We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Above and Beyond”
Review of Shadow Lawn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shadow Lawn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Rothesay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Thank you so much to Jamie, Nancy Fox, and the entire staff of Shadow Lawn, for going above and beyond to make our Christmas dinner for 60 go off without a hitch during a prolonged power outage. Not only was the meal delicious, but the festive atmosphere of this historic building was enhanced by the fire in the fireplace and candle light on the beautifully set tables. Thanks for a memorable evening!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGallagher, Owner at Shadow Lawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you Barb. It certainly was an evening to remember. Dinner by candlelight during the ice storm was not what we had planned but the combination of willing guests and accommodating staff made it one we won't soon forget.
Thanks again for choosing Shadow Lawn Inn as your destination for a great family dinner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 97 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed with our daughter at the Shadow Lawn Inn for four nights and it was fantastic.

The staff continually went above and beyond our expectations. The owners, Jamie and Ann-Marie, are very friendly and welcoming. The kitchen staff made whatever our daughter wanted and brought it right to our room. The service was very attentive, the rooms are beautiful and the restaurant is one of the best I have been to. The dinner was far beyond what I expected from a small Inn, the menu and service were that of a gourmet restaurant. Breakfast was great, lots of freshly made scones and hot coffee. The location is great. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAGallagher, Owner at Shadow Lawn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thanks, Morgan. It was our pleasure to host your family while you visited the area. It is always fun to have children in the house. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food. Chef Markian and his kitchen staff work hard to create culinary delights for each and every customer.
Thank you again.
Jamie and Mary Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What a wonderful venue for a wedding! The rooms are beautiful, bright, very spacious and the beds comfortable. The food delicious. The staff was amazing and accomodating. Whatever was needed, they made it happen! They were friendly and greeted us every time we came and went. I would recommend this location for a wedding, overnight or longer stay. Thank you and we will return!

Room Tip: I was in several rooms and they were all amazing and all unique in their own ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJBeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We really appreciated our one night stop here and wish it could have been longer. The highlights for us were the well appointed, spacious bedroom and the ability to have a drink and meal on the premises without having to go out. The bed deserves a special mention for size and comfort. Small touches, like sparkling wine and chocolate covered strawberries in the room helped seal the welcome.

The staff were all very friendly and we were looked after well at dinner. The evening meal was not cheap but was not unreasonably priced given the standard of the food. As a restaurant I would rate it "very good".

The only slight interruption to a good night's sleep came from a nearby railway line when a couple of passing goods trains sounded their horn as they approached nearby unmanned crossings. It was not a big deal but with window open it was pretty loud.

We would stay here again if looking to base ourselves in the St John area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewVine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Do yourself a favor and stop and stay at this world class inn and you will impressed beyond words! Owned by a lovely couple a continuation of the family business it is beyond a doubt the best experience we have ever had. It rivals world class hotels here and in Europe . The beds are so comfortable you will not want to get up. The rooms are quiet and well appointed. The food is excellent which only adds to your experience.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BILLYWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed for the evening in the beautiful honeymoon suite, we were impressed by the comfortable bed, huge jacuzzi tub and tasteful decor. We had a beautiful supper and cocktails and were treated like family by the incredible staff and owner. I cant recommend the inn highly enough, what a perfect weekend!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerryalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is more of a boutique hotel than an inn - the staff was not friendly at all (except for the kitchen workers, who helped with directions) and we felt like we were at a chain hotel in terms of our welcome. But the building is lovely and the bar is in a beautiful room. Location is a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shadow Lawn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shadow Lawn Inn

Address: 3180 Rothesay Road, Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Rothesay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rothesay
Price Range: $104 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shadow Lawn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Shadow Lawn Inn, nestled in the heart of Rothesay, New Brunswick, nearly a century and a half of charm and hospitality awaits you. Full service convenience and amenities, award winning cuisine, restful accommodations, peaceful seclusion and friendly staff will make your stay truly memorable at this beautiful Atlantic Canadian Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Shadow Lawn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shadow Lawn Inn Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing