We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Orquidea del Sur

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Yankee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orquidea del Sur
Ranked #1 of 1 Playa Yankee B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

When deciding on a place to stay in the SJDS area, I came across Orquidea del Sur on tripadvisor. The pictures on the website looked stunning but you never know for sure until you see a property in person if the pictures are accurate. I now can say that the pictures not only are accurate but may even fall short of conveying the beauty of this property. During our 5 night stay, we were the only guests for the first 3 nights. We felt as if this was our own private villa with staff waiting to assist us at any moment. I don't think that we've ever met nicer people than those who work here. They were unobtrusive but always available to provide a drink, a meal, a towel, a chat, a hello, and a smile. Each morning we ate a delicious breakfast which was included in the price. We would then let one of the staff know which other meals we would be eating that day. We found the food to be some of the best that we'd eaten in Nicaragua. In five days every meal was fabulous with the exception of one steak dinner which was good but not fabulous. Our room was spacious, quiet, and beautiful, and walking out the patio door to the view of the ocean each morning was wonderful. We were impressed with the fact that hot coffee, with warm milk and sugar magically appeared on our patio at 7 a.m. each morning so no need to walk in your PJs in search of coffee (great idea Joanne!). Although the property is a good 25-30 minutes drive from SJDS, we loved the location and seclusion. Honestly, we only went in SJDS once and felt no need to go again. Robert and Joanne are warm, friendly, interesting and helpful hosts who really want you to luxuriate in your stay. They will do everything humanly possible to make it an unforgetable experience. I would rate this property 99 out of 100 with the only caveat being that we are not dog people and there are 2 dogs on the premises who detracted from our stay at times. But I suggest that you DO NOT miss Orquidea del Sur when you visit SJDS. It will be an exceptional experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KTNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
There are newer reviews for Orquidea del Sur
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 133 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

In researching a place for a sunny break in Central America, I came across the Orquidea wb site. I was struck by the stunning visuals and surprised that a property of this quality was available in Nica. After further research we spent a fabulous 2 weeks in Nicaragua, finishing our trip at Yankee Beach. The welcome was tremendous and all of our needs/wants were taken care of in a most professional manner. The hosts and staff are discreet and provide seamless service. Food was excellent-fresh and high quality. Weather was hot with breeze constantly available to assist the cooling effects of pool and multiple shady spots. The price point likely deters bargain hunters and increases the possibility of this being your private resort for a good part of your stay. Even at full occupancy privacy is assured and the multiple out door areas while conducive to convivial conversation also would provide ample niches for quiet reading or surfing the net. In closing, Robert and Joanne are very involved with their local community, with 4 full time and 6 part time employees, their reach is far. Their local projects support children accessing school (by providing shoes, back packs and supplies), self help projects upgrading local public facilities and transportation to teams and individuals using their well maintained vehicle. First time I have commented on travel advisor but compelled to do so by this couples genuine efforts in their business and community. (We did leave a generous tip for staff and enough money for Joanne to but 2 more "school packs"-brought her to tears). Finally, 'Orquidea' means 'Orchid' but the name is not particularly " sticky" so book mark the page because anglophiles may have difficulty remebering it if they come to their site by chance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianMc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We spend the last 4 days of our travels in Nicaragua here. After being on the go for 8 days, including hiking up Volcan Maderas, we needed some relaxation. We were pampered. Every need was met by well trained and attentive staff. This is a quiet, extraordinarily beautiful place to relax and unwind. The view of beach, ocean and sunsets are spectacular. I really enjoyed standing at edge of infinity pool, watching howler monkeys frolic in tree canopy. I liked the isolation. Playa Yankee was ours-rarely anyone else on the beach. The drive to San Juan del Sur is not that far, and Robert and staff are great about arranging trips. Breakfast was consistently excellent. Rooms beautiful, no complaints (thank God there was no TV). Internet works great.
Robert and Joanne: Thanks for wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelC0919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

In planning our trip I was hoping for a bit of adventure, some culture and a lot of relaxation. It was a complete success thanks to Robert, Joanne and the staff at Orquidea Del Sur. Our contact via email prior to the trip gave me the confidence I needed, thier response was always prompt and professional. Robert helped to orchestrate our travel and sightseeing on the way to, from and around SJDS. When we arrived at the gate I was immediately in awe of the property. Every detail is attended to. The photos paint an accurate picture but the reality is more than pixels can convey. We felt genuinely welcomed by the owners and graciously accommodated by the staff. I was most impressed by the way Robert and Joanne respect and care for their employees. I knew we would be cared for as well, not just serviced as paying guests. Orquidea has the exterior of a beautiful resort and the heart of a family.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_MJW-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Orquidea del Sur is a stunningly beautiful B&B on the hill overlooking Playa Yankee. This place feels like a resort, with an Infiniti pool, whirlpool, beautiful landscaping, plenty of oversized and comfy lounge chairs and hammocks to relax, ample sitting spaces including a fire pit overlooking the beach, and a beautiful kitchen and common area in the main building. The staff is wonderful - they will go out of their way to make your stay pleasurable and the service is exceptional. Coffee served outside your room daily (major plus!), they will cook whatever you like for breakfast, the meals were all delicious, fresh, and good value. We spent our Valentines day here and the staff created a romantic dinner for us under the stars, complete with flowers and petals covering the path, steps, and dining table. It was very unexpected and we were more than pleased!

Playa Yankee is a large, beautiful beach, a short (but arduous) walk from the B&B. You will have the beach to yourselves - it is an undiscovered gem. We made friends with the adorable and sweet dog, Shelly, and Robert and Joanna let us take him to the beach one morning and it was a lot of fun! There is a security guard there which  is comforting (I read previous reviews where people had reported their stuff was stolen or they were robbed - I believe that situation has improved). Visitors to the beach have to pay his fee to enter the premises (you will not if you are staying) and the area to enter Orquidea is gated and guarded.  

The location is only 12km from SJDS, but it is a solid 25 minutes to get to town from Orquidea.  Half of the ride is paved, the further you drive from town the road becomes all dirt,  and the road to Orquidea has steep hills and turns. If you stay here I highly recommend having your own four-wheel drive vehicle.  It will give you more freedom to come and go as you please, and it allows you to get to the other beautiful beaches in the area. We had our own vehicle and it was worth every penny.

If you are looking for an upscale stay away from the mainstream of SJDS I highly recommend that you stay here. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went with a group of 11 to Orquidea del Sur for the last leg of a week-long trip to Nicaragua. Overall, the our stay was excellent. We were there for three nights over Thanksgiving and had an amazing time. We received excellent service and had the whole place to ourselves which, for a group of 11, was really nice. The spot is a cool mix of a bed and breakfast, luxury home, and hotel, with a huge, multi-level outside area for lounging, hammocking, relaxing at the bar, relaxing at the pool, and just relaxing. Did I mentioned it's relaxing?

The pristine beach in front of the Orquidea del Sure is an easy 10 min walk or quick drive if you have a car. The beach is gorgeous and during our stay we literally saw only a few other people on the beach at any given time. If you like to surf, especially if you're a beginner, this is a great place for you.

Overall, a place I definitely recommend and would go back to!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a lovely stay at Orquidea. The facility was beautiful/stunning. The views from the infinity pool (spotless!) to the ocean were more than amazing. We loved our rooms, the breakfasts, gorgeous pool, and tranquility. The beach is so close and you have it all to yourselves. Just be careful with your things- another couple that was there had the contents of their beach bag stolen while they were in the ocean. Robert kindly arranged for us to rent surfboards during our stay and even graciously drove us to the beach with our boards a couple of times.

In general, we were really pleased with our stay. I think the only comment I have is that we really feel like it was too steep of a price ($220 USD/night over Christmas holidays) for what you get. We felt nickle and dimed that they on the one hand invited us to spend Christmas dinner with their family, but then charged us for individual glasses of wine and then charged us for a meal that I could only eat the side dishes for (I'm vegetarian). If the $220 had included meals, then I would have had lower expectations and been completely pleased by the experience, food, and service. But the meals were extra, and their quality was very hit or miss. One night was amazing ceviche and amazing deserts, other night it was buttered noodles with shrimp that were tough and had clearly been frozen.

Communication also was not entirely clear- on one hand we were told we didn't need a 4x4 to get to the hotel, but on the other hand, we would have appreciated knowing how rough and challenging the road into the hotel was ahead of time (we ended up getting a flat tire because of the rocky road). We also had no idea before we arrived that they had cooked dinner for us the first night, otherwise we would have arrived earlier in the day. Again, just some open communication would have been nice. The staff were generally good, although for the price, I'd appreciate if someone could swing by the pool where we were hanging out maybe once a day and ask if I needed anything. Or help the older gentleman staying at the hotel carry his bag up the steep stairs out of the hotel. However, these are all small service related things that were missed, and overall I would recommend this hotel if you can negotiate the price down to something more reasonable. I'm told the Nicaraguans always negotiate the price down- wish I had known that ahead of time!

My last comments is about their very sad "pet" white faced Capuchin monkey who is kept in a cage on the grounds. It was pretty heart breaking to see this wonderful animal, known to live in large social groups, locked into solitary confinement in a cement floored cage, alone. Please send him to a wildlife refuge/rehabilitation center or someplace where people know how to house primates and use them for education!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicaBob, Owner at Orquidea del Sur, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Kate Thank you for taking the time to express your views. We have looked at your communications and service concerns and have implemented a couple of changes already.
When you were here, we indicated that the monkey was leaving us; that took place.

We are sorry that you did not express any concerns when you were with us as we would have quickly made the appropriate adjustments.

To you and yours have a happy healthy and prosperous 2013.

Joanne and Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Yankee
0.8 mi away
Costa Dulce
Costa Dulce
#4 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
162 reviews
11.2 mi away
Morgan's Rock Hacienda and Ecolodge
7.8 mi away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
Mango Rosa Nicaragua
#1 of 4 in Playa Marsella
426 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
180 reviews
9.8 mi away
HulaKai Hotel
HulaKai Hotel
#1 of 3 in Playa Maderas
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orquidea del Sur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orquidea del Sur

Address: km 12 Ostinol Road, Playa Yankee | San Juan Del Sur, Playa Yankee, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur > Playa Yankee
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Yankee
Price Range: $150 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hola and welcome to Orquidea del Sur, your private villa south of San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua. Overlooking the renowned surf break at Playa Yankee, Orquidea del Sur commands a 180 degree view of the Pacific Ocean that is every bit as breathtaking as you would hope. We promise. With over 8000 square feet of living space, spectacular gardens, and two award winning swimming pools, the villa has everything you expect from a luxury vacation rental. The manicured gardens are filled with flowers, visited by all sorts of tropical birds including parakeets and toucans, and even monkeys stop by. Prepare your meals under cathedral ceilings in the fully appointed gourmet kitchen and enjoy them in one of several dining areas throughout the property. One of our favourite spots is on the patio overlooking the pool at sunset. After the sun goes down, you can retire to the house for a game of pool or simply relax with one of the books from the library. Each of the three bedrooms has a spectacular ocean view and large ensuite bathroom. With its own living area and balcony, you may never want to leave the 1000 square foot master bedroom or its large soaker bathtub. Should you require extra space, there are also 4 apartments available at a small additional cost. Sorry, the apartments can only be rented in conjunction with the main house and are not available for separate rental. Whatever you decide to do with your time here, you'll be doing it in a truly one of a kind setting. Orquidea del Sur has been a labour of love for us and we look forward to sharing it with you, our guests. Enjoy. Robert and Joanne - Owners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Orquidea Del Sur Hotel Playa Yankee
Orquidea Del Sur Nicaragua/Playa Yankee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing