We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel overlooking one of the finest beaches in Nicaragua”
Review of Orquidea del Sur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Yankee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Santa Monica, California
1 review
“A jewel overlooking one of the finest beaches in Nicaragua”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have been visiting Nicaragua for over 15 years to enjoy the beaches and surf. Orquidea del Sur was the most positive experience I have ever encountered at a hotel or bed & breakfast in Central America. Perfect weather and fun surf rounded out a fantastic experience. Robert, Joanna and the entire staff were outstanding hosts. Each meal was meticulously prepared and delicious. Every beer was served in an ice cold mug. The grounds and pools are absolutely marvelous. Picturesque sunsets every evening. Our family of 4 had a remarkable, relaxing time that we will not soon forget. Robert recommended an excellent book from their extensive library, which I finished reading during my stay. Undoubtedly, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We definitely recommend you to visit Orquidea del Sur, you will experience an extraordinary and genuine atmosphere in magnificent surroundings. The location in the hills above the Yankee beach with the view of Pacific waves rolling in towards the beach framed by rocks and the Costa Rica cost-line in the far-away distance is what immediately strikes you at arrival. The rooms are large and comfortable as well as the rest of the hotel they are nicely decorated and mixes the impressive modern architecture with local Nicaraguan craftsmanship. The food is very good with a genuine home-cooked feeling. The personnel is extremely helpful and all appear to be proud of the fantastic small hotel and the good service given to the guests. Robert and Joanna are the owners and their incredible engagement and drive is what shapes this fantastic country-side hotel in all aspects from the selection of the location, the erection of the building to the fine food and heartily treatment of the guests. Actually all in all the Orquidea del Sur is the most impressive stay we have ever experienced !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan_ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo de Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Possibly the best way to describe its master engineering and architecture, Orquidea del Sur best fits “The Party 1968” movie starred by Peter Sellers. But of course you would be missing the uninvited baby elephant visiting along with the soap and scrub to fully re act the script and oh…….the noted late character of course, only to be supplemented by the unequivocal beautiful views to the ocean and endless stars. Yes, this is how one can best describe the elegance boasted by Orquidea del Sur planted over two leveled terraces and a columned mezzanine for the main building. No luminous contamination to best enjoy the depths and wonders of the universe, top quality peers sharing the joy of not being among the masses of tourists, everlasting smiles displayed by highly motivated collaborators, proper display of silverware on tables, potent air conditioning to freeze your sweat upon entering your room, bathrooms so large an urban architect could fit a studio apartment upon each of them, large door windows, high room ceilings and the list goes on and on. You want to take a stroll to the beach on your own very early morn??, you will get not one, but two hounds ready to keep you company all the way down and back up to the complex sustaining a safe distance from you as they never like to get too comfortable with guests. Those best friends to mankind will never repeat a word you may have said from your “lonely” sunrise journey.
This is a family run operation and if you pay close attention there will always be one member of the family walking “oote and aboot” (Canadian for Out and About) to ensure all is under control. And of course, the cushioned tropical BBQ trench to provisionally "Stammtisch" with your dearest friends while enjoying a selected bottle of chilled wine at night.

Room Tip: Drive a 4x4 to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Orquidea Del Sur is a hidden jewel and a must for anyone looking for a beautiful peaceful setting with great views, great service and an overall wonderful experience. It is a corner of paradise! We were there 5 days and could have easily stayed 5 more. The food was exceptional and Robert and Joanna were amazing hosts, truly amazing! The extra amenities made the experience even better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josiane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Orquidea del Sur is a very special and wonderful place to escape.
The property is just amazing and the location above "Playa Yankee" is stunning. However, what makes this place a very special one are the people. Robert & Joanna are incredible hosts and their staff is super friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed some wonderful days with our family at Orquedia and will be back very soon!
Thanks to Sara for the fantastic food, you are a great chef.
See you very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We did spend 2 times three days a the beach to relax a bit from working in Granada.

The second time at Orquidea del Sur and we have to say again: just an incredible beautiful, peaceful and tranquil place. Beside the spectacular location, food and hosts are wonderful. Congratulations! We will come again.

Room Tip: any of the rooms are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelcolonialgranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

At Orquidea del Sur above the Yankee Beach we felt like in paradise! Four nights were just to short. Robert and the staff exeeded our expectations in every way. It is a place to relax, join the beautiful garden, and the big waves in the Pacific Ocean at wonderful Yankee Beach. Last but not least the good food and interesting conversations with Robert. Thank you all for that great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.6 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#3 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
169 reviews
20.2 mi away
Aqua Wellness Resort
Aqua Wellness Resort
#1 of 1 in Playa Redonda
584 reviews
9.3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#3 of 4 in Playa Marsella
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Property: Orquidea del Sur
Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing