absolutely delicious. The pizza reminded me of eating in Paris where the topping are the the traditional fast food Canadian and American processed toppings and where the Pizza's are cooked in a wood fired oven. The price and the product are equally matched by I do agree with other readers that the atmosphere could be improved a little bit. It has a corner pizza joint feel, although the product they are selling is actually higher end. I always feel like the identity (atmosphere) of the restaurant are at odds with the excellent food they serve at a reasonable price.

I don't mean this to be disrespectful to teens and young adults but sometimes I feel like the bad customer service others described in their ratings are due to the fact this age group doesn't give good customer service and don't particular care about good customer service causes it's just a part-time fun job not a career. I could be off the mark but anytime I don't have good customer service the aforementioned is the reason for it.

Anyway, perhaps a re-vision of the restaurant decor and service will in the works. BUT best Pizza in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bds1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    27
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big disappointment tonight at Pomodori”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My daughter and I had the Medi pizza, each had individual pizzas - one whole wheat and one on regular pizza crust- both were so soggy that we had to eat with knife and fork! I mentioned this to the workers and got a " Oh, sorry, must be the sauce" kind of comment. I watched the couple next to us trying to share their Caesar salad, and the long pieces of romaine ( which I think should have been cut more fine) were causing them problems as they tried to transfer them to their plates. The dining room reminds me of a low brow pizza parlour in the seedy side of town, dirty floor, no atmosphere whatsoever- not my choice! Where does this place get off trying to make out as if they are greatest pizza parlour in the area? The quality is just not there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“REAL pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

FINALLY, real pizza! This is exactly how pizza should taste. Good, fresh ingredients that taste great. This is not 'diner' food, it's REAL Italian pizza. This is the only place I've found here that serves my favourite spinach and artichoke pizza. Simply delicious and well worth a visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlamings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rothesay
Level Contributor
1 review
“exellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is a pizza like no where else .It is just like mama used to make. i wpould 100% recomend this venue.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shayna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithDunphy, Owner at Pomodori, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you Shayna for your positive review on Trip Advisor about Pomodori.

Keith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic taste of Italy in the Saint John area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Pomodori is one of the best restaurants for a number of reasons. They source local ingredients, operate in as many environmentally ways as possible and deliver an authentic Italian experience through and through. After travelling through Italy, I came back and tried Pomodori again, only to realize how many authentic touches are echoed here at the restaurant. Located about a 20 minute drive from Saint John, worth the time and worth every penny!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan9019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodori also viewed

 
Rothesay, New Brunswick
 
Rothesay, New Brunswick
Rothesay, New Brunswick
 

Been to Pomodori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing