We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Traditional Pub”
Review of Waldegrave Arms

Waldegrave Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Traditional Pub”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited here with the family on bank holiday weekend. Very busy with a great atmosphere, it's so nice to see a traditional family run pub. Staff were friendly and Polite and the Food was good traditional pub food which we all enjoyed. All in all a great experience. We need to cherish pubs like these as there aren't many left. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BDP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alski501, Manager at Waldegrave Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to comment.
Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fab food and service!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a meal there last week. Hosts were very friendly and welcoming. Waitresses helpful and attentive and most importantly the food was excellent. Would recommend to anyone (especially the lasagne!!)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hcw75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alski501, Manager at Waldegrave Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for such a good review. Its so pleasing when people take the time to make good comments.
Allan.
ps glad you enjoyed the Lasagne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Always delivers!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Have eaten at this pub many times over the years whilst visiting family and we are always guaranteed to enjoy proper pub food!
I like that each main meal always comes with a hefty side salad, the chips are wonderfully home cooked and the staff always very accommodating.
If you are in the area on a Sunday, do book in for a roast as this is where this pub excels with its huge roast potatoes and different choices of meat.
What else can you say? A traditional pub that always delivers! (And to be honest, the only one in the area that does!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Northamptonreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alski501, Manager at Waldegrave Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Sorry for the delay in responding to this lovely review. It gives us great encouragement to hear our food and service is so much appreciated.
We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Many many thanks
Allan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“honest review”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

wonderful homemade food - their chips are the best !! lovely staff and made to feel very welcome. Huge portions of wonderful grub !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 81JenG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alski501, Manager at Waldegrave Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. Glad you like the home-made chips, they are very popular with a lot of our customers.
Thanks again
Allan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as expected”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Good points
Friendly staff
Reasonably priced
Decent portions

Poor points
Cheese on cottage pie not detailed on menu (husband hates cheese)

Steak & mushroom pie was stone cold, when I mentioned it waitress took it away and microwaved it to wthin an inch of it's live resultsing in soggy pastry, dried up peas & carrots - not nice at all

Waited ages for starters & then ages for main course

All in all disappointing, don't think I'll returning soon, which is s shame as I've just moved into the area and eat out a lot

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alski501, Manager at Waldegrave Arms, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Firstly i would like to apologise at the delay in responding. I would also like to thank you for giving a rounded review, as you have both listed our plus's as well as the problems you received on the night in question.
The cottage pie problem, you are correct in saying that the 'cheese topping' is not listed in the menu. It's a home-made item that we having been serving for the 28 years we have run the Waldegrave. Never in that time has the cheese been listed, nor have we received a complaint. But i would like to apologise if it affected your husbands enjoyment of his meal. We have decided after your comment to add the 'cheese topping' to our menu listing when they next go to print. As the item is freshly cooked it will be no problem to serve with or without the cheese topping.
I would like to strongly apologise for the Steak and mushroom pie problem. From start to finish there was no excuse for a cold meal, or for that meal to be reheated in such a poor fashion. The normal practise would be for the meal to firstly come hot, and on the very odd occasion that a mistake has been made, a fresh meal should have been served. The matter has been dealt with in house and we working towards ways to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Let me please offer our apologises again.
Allan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waldegrave Arms also viewed

Hinton Blewett, Somerset
Chilcompton, Somerset
 

Been to Waldegrave Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing