We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Orquidea del Sur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Schweiz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just like haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

At Orquidea del Sur above the Yankee Beach we felt like in paradise! Four nights were just to short. Robert and the staff exeeded our expectations in every way. It is a place to relax, join the beautiful garden, and the big waves in the Pacific Ocean at wonderful Yankee Beach. Last but not least the good food and interesting conversations with Robert. Thank you all for that great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
64
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent the past week at this beautiful resort with our two adult daughters. This resort is definitely in my top 5 list of most beautiful places I've been. The view is spectacular. The hosts and their staff do an excellent job at ensuring all your needs are met - from excellent meals, poolside cocktails, and arranging activities. Robert assisted with arranging yoga, surfing, and zip-lining for us.

The pool is great and large enough to swim laps. We spent one afternoon at the edge watching several families of monkeys in the nearby trees. Nearby Yankee beach is beautiful and most days we had it completely to ourselves.

A tray of coffee is brought to your room's porch every morning, followed by fresh fruit and a number of breakfast options, including a Nica-style breakfast, at your convenience. We had lunch one day there and dinner several nights. All the meals were great.

One word of caution on the roads - they can be quite rough. I would definitely get a 4WD vehicle next trip and unless you are a very skilled driver I recommend to park at the base of the hill and ask for Robert or one of his team to take you up the rather steep hill up to the resort at the top.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cicismith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheinfelden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

In June 2013, we had some gorgious days at Orquidea. Probabely the most beautiful and welcoming boutique-hotel in whole Nica! Robert and his team did more than a great job.
Everything was just amazing. The spot itself, the friendly people, the perfect service, the delicious food, the view to "Yankee Beach" the perfect designed and maintained gardens etc.
We were really overwhelmed and can highly recommend this place to anyone, at any time. Sure, for Nica the prices are top as well, but it's more than worth it! Thanks to everyone at orquidea for this outstanding experience!
Hope to seeing you soon again!

Room Tip: Rooms no. 1 to 4 are in a seperate building on the pool level, one stair and a few steps away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Axel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cultus lake
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

In April 2013 we enjoyed a fabulous week at Orquidea del Sur. The pictures on the website are beautiful, but it’s even more impressive in real life. The gardens, pools, rooms and ammenities were more lovely than we expected. Robert and his team were fantastic hosts and helped to arrange outings at the beach, in the City and horse backing riding which we highly recommend. The service was second to none. We were treated to first class sunset dinners on the patio overlooking the ocean. The meals were delicious and catered well to our vegetarian preferences. All in all an outstanding property and we give it five thumbs up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bev b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited over Memorial Day weekend and had the most incredible time! Robert and his staff were SO friendly and accommodating. From the morning coffee, delicious breakfasts, romantic nightly dinners, Playa Hermosa beach trips, and poolside massage, we wanted for nothing. Orquidea is an amazing property; the landscaping welcomes beautiful butterflies and the relaxing pool overlooks crashing Pacific waves. We even saw monkeys playing in the trees! The suites are large and comfortable; they each feature air conditioning, a sink, refrigerator, and microwave. This was the perfect, serene vacation we were searching for. Thank you Robert, Joanne, and everyone at Orquidea for making our trip so special!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My 7 year old son's review is " It's awesome because it has a big pool". And my 9 year old son thought the waves were perfect for boogie boarding. So, with our sons happy, my husband and I had a wonderful time at the beach, relaxing by the pool, enjoying the incredible view, playing pool in the main house, and enjoying the evening meals out under stars. I don't know if it was the time of year, but the evening air, night breezes were always just perfect. An evening dip in the pool was great too. We had room 3 and it was quite spacious (especially the bathroom.. huge! loved it) and having a fridge was really handy so we could bring our own drinks/snacks (though Junio was alway around to ask if we needed anything). The morning coffee delivered to our room was a nice touch. The meals were great and our boys picky appetite were accommodated for which we really appreciated! We spent four nights there and the staff were amazing.. a bit timid at first (shy to use their English) but they were all so sweet and worked so hard to make sure we had a great time. They had endless smiles for us all the time, made us feel so welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRLCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend (now fiancé) and I got engaged here. We spent 4 wonderful days and nights at Orquidea. Robert and his staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and catered to our every need. We spent most of our time relaxing in the gorgeous infinity pool, but the beach is also gorgeous and secluded. All of our meals were delicious. I would love to return someday soon!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Samantha d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
1.7 mi away
Parque Maritimo el Coco
Parque Maritimo el Coco
#1 of 1 in Playa El Coco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
9.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
Playa Marsella Beach Front Hotel
#4 of 4 in Playa Marsella
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.2 mi away
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
Pelican Eyes Resort & Spa
#6 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
6.9 mi away
HC Liri Hotel
HC Liri Hotel
#1 of 54 in San Juan del Sur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Property: Orquidea del Sur
Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Orquidea del Sur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing