We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & homely”
Review of The Post House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Post House
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Thank you Karen for making us feel very welcome and serving some fabulous breakfasts! We stayed for three very relaxing nights in this French boutique B & B and simply loved the square bath in our room. We will be back...

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 128 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just stayed at the PostHouse, extremely impressed! Excellent room, service extremely personable and attentive with a great breakfast. Location adjacent to the main A39 no issue with noise but may be worth considering for small children.
We have already booked for next year, thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We received such a warm welcome on our (late) arrival. We loved every detail of our beautiful, homely rooms, from the luxurious roll-top bath, to the comfortable, spacious beds with freshly pressed linen sheets. There were so many considerate touches - tasteful artwork on the walls, luxury soap and handcream in the bathrooms, fresh milk in a glass churn in the fridge, along with local Cheddar springwater. Every detail had been thoughtfully attended to, to make our stay a comfortable one. The rooms themselves were spotlessly clean, warm and totally private and separate from the rest of the house, and we all slept marvellously well. We were offered (without hesitation) a full English breakfast, which we eagerly accepted. It was perfectly cooked, and served in a charming farmhouse-style dining room, exquisitely furnished with antiques. All too soon, it was time to move on, but with a promise to return. The Post House is a marvellous discovery - friendly, warm, quiet, clean and comfortable, with an admirable attention to detail. So much effort and thought must have gone into this, and I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on the way to Wells and were amazed to find that our 'suite' was practically half a farmhouse, running across the full frontage of the property, with lounge, bedroom and bathroom. Beautiful, well-considered decor, which fully achieves the French farmhouse feel that Karen was striving for. The bed was luxurious, rooms spotlessly clean and uncluttered, with everything you could need, including fridge, ironing board and freshly-made biscuits. The theme follows throughout the house and the breakfast room is no exception. An eclectic mixture of rustic and antique furniture, wobbly tiled floors and crisp table linen continues the feeling of luxury. If you look very carefully through the basket of property magazines in the suite you will find a long article where Karen tells her story about her experiences of resurrecting and renovating her gorgeous home.Breakfast was superb: fresh fruit, beautifully cooked full English and John's home-made marmalade! Karen is as helpful or inobtrusive as you want her to be and provides a wealth of local and historical knowledge, with great recommendations for places to eat within walking distance. We chose the King's Arms: an award-winning gastro-pub with rooms to let, which is a lovely walk through the woods, across open fields and down immaculately tended country lanes (take a torch if walking after dark). It is easily accessible via the main road through Chewton Mendip, just not as peaceful. If I was going to make any constructive criticism (which is difficult - and a bit picky - in this case), I would say that the lounge area is comfortable for one person, on the chaise longue, but less so for the person sitting upright in the chair alongside. I would also have liked to see the bathroom blinds mended and a shower attachment which you can stand beneath (although I appreciate that this may detract from the overall ambience created by the beautiful roll-top bath). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Post House to friends and family and can only say that the B&B we stayed at for the following 2 nights was very much a let-down after this one! We wish Karen and John all the best with their next renovation in Bath.

Room Tip: Less traffic noise at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_BugReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just finished yet another weekend away at The Post House & yet again it failed to disappoint! (I've stayed multiple times now)

The hospitality is tremendous, such a warm & friendly welcome, nothing is too much trouble for Karen & John (and Monty the dog)

Those homemade BISCUITS!! 1st thing I do is eat them!

Gorgeous rooms, so clean & well presented. Gorgeous quiet location.

Breakfasts are the best in England, fresh tea, coffee, juices, fruit salad, cereals, full English breakfast using local produce. I literally don't eat all day after one of Karens delicious break-feasts!!!

I cannot stress enough just how amazing this place is! Over enthusiastic?? No way!! I want to tell the world about it :)

Coming back to Somerset in November for the local Christmas festivities & I will not stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katjanaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Set amongst beautiful English countryside this Grade II listed building has been lovingly and tastefully restored, in a rustic, shabby chic style, the Post House oozes character and charm and the Suite we stayed in, with its period features and luxurious rolled top bath, was simply charming.
My partner and I stayed here whilst celebrating our two year anniversary and this was just the romantic retreat we were searching for; very peaceful and quiet, this was the perfect base for us to explore Bath, Wells and Glastonbury- with all three within easy reach.
Karen proved to be the perfect host, going out of her way to help Patrick & I get the most out of our trip to Somerset; drawing maps for us, giving restaurant recommendations, helping with directions, etc. Karen is extremely warm and welcoming and provides the perfect balance of hospitality, without ever being intrusive. We have never stayed in a B&B before, but this is more like a boutique hotel. The Post House really is idyllic and, as aforementioned, the perfect base for those looking for a country getaway, close to The City of Bath, Wells, and Glastonbury- which are all worth a good explore!
Karen obviously takes a keen pride in what she does and provides lovely personal touches for her guests, such as fresh flowers- which we found in both the bedroom and our sitting room upon arrival, and homemade biscuits, every day, as well as bottled Cheddar Spring Water.
There were beautiful toiletries in the bathroom- as well as bath robes, which you don’t always get at a hotel!
The breakfast Karen prepared for us during our stay at the Post House was delicious and hearty. We had fresh fruit salad to start, followed by a full English, with local produce. Toast, homemade jams, cereals, fresh yogurt, fresh fruit juices and a variety of teas and coffee were also available- and all very yummy!
Karen made various restaurant recommendations during our stay, one of which was The Pony & Trap, a Michelin Star Country Pub- very cosy and relaxed, the food there is delicious!
While we were in Bath we visited the Thermae Spa (with its amazing rooftop pool), The Roman Baths and Bath Abbey. We also visited nearby Wells Cathedral and Chalice Well and Gardens (in Glastonbury)- all definitely worth a visit!
Thank you to Karen and her adorable dog Monty (whom I fell in love with) for making our trip so special, Patrick & I look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We picked this Bed and Breakfast entirely on the reviews on Trip Advisor and we are so glad we did. This trip was for our 5th Wedding Anniversary with no toddler!

Karen is very welcoming and helpful especially with her home made biscuits and the room is beautifully restored and the huge bed and roll top bath are very inviting.

There isn't much to explore within walking distance but it is ideally placed for day trips and there is a traditional pub with huge portions just a short stroll away through the wild garlic.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBerts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Post House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Post House

Address: Bathway, Chewton Mendip BA3 4NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Chewton Mendip
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Chewton Mendip
Price Range: $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Post House 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored former Post Office and Village bakery with a wonderful rustic french atmosphere. From February 2017, The Post House is only let as a whole house for self catering for up to 10 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Post House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing