We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A LOVELY RESORT EXPERIENCE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Orquidea del Sur

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A LOVELY RESORT EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

Orquidea is a hard-to-define hotel with nuances and personal touches galore! You truly have to see it to understand how special it is. It is technically a bed and breakfast with condominium style rooms and breakfast included in your nightly rate, but it is so much more. The owner, Robert, is a hands on host and you feel like his honored guest. Meals are made to order and served overlooking well, paradise! Each of your needs is immaculately tended to and the stunning grounds evoke a calming, ethereal energy. We loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to a friend. We are a young couple with no children but there were families on site who seemed to be enjoying the property, as well. Normally we avoid properties with any children at all because we value our peace and quiet, but with only five rooms, there was more than enough for everyone to enjoy the space. If you stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandSKohlbcker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

It is the third time we did spend a retreat at Roberts Orchid. We had such a nice time again. Spacious room, giant shower and bathroom, refreshing pool, great food and lots of fun talking and joking around with Robert. Thank you very much for making us feeling welcome. Sure that there will be a fourth time. We are looking forward doing so!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place caters to every type of traveler. Do you want to write and be left alone? This place will accommodate you. Want to meet other families and splash around in the pool and ocean? This place will accommodate you. Want to have every meal prepared for you? No problem. Want to cook by yourself in your room? No problem. I think this is the only place I have ever stayed that accommodates so many different types of travelers. Robert and the staff are perfect hosts... there when you need them and gone when you need peace and quiet. Everyone is smiling and the property is immaculate. We stayed here for 7 days and never got tired of the place. We highly recommend it and we're definitely coming back!

For surfers, this place is about 15 minutes south of Playa Hermosa and 45-60 minutes from Playa Maderas. I surfed Yankee beach (right in front of the property) almost every day and there were no more than 8-10 surfers in the water across the entire beach. I surfed the same peak everyday by myself at high tide (best waves). It was about head high on the sets and very fun. Playa Hermosa is very nice also and a short drive. The staff here will take you if you didn't rent a car. But that beach is more crowded so getting waves by yourself is not realistic.

If you're a surfer and you like your family well taken care of (because this place is not cheap) this is the place for you. We all loved it very much.

Room Tip: If you want wifi all the time stay in the large room by the main house. If you want more seclusion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebarrett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

Like most have already said, pictures simply do not do this place justice!! We traveled to Nicaragua a week ago for a couple's vacation. Initially, I was unsure if I wanted to be so far away from town (I believe the place is about 10 miles away from San Juan del Sur), but I'm so glad we booked a room at Orquidea. Robert was very helpful with the booking process and was very thorough with all my questions. We were awe struck when we first saw the place; we felt like we were at a 5-star luxury resort, yet we felt comfortable enough to be casual our whole stay! Robert and his staff were very attentive and eager to help in any way. The food was delicious and reasonably priced. We didn't do many excursions since we were coming from a 5-day stay in Granada, but we never needed to leave as all of our food, drinks and entertainment were provided for us. However, if you're feeling more adventurous, Robert is more than happy to set-up tours and make recommendations. The resort only has 5 rooms so it never felt overcrowded and Robert is very personable. I simply cannot say enough positive things about this place and would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We decided to go to Nicaragua on a whim for Spring Break. I fortunately found this place searching TripAdvisor and am so thankful I did. Robert was incredibly helpful throughout the booking and planning process. He made wonderful suggestions for activities and sent me a spreadsheet to fill out to help plan it out. We had surf lessons, horseback riding, zip lining, ATV tour, sunset cruise, massages all planned and coordinated by Robert. Robert also offered to coordinate transportation but we decided to rent a van. The directions he sent us were perfect.

On arrival, our breath was taken away. As most people have said the pictures truly do not do this place justice. It was incredibly beautiful and Robert had our large room set up with a double and 2 single beds as requested. We stayed for 5 nights eating breakfast and dinner every night but one. The food was incredible so fresh and delicious. The service was awesome. One night, he let my husband and a friend's husband take over the kitchen and grill and we had a wonderful dinner on our own.

Every activity was even better than expected. The prices are so reasonable in Nicaragua it truly is a bargain location.

Finally on our last day, Robert coordinated a trip for our family to visit a local school. I wanted to show my children a local experience. Robert very thoughtfully picked a school a little further away that he knew would have a greater need. He joined us there and provided an interpreter so everyone could communicate as unfortunately, we do not speak much Spanish. This was a wonderful experience for us and the kids.

I can truly say this was the easiest and best family vacation that we have taken thus far. There is absolutely nothing Robert could have improved on for us. We are dreaming of going back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McFamily445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a stunning place. Photos simply cannot do it justice. If you are looking for the party/surfing scene, then you should opt for Playa Del Sur. If your desires are for complete serenity with stunning views, amazing rooms and food with outstanding service, then look no farther than Orquidea Del Sur. The entire staff was lovely. Suggestions on here by others that you must speak Spanish are simply unfounded. To be polite while interacting with the staff, Spanish is clearly appreciated, but each of the young men who served us used English much better than my Spanish – and I can get by fine with my Spanish. One of the other complaints is that the road is treacherous. I would be comfortable driving my Honda Accord on the road (though clearance helps on the road to Playa Hermosa). Yes, it is somewhat steep, but in very good condition and easily navigated. Watch out for the speed bump (crater) on the turn to Orquidea.

We traveled here with our 10-year-old son. Children are absolutely welcomed here. Robert and Joanne strike the perfect balance of being there when needed and gone when you are simply seeking private time. I must say, being served a Margarita or Tona beer while sitting by the pool (or in the pool) is hard to beat.

Robert arranged surfing lessons for our son at Playa Hermosa, a 30-minute drive from Orquidea. And Joanne is simply a delight to visit with. She is employing her workers here with the requirement they continue their education with the funds they are paid.

The rooms are amazing. My wife commented that she loved a shower she could easily ride a horse into – and these truly are that large. Birding around the grounds is very good in the morning for dry tropical forest birds. One day, while my son was in the pool a troop of howler monkeys came by. How many places can you watch howlers from 20 feet away while enjoying your time in a pool?

This would be a perfect honeymoon location. Simply one of the most amazing places we have stayed anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing. They all are connected and face west. They are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Freetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Found a perfect gem to have a yoga retreat, Orquidea del Sur. Since this was my first venture of hosting a yoga retreat I had many questions and Robert put my mind at ease with his suggestions and help with answering any questions my clients had regarding safety in Nicaragua, with coordinating excursions, meals, to room assignments.
It's hard to find the words to describe the beautiful view while standing on the grounds of Orquidea. We practiced yoga in the morning and at sunset and the breathtaking views and nature sounds enhanced the spiritual uplifting of our yoga practices.
My stay included a seven day stay with yoga clients, a seven day stay with my family, and a six day stay with just my husband. Every day made a wonderful memory.
Being the only vegetarian my meals were especially prepared and were just delicious.The staff were always smiling, friendly, and helpful. Thank you Junior for the Nicaragian dance lesson.The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable.The best words I can use in describing Robert, Joanne, Sara and the staff are accomodating, and always eager to help and please.
Thank you,Joan

Room Tip: Room #5 and #1 are the most spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjdav2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
5.1 mi away
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
Surf Ranch Hotel & Resort
#21 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
7.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Property: Orquidea del Sur
Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Orquidea del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing